We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Save
Share
Pitlochry PH18 5SG Scotland
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (435)
Room & Suite (99)
Dining (85)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#13 of 18 hotels in Pitlochry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Atholl Arms offers guests comfortable highland grandeur, standing proudly at the northern end of the quiet highland village of Blair Atholl near Pitlochry. Traditional with a wonderful heritage, Atholl Arms is a perfect base for a short leisure break.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
941Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 387
  • 297
  • 119
  • 67
  • 72
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
25traveller25 wrote a review Yesterday
Stirling249 contributions130 helpful votes
Had a wonderful 3 days holiday at the Atholl Arms Hotel Blair Atholl where the staff were friendly, helpful and professional and the hotel, as always, was warm and welcoming, with a roaring log fire in the spacious lounge all day and evening, with plenty of comfortable chairs and sofas to sink into. The meals are tasty and portions generous. Our room was large, tastefully furnished and decorated and overlooked the grounds of the castle, and the beds were very comfortable. This special offer finishes at the end of the month and we can thoroughly recommend it! There are many good walks in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask when booking by PHONE at the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
186543Oldpete wrote a review Nov 2021
Inverness, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
This was our fourth or fifth visit and we had a great time. The Hotel is traditional, full, of character and welcoming. The staff were engaging and attentive and worked hard to ensure our stay was as safe as possible in these Covid times. Really good food in the restaurant and a lovely lounge with an open log fire. Lots of quirky features and memorable moments.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
LenMacL wrote a review Nov 2021
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom56 contributions87 helpful votes
Stayed for 5 nights earlier this month. On arrival were advised that the restaurant was closed. No one had advised us of that when booking. Food was available in the Bothy Bar. We had stayed in this hotel previously and part of the reason for booking it was the excellent menu in the restaurant. This was our first holiday for some time owing to pandemic. On the first evening we had a meal in the Bothy Bar and it was good bar food. Then went throught to the residents lounge near reception and at 9.05 my wife went through to the Bar for a drink to be advised it was closed. I then enquired at reception and was advised the Bar closes at 9.30. With the intervention of the person on reception we were served a drink. We had no idea the bar closed at 9.30 every night. Again we were not advised of this. I suggested that Bar staff should advise residents that Bar is about to close. We were told it was all due to Covid. I accept that hospitality has suffered due to the pandemic but I think the owner of the hotel should be upfront and advise persons when booking that they are not fully open. Unfortunately many restaurants in the area are also currently not fully open all week, some just opening for the weekend. We were fortunate to find the Loft Restaurant in Blair Atholl which was excellent. As for the bedroom it was a "superior" room but pretty bland. I think this was our 4th stay and we were disappointed with the room. Staff were mostly pleasant. Would we return? Perhaps in the future and on confirmation that it was fully open.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Tomlinson, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking time to leave your review and I am glad you were happy with your meal and also our staff. However I’m most confused by your review. Our restaurant is open 7 days a week 6:30-8:30pm in our baronial hall or 12-9;30 in our Bothy bar again daily, we just take bookings in our restaurant. Last orders is called in the Bothy bar depending on numbers however meals are served until 9:30pm. After this and until close residents are welcome to enjoy an evening drink in our foyer area in front of the open fire or residents bar in the case of the Bothy does close. Unfortunately as we head into the winter many places do close for the winter as it gets very quiet but we are proud to remain open all year (restrictions allowing) We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
victoria B wrote a review Nov 2021
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom373 contributions87 helpful votes
The hotel is located by the train station and there is plenty of parking outside the entrance. It is within walking distance of Blair Castle. The building is Victorian with interiors which are more than a nod to Scottish baronial style which was so popular in the nineteenth century. The different tartans for the Dukes of Atholl are everywhere, in the curtains, carpets and cushions! A grand dining room lined with stag heads with a wonderfully high decorative ceiling added to the theme. My room was well furnished with a comfy bed and a tartan cover with matching over-mantle, curtains and carpet.. The furniture consisted of well maintained antique items including a desk and wardrobe. The bathroom was dated but spotlessly clean. The room was quiet that night and I slept well. The only drawback for me was the fact that the room was very warm. Opening the window was not a good idea as it was close to a vent from the kitchens which was wafting meaty smells my way. A coach party was there during my stay but this a hotel which could easily accommodate large numbers. Places for dinner were more or less non-existent in Blair Atholl, so I opted to dine in the hotel. The dining room was spectacular but the fayre was not. The gin was served in a warm glass without ice for one thing. The starter which was a trio of salmon, prepared in different ways was pleasant enough. The main, steak stuffed with haggis was not very nice. The menu seemed to offer many dishes covered in a wine jus, including this one. I asked for the jus to be served separately. I'm glad I did as the jus was far too sweet. The steak tough and over-cooked. Breakfast was better. waitress service with a good selection. Freshly cooked to order - including porridge. A buffet with fruit, cereals and bread was also available. The coffee was good and plentiful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid a room by the kitchen vents
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Traveller51_11 wrote a review Oct 2021
North Essex, U.K.1617 contributions242 helpful votes
We thought "where better to spend our 50th wedding anniversary" so that's what we did. We love this place and the staff working in it. They all work hard and, since covid, being open has been so much more difficult. But you see them all working to the guidelines and going beyond the call of duty, all to make a guest's visit or stay a memorable one. Thanks so much for a lovely stay ... we will be back for another as soon as humanly possible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel atholl arms, atholl arms pitlochry
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPitlochry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atholl Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Enchanted Forest (7.8 km), Faskally Wood (7.2 km), and Falls of Bruar (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Loft Restaurant, Blair Atholl Watermill, and Queens View Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Atholl Arms Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Atholl Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Atholl Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Well (15.5 km).