We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forth Inn

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Forth Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of Forth Inn
 Click to rate
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for coffee and a pint. Nice atmosphere. Good choice of Scottish beers but unfortunately this rule meant no Guinness. Got quite busy for lunch and food looked quite tasty. Had a look at gorgeous function room at rear and was well impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeeTeeMascot
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the review, always appreciated. I hope you tried the Black, people tell me it's like Guinness was 35 years ago before it became cold & bitter!...just sayin! Quite often we also have a Dark real on, you havn't mentioned it so I will assume at the time of your visit we didn't. Glad you enjoyed the food...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a memorial locally. Staff were so friendly, helpful (when our rental car broke down!) and considerate of the reason for our stay. Can't thank them enough for their hospitality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad we were able to help...it's knid of what we do! I do hope you got the car sorted and everything turned out well in the end. Thanks for the review it is much appreciated.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As it's located in Aberfoyle, it's an ideal base for all activities in the Trossachs and Loch Lomond area. The food is top notch and the bar is brilliant - a great selection of real ales. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This was my third stay...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkinchKen
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much Ken really appreciate your review, thank you. Hope it's not to long before you are back.

Wyandotte, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While traveling through the Trussachs to see Loch Lomond and Loch Katrine, evening was approaching and we needed to find a place to spend the night. We came upon the tiny town of Aberfoyle and found the Forth Inn. The interior of this inn was amazing. The stair rails were hand carved very heavy dark wood and the sitting room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

James, thas a brillaint review, thank you. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip as much.

Cupar
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Room was quite satisfactory but certain parts of the establishment are in need of repair. Food good, bar also. Breakfast was not available until 9 o'clock and I consider a major fault. The staff were friendly and obliging.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thanks for taking the time to review, it is important to us that people do do that. Your overall score seems a little harsh in my opinion, yes we do need to effect some repairs thats true, but i'm sure everyone could say the same about anywhere! But a major fault is the breakfast being served from 9,...

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped in after a night away food good friendly staff. Had a few meals in here always nice. Some times has a nice fire going to. Always full of tourists and locals alike so I no it it good. Nice selection of drinks and beers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davglafferty
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Brilliant, thanks for the review, see you again soon I hope.

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

What can I say , late deal, half price! Room lovely clean and large, wonderfully fresh smelling bedding. Dinner and real ale were both great. Breakfast fresh and cooked to order, delicious. A great overall impression staff lovely, we will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Anne, much appreciated.

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

friendly staff quick service for great food and beer a pint of chips an haggis burger was lovely . nice and big rooms for plenty of friends for a good time and dog friendly too. I will be going again when I'm in the area .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil j
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Cheers Neil, look forward to seeing you again.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Clean, tidy and comfortable accommodation. Topped with attentive, welcoming staff who go above and beyond to make sure we had the best stay. Excellent service. Meals were delicious and evening entertainment was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine M
Phil C, Owner at Forth Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Elaine, hopefully you will be back again at some point soon.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

What an excellent place cant fault it one bit !! Kareoke and quiz are excellent nights fab breakfasts and amazing meals. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Great location too!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephendickie

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
6.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
609 reviews
6.1 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
35.0 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
18.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Price Range: $117 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forth Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Forth Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If visiting Loch Katrine, we recommend the Forth Inn. Spring/Summer season you would probably need reservations. No problem in March.”
K4817AVjamesp, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 2 & would totally recommend ”
annef457, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the road”
34donaldl, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None, both of our rooms were cozy and lovely”
stonebur, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms up 1 flight of stairs. Room 1,2 farther from pub, might be quieter nights there is music.”
, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5