We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Horizon Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Horizon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Horizon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed 2 nights DBB mid September. Good location and parking no problem. Room was excellent , very clean and looked newly refurbished.. Food was great value and quality. All staff were lovely and very helpful .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dianapenman368
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Guests Thank you for a lovely review of the Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the food and service. The staff work very hard to make sure all guests are looked after and I will pass on your praise to our Head Chef Kevin. We hope to welcome you back again...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions but was bitterly disappointed this time. On arrival at hotel lady was more interested in how many dogs we had and how much they would cost than giving a friendly welcome. We were quite well aware of the cost for dogs but we still thought it was a bit rediculous to charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobel C
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening I am sorry to see a review of this nature from yourself. On arrival I would like to hope you are always met by a friendly face. I cannot see what room you were in but as you have pointed out you have stayed on numerous occasions, why have you never pointed out your thoughts on the room...

Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 3 nights. Room was great.comfy and clean. Food was wonderful. Location was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, especially Diane and Tracey (I'm sure your all great but that's who stood out to us) We would definitely return and reccomond. Our 3 nights went way too quick!!! Thank you so much. Gina & Graeme. Blackpool x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank southam_girl
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gina & Graeme Thank you so much for a fabulous review of the Hotel. I am so glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and all aspects of the hotel. I have passed on your comments of the great food to our Head Chef Kevin. I am glad to see myself and Diane stood out, lol we...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at the Horizon hotel over the weekend of the Scottish Air Show. The location was brilliant for this as we had two small children so it meant we could nip back to the hotel when required. The bedroom we were given wasn't the easiest to get to with 2 small children but they loved the 3 flights of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estthebest
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and the family rooms we have are based in the attic as they need to accommodate families. I am sorry your car was targeted unfortunately the local yobs we cannot control and they seem to think this is fun to do this!!!!...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Paid £260 for 2 nights in a tiny box room up in the attic. Room was not fit for purpose because ceiling was so low. Wish we had read reviews before we booked. A long time ago someone wrote that the bathroom tap was broken paint was peeling off the door and the shower tray was badly chipped. The reply...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 81lyn5
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

What can I say about this place. From the first time me and my wife walked in it just felt right. During the whole of the build up to the wedding Tracey and lauren were absolutely brilliant in helping with plans and everything that goes with your big day. I arrived the night before and so did a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mrs & Mrs Dolphin Thank you so much for your very kind review and taking the time to write it, I know how busy you both are. Firstly it was my pleasure on your big day, it is always very heart-warming to hear that your day was made perfect here at the Horizon Hotel. I will pass on...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for business this week in room #20. Staff very friendly, room small but ok for what I required. Great location just over a road to beach. Food was decent with a good choice. I feel a tad bad for saying this as the staff are so nice but the room was filthy. I had to get the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Louisa D
Tracey C, Owner at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louisa, Thank you for your review, we take all our reviews seriously. The hotel has a policy of replying to all reviews good and bad. Being in close contact with the public we are often an easy target for people. However when my managers saw your review they were understandable incensed none wanted to reply so as the owner...

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Was in this marvellous hotel for a week from 22 Aug. Once again, we had no complaints and found all staff very helpful, courteous, polite and eager to assist. Being a wheelchair user, we find Room 6 very suitable with ramped access from the courtyard (eliminating the need to enter and trudge through the main hotel) and a large, modern...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe C
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you so much for your kind review again joe, it means a lot that you enjoy your trips to the hotel and find everyone to be accommodating and friendly to you both. We hope that you are keeping well and we will see you again soon. Kind Regards Tracey & Staff

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Had a three night stay at the Horizon Hotel, Ayr. A wedding Anniversary treat costing £315 The first morning looked at the view from our bedroom window, to find something like a dumping ground. We could not leave the window open at night, anybody or anything could enter our room. I mentioned this to the receptionist, who told me all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather C
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon I am sorry to read this review of your stay with us. Firstly the receptionist on the desk was in fact myself, The General Manager of the Horizon Hotel, were I recall the conversation very clearly that you had booked through a third party agency that I had informed you that they allocated you a room. The fact...

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Booked a short weekend break for ourselves and our dog. Room was a family room which although in the roof space came with the added bonus of a fantastic sea view, which certainly made my wife's stay even better. Well furnished with a comfortable bed Staff were very friendly and made us and our dog most welcome. Food overall was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
Tracey C, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel, I am glad you found all aspects of the hotel good. The hotel is dog friendly so we welcome all dogs and I am happy to read you enjoyed the food and your room. We hope to see you again soon.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.5 km away
Western House Hotel
0.8 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 18 in Ayr
617 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.2 km away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $141 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Ayrshire
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horizon Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
Ayrshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Horizon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 22 is very spacious and offers sea views”
 of 5 bubbles sammccready, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would advice to ask for a room with a good view”
 of 5 bubbles myardley32, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 24 with a lovely sea view, which was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Fifers2013, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 24 was very quiet although it's up a couple of landings”
 of 5 bubbles stevielucky, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had ground floor and found it extremely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles dianapenman368, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay