We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2016

When we checked in we met the owner, a young man who had just purchased and taken possession of the hotel the day before. He seemed eager to please and energetic, so he will likely make improvements to, and be good for this hotel. On the outside the hotel itself looks like a typical North American suburban two- storey hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alibilly2004
Management response:

Hi alibilly2004, Thank you for a lovely review. Was great meeting you all! When we first took over, the phrase "faulty towers" was more than appropriate. We have made a huge difference already. I am not going to stop until the hotel is the best in Perth. Hope to see you some day again soon, and you can re-review us....

Perth
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My husband and I......held our wedding reception at the Lovat Hotel. The service from the management and staff were fantastic. Every little detail was carried out with us and our guests in mind. We stayed over as did some of our family and friends. Everyone said their rooms were comfortable and very presentable. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We shall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sellisonw
Management response:

Hello, Thank you so much for the review. We all really appreciate it. Look forward to hopefully meeting you again some time soon! Regards, Stuart

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I stayed here with my wife whilst on a recent business trip. The room was very comfortable and reasonably well furnished. It's fair to say that the accomodation and the hallways / stairwells are looking a little tired and could do with some minor refurbishment work. However, this doesn't spoil the hotel & the excellent service from the staff. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivor M
Management response:

Hello Ivor, Thanks for choosing he Lovat hotel to stay in. The hotel is going through a refurbishment at the moment. I purchased it about a month a go, and am slowly trying to modernise everything. It's really difficult to do, during peak season. We are making progress though. Really glad you had a comfortable stay. Really hope you come...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Went here for a high tea recently with my family. We were given a lovely private room which was really nice. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service was great. Nothing was to much trouble. We also got to take home the left over cakes. Great food and great service, will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill1983
Management response:

Hi Jill, Thanks for your glowing review. It makes things even more satisfying when we have good feedback. In the next few weeks, we will be beggining to refurbish the restaurant along with a new menu. You will need to come and try it out. The new menu looks lovely!

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a tour of Scotland. The rooms are clean but pretty basic, a little updating would go a long way. We ate in the restaurant and I must say the food was really good and very good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Pity the rooms let this place down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineW209938
Management response:

Hi Pauline, Thanks for your review! Really appreciate the feedback. I can't agree with you more. I have recently bought the hotel and have huge plans for the place. We got the keys for the hotel about a week and a half a go. In the next week, the hotel will be having extensive work carried out to it. I...

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The receptionists were friendly, especially a lady in the morning who was lovely and very helpful. However, extremely disappointed with our stay. The shower cut out twice when I was having a shower after an extremely long journey (there was no bath). I had to get out of the shower twice to ring reception, which used up the two towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahhlp
Management response:

Hi Hannah, I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. In the last few weeks, I have taken over the hotel and realise I have huge task on my hands. However my re-furb plan will be fully underway in the next few weeks. The hotel will be given a makeover and styled to a modern Scottish theme....

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Perth. The room was lovely and clean, the bathroom was large with a great shower. We chose to eat in the city centre which was about a mile walk to the restaurants. Well located and very easy to find. Only saw two members of the team, one to check in with and one to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJMetcalfe
Management response:

Lovely to see you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to having you back the next time you are in Perth. I have recently purchased the hotel and fully intend on making it the number 1 place to go in Perth, offering amazing quality at a really attractive price. Please join our Facebook page to check out our special offers that...

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a bit old fashioned & could do with an uplift. The rooms are basic but clean. The mattress was a bit hard & not very comfortable, the quilt was old, thick and heavy. The doors don't shut properly unless you pull/ push closed. One of our rooms was left open after being cleaned. The heating was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
Management response:

Hi Jan, Thanks for reviewing us. Everyday is a learning day for me. I've recently taken over the hotel, so finding out what's going on is crucial to me. A lot of the things you have mentioned are being fixed over the next few weeks. We are having an emergency refurbishment. Apologies for your stay not being as good as...

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

My wife and I stay in Perth four or five times a year. This is the first time we've stayed in the Lovat but it won't be the last. The hotel is set in a very quiet area of Perth , around 20 minutes walk to the town centre. The Hotel was quite busy Saturday night but we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dougie T
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Visited here for a one night break and would highly recommend it if you're staying in Perth. Can honestly say that every member of staff was lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The evening meal was delicious and breakfast freshly cooked and plentiful. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean however the hotel is old with many creaky floors hence...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth J, Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Your comments are well received and we shall pass them on to the Staff Team members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.8 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
612 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.9 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#15 of 18 in Perth
820 reviews
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
1.5 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lovat Hotel is perfectly located on Glasgow Road, Perth, just a half mile from Perth’s busy city centre where there is an abundance of shops, restaurants and cafes to be found. Guest will enjoy visiting the Perth Museum, Black Watch Museum, St. John’s Kirk of Perth, Perth Race Course or playing a round of golf at the King James VI Golf Club. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers a Scottish breakfast, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the 1747 Restaurant, banquet space is available and complimentary usage of Symphony’s Leisure Club found at our sister hotel. Payment using credit cards will be subject to a 2.75 GBP administration charge. There is no charge for the use of a debit card. This is non-refundable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Address: 90 Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Hotel Perth
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel Perth, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose superior”
 of 5 bubbles gintyb2016, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 209 and had no problems, nice size bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles BeeBee66, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book room 202”
 of 5 bubbles Holihay, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“my room was at the back and just a bit of view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles 425cedricj, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask to inspect any room prior to moving in luggage!”
 of 5 bubbles hughboss, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay