We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good40%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“bunk beds”(14 reviews)
“ben nevis”(26 reviews)
“great kitchen”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
94
93
36
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
93
36
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsben nevisgreat kitchenlarge kitchendorm roomco opneptune's staircaseself catering kitchengreat glen waywest highland waypeaks challengegreat place to stayfree wifigreat facilitiesstayed here for one nightsteam traincaledonian canal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor value receptionist couldn't be bothered. Out of the way location matterise were all mouldy, ceiling in room mouldy dodgy electrics shower dirty. Paid for own room ended up sharing crap breakfast uncomfortable beds advertised towels there weren't totally not what was on their website...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann L
Response from Stephen F, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose HostelResponded 1 week ago

We’re disapponted you did not enjoy your stay in our Backpackers Hostel and are sorry not to have met your expectations. But you forgot to mention the awful scenery, distateful weather and the distance from all things civilised. Our guests have generally been very happy...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

was very bad, a lot of noise during the night because of people drinking in the living room. We slept with a monster as well, impossible to sleep. The guy working there was very kind but is a shame you made us pay for the...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bgc2018
Response from Stephen F, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We take pride that the majority of our guests are keen to stay because of our ‘no-noise after 11:00 pm’ policy (hill walkers and climbers do appreciate a good sleep) We apologise if a particular group caused some disturbance yet...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

The hostel was clean, comfy, friendly and well located with a good pub a short walk away. Good showers. A basic breakfast can be purchased and is very reasonable.The only negative is there is no drying room. The staff gave me a clothes airer to...More

Thank Bullmer
Response from Stephen F, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your excellent review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay. The Hostel has recently been refurbished, but unfortunately we have no room for a Drying Room. Guests can request clothes to be dried in a Dryer, or can drip-dry clothes in a designated...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Standard fare as far as hostels go. We were eight people so had a dormitory to ourselves. Lots of bathrooms to use. Good location as we moved from Ben Nevis to the lochs. The place could do with a fresh lick of paint.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen M
Response from Stephen F, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose HostelResponded 24 February 2018

Submitted October 2017: We hope you are able to stay in the future. We are always looking to improve what we offer and this month we commence a further phase of refurbishment - the renewal of many Hostel windows. This will compliment the new carpets...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Great hostel for groups with plenty comfortable chairs, dining space and kitchen area all separate. Clean shower rooms and plenty hot water appreciated. Good check in too. Nearby there are a couple of pubs and obviously it provides great access to walking in the local...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard M
Response from HighlandGoose, General Manager at Chase The Wild Goose HostelResponded 25 October 2017

An excellent review from an excellent group. Thank you.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$29 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$29 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Emily M
15 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Stephen F | Property representative |
You must call 01397 748044 if you are unable to arrive before Reception closes at 10:00pm.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The hardest key pads to operate on bedroom doors obviously had issues with things going missing but code..."
Read review
"4 bed share"
Read review
"Read the description of the Hostel, i.e. mixed rooms!"
Read review
"If you are self catering (as against eating at the nearby pub) make sure you have a carrier bag to put your..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing