We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Carlton Hotel Prestwick

187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (70)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#1 of 4 hotels in Prestwick
Travellers' Choice
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
919Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 269
  • 73
  • 38
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Angela Cassidy wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Myself and my friends attended the ladies nights and we had an amazing trip . Food was excellent, entertainment was great and service was good. It was busy and was great to see so many ladies enjoying themselves...bar a few moaning Minnie's...but you can't please everyone no matter how hard a business tries. Roll on next year
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Elaine T wrote a review Dec 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom55 contributions25 helpful votes
Three friends and I attended the Christmas Ladies Day and were definitely not impressed. Firstly there was hardly three inches between the tables let alone three feet . Different groups should not have been so close together even before the Omicron variant was identified. Secondly, although most of the guests wore masks to enter the room no attempt was made to remind us of the need to also wear them when moving about the room. Surely this was something the DJ could have done from time to time. Furthermore , although the on-line brochure consistently stated that a free half bottle of fizz was part of the package none was on the table . When this was queried we were told that this was an error and should have been removed from the online brochure. It was then pointed out that this could be misrepresentation and we were given one bottle on prosecco “just for us”. Later an announcement was made re complimentary fizz which you had to ask for, if you didn’t ask, you didn’t get. The food was not of the standard I have come to appreciate from visits to other hotels in the RAD group. The sorbet in the starter was so hard that we had to attempt to eat it with a knife and fork though a hammer and chisel might have been more appropriate. The main course was more acceptable but the chocolate cheesecake was somewhat lacking in flavour. The entertainment was good but extremely loud. Would we go to another Ladies Day. Possibly in another RAD hotel but definitely not to the Carlton. All in all not an experience we will be hurrying to repeat at this establishment. Normally I write a review of experiences, restaurants and hotel stays on Tripadvisor but on this occasion I decided to bring my concerns directly to the hotel chain.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Scottish traveler's wrote a review Nov 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom27 contributions33 helpful votes
My partner and I arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon, our first impressions of the hotel where excellent, the beautifully decorated reception area with stunning Christmas tree stands out on arrival, also the lovely one in the stunning modern logans restaurant. The lady at reception was friendly and a great help on arrival and departure, What a fantastic treat logans restaurant was, the chef is amazing! Wondeful food superb selection on the menu (best menu I've saw) The service was fantastic,we can't wait to eat there again After our lovely dinner we then sat in the bar area of logans and enjoyed a few delicious cocktails and pints in thier comfy seats that are all around the bar and restaurant, What a fabulous friendly glamorous little vibe that bar and restaurant has , totally enjoyed the whole experience in there, The hotel was spotless from top to bottom, what a job they do to clean that hotel bar and restaurant Our bedroom was very spacious modern comfortable We can't wait to return, Kind regards chris and Jade
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Carlton Hotel, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Responded 2 Dec 2021
Thank you for your positive feedback , we hope to see you both again soon .
Read more
Melmer07 wrote a review Oct 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom167 contributions66 helpful votes
We had booked a one night stay at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick while visiting family in the area on Sunday 24th Oct . We knew it was a mistake as soon as we pulled up in the carpark. It was clear there was a wedding being held at the hotel. There were about 10-15 wedding guests hanging about the entrance having a cigarette. No one moved as we had to make our way through the group to get into the hotel. Once through the entrance there was another group of wedding guests with drink in hand in the small reception area where we had to book in and not one person wearing a mask. We felt really uncomfortable as wedding guests were spilling out all over the hotel and not one single person was wearing a mask. The receptionist asked us if we wanted to book a table for our evening meal. We had intended to to do this but given the lack of mask wearing and staff allowing this to happen, we decided not to bother and eat out elsewhere, although staff were all wearing masks. There was a separate function room off the reception area where most of the wedding guests appeared to be and again not one mask wearer in sight. We passed more guests on the way to our room and likewise when we left to go out for our meal and no one wearing a mask. We travel quite a bit in Scotland staying one or two nights in hotels although less so during covid. This has been the worst breach of covid rules we have came across. We had a poor nights sleep with a lot of door banging into the early hours and children running up and down the corridor (our room was on the ground floor). It was the same in the morning when going for breakfast. There were a few people coming out of their rooms into the corridor and talking about the good night they had at the wedding as they were also heading for breakfast. Again not one wearing a mask? I believe hotels should inform guests who want to book a room if there is a wedding being held the same day/night. There was a good choice at breakfast with pleasant cheery staff. We did not spend long over a light breakfast. To summarise we were glad to get home after a drive of 80 miles and having a poor sleep due to noise in the hotel as mentioned above. The hotel would probably ask why we never phoned reception about the noise but to be honest if they cannot enforce the mask wearing policy, how could they stop door banging by god knows who? There was also no phone in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Carlton Hotel, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review , we have taken your comments onboard and looking to make sure we inform guests if any events as you mentioned above are going to be taking part in the hotel .
Read more
DayTrip724768 wrote a review Oct 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom24 contributions49 helpful votes
Excellent value, located 5 minutes in the bus from the airport, staff very good , clean room, substantial breakfast. Can’t ask for more. Was only staying one night but suspect would be a good base for golfers at Troon or prestwick. Car parking , didn’t watch room tv but it had sports on in the lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Carlton Hotel, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback , we are pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Read more
US$94 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandAyrshireSouth AyrshirePrestwick
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Which popular attractions are close to Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Nearby attractions include Shred Skatepark (0.9 km) and Bruce's Well (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Conveniently located restaurants include Logans Restaurant, Carlton Carvery Restaurant, and Kenny's Bakery.
Does Carlton Hotel Prestwick offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Carlton Hotel Prestwick?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greenan Castle (6.1 km), War Memorial Troon (7.0 km), and Loudon Hall (2.3 km).
Is Carlton Hotel Prestwick accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.