We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2011

First class service, most comfortable room and a hearty breakfast. In addition as a kind consideration private transfer to wedding at local hotel was included in our stay. Home from home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken m
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very nice rooms, excellent breakfast and very service minded

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Per_Erixon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Room was large and clean. Bed extremely comfortable, and plenty of extra bedding. It was a lovely touch getting a lift to the Brig O'Doon. Would come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FMcCrossan
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The room was beautifully decorated and was quite large. Helen the owner was so accomodating, dropping us off at the wedding venue. Breakfat was lovely with a wide range of things to choose from. Definitely worth the money, highly recommended and would definitely use sunnyside again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llaurenk2409
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Helen was very friendly and helpful, her establishment is clean and comfortable snd very reasonably priced. We wer attending a wedding at Brig O'Doon and Helen kindly delivered us to the venue and it was conveneient enough to walk back, taking us abou 20 mins stroll, we would certainly recommend Sunnyside. Thanks from the Fitzpatricks and the Orrs!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays1957
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed one night in Sunnyside as we were attending a wedding at Brig O'Doon. The room was available from noon giving us plenty of time to check in and get ready before the owner drove us along to the venue saving us the hassle of getting a taxi. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and well equipped,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LM82
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I note that you found the bedroom very light in the morning. As the sun doesn't get round to that side of the house until the afternoon, I hadn't appreciated that the room was light in the morning. I plan to fit blackout linings on all guest rooms to improve...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2011

A well organised and welcoming B&B with everything you could need in the bedroom and with a well appointed en suite. Breakfast was plentiful and served just as requested. Ample off street car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicedeal
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The welcome by Helen was very friendly even tough we arrived a bit early - Helen served us a lovely tea accompanied by fine bisquits to the garden sitting place. Our room was of good size and even had the rare yet estimated commodity of a bidet in the bathroom. The bathroom unfortunately is the only point which can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudolfTheSwiss
hmalcolm, Owner at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to place a comment on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found the standard bathtub cramped for your height and perhaps if you stay again, one of the rooms with ensuite shower room would be more suitable. Thank you for alerting me to the computer security problem. I have had the problem fixed and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were attending a family wedding and this was an ideal location. We were very kindly given a lift to the venue which was very helpful. Rooms had everything you need and more, plenty of room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianne451
Squamish, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed here for a week over Christmas while in Ayr visiting relatives. Helen was lovely, the rooms- we stayed in 3 different ones between the 5 of us- were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I liked the room just inside the front door the best. The breakfasts are hearty and delicious. The location is great, my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveltoes

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
4.5 km away
Western House Hotel
2.6 km away
Inverlea Guest House
2.0 km away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#14 of 54 in Ayr
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Beaches Guest House
3.1 km away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#8 of 54 in Ayr
135 reviews
2.9 km away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 54 in Ayr
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Established in 1994, Sunnyside 4-Star Gold Bed and Breakfast is close to Alloway, birthplace of Robert Burns, Scotland's National Poet. The Robert Burns Birthplace Museum and Brig O'Doon are only one mile away. Sunnyside is situated on the stunning A719 coastal route on the south side of Ayr. Beautiful sandy beach and the Ayrshire Coastal Path are less than 10 minutes walk. Sunnyside caters for guests individual needs and has achieved VisitScotland Walkers, Cyclists, Classic Cars, Bikers and Film Crews Welcome awards. Make Sunnyside your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 26 Dunure Road | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range: $124 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ayr, Ayrshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everything we needed was available in our room and if anything had been missing, I am sure it would have been provided.”
susanp108, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lovely big room with kingsize bed very comfortable which was on the ground floor ”
707eleanorg, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Main floor bedroom near front door is very convenient”
susantconti, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“we had the ground floor 'Alloway' room on ground floor great for access if you have walking difficulties”
38christinec, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“A wonderful luxury bed and breakfast”
hotelcritic12357, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
LateRooms.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates