We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Braeval Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Braeval Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Braeval Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This hotel totally reminded me of the one in Faulty Towers. There wasn't a lift so we had to hump our heavy bags up a windy staircase to our room on the second floor. The view from our room was the best part of the hotel with the bar and breakfast nook coming in second. The hotel was quite old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marci C
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

The Braeval is a Victorian Villa and is advertised as a Pub Hotel. Rooms are reasonably priced in accordance with what we offer and all facilities are clearly explain on our website (e.g. states that we do not have a lift). It's extremely unfair to compare our award winning Highland Pub of the Year Hotel to "Fawlty Towers" simply for...

Perthshire, Scotland
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had room 7 which looks onto the bandstand and the sea beyond. A lovely bright room. From the welcome on arriving to us checking out the staff were so friendly and professional. We had dinner and breakfast and both meals were well cooked and of good quality. The area around Nairn is lovely and lots to see and do.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geminicat-67
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I got told about this hotel after we had booked else where, but we were told to go and have a drink here and something to eat. It was so surprising as from the outside the place doesn't look much, but the staff are friendly nothing to much. You must ask for the whiskey list and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redwithington
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

It's always nice to hear good feedback and to know that a customer would like to return. Thank you.

scotland
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Bedroom in desperate need of update. Decor terrible and shabby. Poor furnishings, not matching. Shower very poor, hardly warm, toilet roll broken. Good location, but in desperate need of general upgrade, particularly in bedroom number 3 (single) Staff very friendly , particularly breakfast staff. Poor parking, on street (had to park a good 5 minutes walk away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ricrusky
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Parking outside the hotel can sometimes be busy at mealtimes because we have a very popular bar and restaurant. All parking in Nairn and around the hotel is free. There is a large open air car park at the rear of the hotel which is never full, so perhaps you were not aware of it. I apologise about the broken...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed one night in a seaview room it was lovely big bay window to sit and appreciate the view. Breakfast excellent nice and hot and breakfast room also looking over rhe sea.Would stay again if in area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sujo_10
MHMHolding, Manager at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. Hope to see you again.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Very friendly and good value. Good choice for breakfast. Views are fabulous. Location is excellent for all local amenities. Beds are comfortable +++ Bar is cosy and well stocked. Food in restaurant was well presented and delicious. Would recommend and this will be our hotel of choice when visiting Nairn I the future

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolmU7560RM
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the bar and restaurant too.

Falkirk
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Nice stay and very thoughtful breakfast to go as had to leave at 6am on first day. Breakfast first class on second day with great views from breakfast room. Central location to the town itself. Would certainly stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennyCross
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Delighted to hear that you would stay again.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before a race we were doing the morning after. The hotel was in a good location and i had a good view over the beach. The staff were very helpful and friendly as was the owner. We had food in the restaurant and couldnt fault anything. The room was very clean and cosy and comfy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garrymn1980
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Lovely to hear that you would like to return.

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I stayed here for a business trip and the room was comfortable, quiet and a handy location close to the sea. Breakfast was fab and the staff were friendly. I thought it was really good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesculpin
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm delighted you felt we offered good value for money. Thank you for your feedback.

Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed here prior to the coast to coast race. Perfect location in Nairn, being close to the beach and town centre. Food from the restaurant was very good and a great selection of whiskeys, if that's your thing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
1.5 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
260 reviews
0.9 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
307 reviews
19.1 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
480 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Bandstand Restaurant
Bandstand Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Braeval Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Braeval Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have only used the restaurant here so can't comment on the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 597susana, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 was comfortable, with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles wayner985, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room no.2 was very small but adequate and had a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles F5883YWkarenp, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel have view of North Sea”
 of 5 bubbles 178marcic, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Singkle room 3 avoid”
 of 5 bubbles ricrusky, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay