We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Havelock

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Havelock
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Havelock
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We were in the Havelock several times during our holiday. We found the staff very friendly . We ate there on the the last evening an the meal was very nice. We also found the service very good especially by Donald.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us repeatedly during your stay in Nairn. I'm glad you enjoyed the Havelock. Your comments are much appreciated.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We found this wee gem by accident. Lovely wee pub. We had food on the first night lasagne was amazing. It was so good we returned the next evening for the steak night we had the most amazing steaks. Onion rings great and the skinny fries were great. Good value for money and we will def be returning. Hosts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawn t
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

I'm pleased you received a friendly welcome at the Havelock and enjoyed the food too. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We were in Nairn for a night before a competition in Inverness.We arrived just before 4pm and after settling in to our room elsewhere we decided to find somewhere to eat.It was a Saturday and we were expecting most establishments to be open all day.We couldn't find any places serving meals all day but we're recommended to try the Havelock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoneydi
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We're known for our great value pub grub, but our fresh pizza and great Scottish steaks are worth trying too.

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

last night my family went to the Havelock hotel for a meal to celebrate my granny's birthday that was on Monday, my parents and granny and grandpa had steak and my sister had a 12 inch spicy chicken pizza and my brother and I had jumbo fish and chips with our fish and chips came with peas,chips,lemon,homemade tartar sauce after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calkinn1
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

I'm delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. Thank you for your lovely comments and review rating. We look forward to your next visit.

Badenoch and Strathspey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We went to the Havelock as had been before many years ago when we used to visit Nairn regularly and the food then was superb. This visit however was a big disappointment. We ordered fajitas chicken and sirloin. The sirloin was chewy and the fajita was about two quarters of a tortilla instead of the 10 inch one that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F8969IQwilliamb
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

We have made huge changes to the Havelock since taking over in August. I'm pleased to say that most feedback has been very positive (as can be seen from our reviews). So, it's very disappointing to hear your remarks. I'm really sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Fantastic , homely , friendly excellent food , sizzling hot food , steak lovely, huge fish, pizza just delicious. Doggy bag home. Chicken strips gorgeous and juicy. Onion rings to die for. Central location not far from high street. Will return Donald great waiter. Sticky toffee best I have had. Profiteroles lovely but would prefer sauce warmer. Tablet cheesecake tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne D
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

I'm sure Donald will be delighted to hear that he made 9 women very happy! Thank you for your delightful and detailed feedback. We hope to see you back again soon.

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We discovered this place about a month ago and visited again on Saturday for a meal. Good service, great food, lovely place for a family meal. Good music too playing in the restaurant. Had a lovely time again. Will definitely go back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miss m
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. There is no better compliment than to have someone return to the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon.

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We had a fantastic meal as a family, the staff were very nice, it was a lovely environment, we were made very welcome, it was that good we all wanted to come back for our last meal out before going home the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley130
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. It's always good to hear that someone wants to return.

Longview, Washington
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Was able to get a room thanks to a guy named Jon over at Macks. He called and the bar was hopping over at Havelock but they had something available. If you are a traditionalist regarding how you expect things to work, it check in, only sleeping accommodation, reception area this isn't your cup of tea. However, if you recognize...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
MHMHolding, Front Office Manager at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and fair review. (Breakfast is not always served at our sister hotel, it is because we are currently renovating). The Havelock could accurately be described as a "pub with rooms". I'm pleased to hear that you would stay again. Thank you.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Overall I had a really nice stay. Good hotel, my room number 5 was amazing, with bath, great and comfy bed and nice sea views. The bathroom had a lovely bath bas I asked for but unfortunately I couldn't use it at all as the water wasn't hot enough. The hot bath tap was broken and I had to fill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lalolailo81
MHMHolding, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

We care very much about giving good customer service and believed we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction. We responded immediately when you reported that the hot water tap was stuck. When we found we could not release it, you said you were happy to fill the bath from the shower rather than move room. I returned to speak...

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 km away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
383 reviews
1.1 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
116 reviews
0.9 km away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
835 reviews
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Havelock is a small pub hotel located close to the beach in the popular seaside town of Nairn. Owned by Nairn locals, Gordon and Morag Holding, it has a welcoming, informal atmosphere. The Havelock serves good quality traditional pub bistro style food. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, most with baths and some with sea views. Under new ownership since August 2015, the hotel has been entirely refurbished. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Havelock

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Havelock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely food good beer and worth a visit.x”
dawnt286, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 5, posted bed, great views! Haddock in the restaurant was a bit dry n overcooked”
Lalolailo81, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The large bathroom in room 3 has a noisy pump system so avoid it if you don't want the noise. Didn't spoil it for us though.”
JanA981, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Don't pick room 3 although spacious it has problems with plumbing”
garymV2895UW, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“rm 1 and 3 .rm 1 for the warmth and view,rm 3 is huge”
ianf560, 16 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5