We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Ayr Hotel

Expedia.comUS$78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$78*
US$92*
US$78*
US$92*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Ayr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Ayr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Disppointed with this Hotel the Horizon in Ayr outclasses it by a mile .Very shabby decor throughout hotel The bathroom mirror frame was broken and glass was ready to fall out and could have seriously injured a child ,extract fan was not working bathroom ceiling had black patches on it bath pannel had big gap, water took an age to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback although I am of course disappointed that your stay was enjoyable. Please accept my apologies. I understand that when it was brought to our attention that the mirror in the bathroom had been broken, this was attended to immediately and the offer of moving rooms was made as an alternative. The extract system...

scotland
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Very clean and tidy hotel situated in a very central spot good for shops and beach. Room has both hairdryer and iron provided. Very friendly and helpful staff and fab breakfast. Parking limited behind hotel. Didn't sample the pool so cannot comment. Would recommend for a short break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allybally40
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. We are lucky to have a very central location in the town however this does mean that parking can be at a premium especially...

glasgow
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Booked 2 nights which included £44 per couple to spend on dinner first night but this was not honoured (code winsp) phoned twice and promised it would be sorted out at reception but to no avail. Twice I was told they would get back to me. Never again will I trust any offers from this hotel. Never tried dinner here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEddie
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies if there has been any misunderstanding with your booking. The booking that we have in our system is on a bed and breakfast basis only. However if you contact the hotel directly with your confirmation stating that dinner was included also we can investigate this matter further. I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Had to stay recently in Ayr and booked Mercure due to past experience of the brand. I was not disappointed. Although finding the car park in the dark was not the easiest, I had a lovely welcome from the check in desk and was on my way to my room in no time. The room had everything you need, comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your New Year break with us, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who I know will take great motivation in hearing that all their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will look forward to welcoming...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was clean enough (although I did find a sock under our bed). We were there in a storm and on the top floor so unfortunately the windows were whistling very loudly so better windows would be helpful. It's basic but pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotinRomania
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that, on the whole, your stay was an enjoyable one. The extremely high winds certainly left there mark on the hotel and indeed the country as a whole. I apologise that the whistling of the windows on the 6th floor marred your stay. I hope that we might be able...

Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a recommendation due to its location. That is the one and only positive thing about this hotel. The main lift is out if order - which can happen - and we were asked to use a service lift. I have traveled to many foreign countries but I have never had to travel in a lift...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Drummond J
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review although I am of course disappointed that your stay was not a positive one. Please accept my sincere apologies. I note that at the time of writing you were staying in the hotel so I hope that you were able to make good use of the pool the following day when it re-opened....

Ingleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Excellent accommodation Everything very clean tidy and comfortable Lift available. to different floors Also disabled access to hotel ,Grand view of coast from room. Good parking facilities at rear. Central to shopping, shore , night venues Very Helpful and friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 645margaretannm
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am delighted that your stay was such an enjoyable one, it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the entire team and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near...

Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

The car park needs more spaces (made more clear by the giant dis-used multi-story car park next to it). The first room we were put into had a leaking shower that Would Not fully turn off. All rooms come with a bed which is not a double bed but in fact two single beds pushed together with a grand canyon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristine A
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us in December although I am disappointed that your stay was not enjoyable. Please accept my sincere apologies. During the month of December, as with many other hotels, we hosted a number of Christmas parties over the weekends. I am sorry that the noise from this disturbed you and...

kirkintilloch
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Just back from xmas party night on Saturday night. Second year we have done this and once again had a fabulous time. We are a party of 5 women 50`s plus. First of all when we arrived and checked in got our rooms 1 triple and 1 twin. We had requested rooms at the front but never got them. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUSANCKIRKINTILLOCH
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that, on the whole, you all had such an enjoyable time. I am especially pleased that you had such a great night at our Hollywood Nights Christmas Party and will be sure to pass on your praise to both the Kitchen and Restaurant Teams....

scotland
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Normally I stay in 5 star hotels but I wanted somewhere priced well and in the centre of Ayr for one night.-- ,booked Mercure with a little trepidation.--BUT IT WAS FABULOUS. Wonderful very friendly staff, wonderful oh-so-comfortable room (lovely and warm!!) immaculately clean with everything you could need. Coffee lounge great place to sit (they even have newspapers to read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroledolly
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lady McLean-Smith Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your stay was such an enjoyable one. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, especially Neil, Abi, Emily and Chrissy, who I know will take great motivation from them. We hope to be able to welcome you...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.2 km away
Western House Hotel
0.4 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.6 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
851 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $117 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Ayrshire
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
scotland
Lincoln
23 days ago
11 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Ayr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of the sea, third floor so great position”
margaretc, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room facing”
carollJ6784KU, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a sea view room, it's worth it.”
lesleygee, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Seaview room as views are great and possibly the higher the floor the better”
890donnaj, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 4th floor with beautiful l views out to the Irish sea and the island of Arran also good views of the Ayrshire countryside”
394beverlyr, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
MercureUS$78
Hotels.comUS$78
HotelQuicklyUS$92
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates