We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ground

Booking.comUS$153*
View Deal
#1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,467: English reviews
Chard
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Our room was clean and very comfortable and despite facing the local church the bells didn't ring at night so no disturbed sleep! The food was excellent and the dining room staff were friendly and efficient. There were comfortable lounges and it was easy to order snacks and drinks at any time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggieanne49
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Maggie Anne Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the excellent food and welcoming atmosphere. It is a huge boost for our loyal team that you recognise their warmth and professionalism. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you have a safe trip home. We look...

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I just returned from Ireland and we stayed at the Old Ground based on a travel agent's recommendation and was that ever the right decision. It was our last stop before returning out of the Shannon Airport. The hotel staff were very helpful at every step and the rooms are large, comfy, quite and clean. The Old Ground is convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UFORich
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Alabama Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review. It is a huge boost for our loyal team that you recognise their warmth and professionalism. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you have a safe trip home. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards

England uk
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Very busy hotel with large groups .We had the misfortune to have room 519. Absolutely awful. Rubbish view only 1chair. Double was 2 singles put together but worst of all was the bathroom probably great for a wheel chair user but abysmal for the able bodied large toilet area with pride of place the actual rather high toilet with some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim09
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Pilgrim from the Uk, I am so sorry we were not aware that you did not need the room that has been specifically designed for those who need wheelchairs. Perhaps it was an error but your reservation from your agent clearly specified that a wheelchair may be required. If you would like to contact me directly, I can forward...

Shawnee, Oklahoma
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Loved this hotel from the moment I stepped through the door. Exceptionally helpful staff and lovely accommodation. I particularly appreciated being across the road from a beautiful church and a short walk from all the town as to offer. Would recommend this property and community to anyone visiting Ireland. Well worth the stop!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SK T
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review - our team really appreciate that you would take this time. Like so many of our visitors, it is wonderful to read how you enjoyed the attractive town of Ennis and our convenient location in the centre of everything that is happening. We look forward to welcoming you again,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stopped overnight in Ennis on our way to our holiday home on the Atlantic coast. We decided to stay at the Old Ground. Welcoming staff working on reception, although we should have been warned how early restaurants in the area shut. We wandered around the town looking for somewhere to eat with only fast food places seeming to be...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RaySolo
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived for food at peak time on a Saturday evening and managed to get a table in the corner, which was ideal with two young children. The food was excellent, but what was even better was the staff's appreciation of the needs of customers with small children. We got bread and crayons to keep them occupied and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank KJ1976
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Ennis turned out to be a great place to stay, as we used it as a jumping-off point for day trips to the Cliffs of Moher and The Burren. It was also the perfect place to stay before catching a morning flight from the Shannon airport. If you're staying in Ennis, The Old Ground is clearly the top tier hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SJLreno
Mustang, Oklahoma
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The history of the hotel was interesting and the location was nice. The wi-fi was awful though. I was also not real thrilled with the beds. Breakfast was very nice with more options than most places. The staff was not very hospitable, almost cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ckells07
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We only stayed one night at The Old Ground and I wish we could have stayed longer. This hotel was so much more than I expected. The room was huge with a sitting area separated from the sleeping area. The bathroom was was also huge and and looked like it had been redone recently. The bathroom is divided in two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mavis K
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2015

It was between this hotel or the Temple Gate. I chose the Old Ground. Here you are able to sit outside with a drink or smoke if you do. The bed was comfortable and we had a very nice sized room. It was hot in the room but we opened the windows and that was just fine. Nothing flew in!...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Europeantraveler0504
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Traveler from New York, we are delighted that you shared such a positive review of our property. Thank you for being so thorough with your research. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

760 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (406)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (38)
Viewed
Executive King Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (34)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
3.0 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
374 reviews
0.2 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
786 reviews
8.4 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
2.6 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
7.4 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Town Hall Cafe
Town Hall Cafe
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range: $138 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ground staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Phoenix, Arizona
Kilkenny, Ireland
over a year ago
Birmingham
3 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one that has A/C!”
CincinnatiMuffy, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the top floor was very old so maybe lower floors are better?”
mydayjob, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the Church as the bell rings regularly from about 7am”
mattheww585, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Free car park right next to hotel”
carlo45, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was church-side, so we were awakened each morning by the steeple bells, which was actually a very pleasant way to start the day”
753maryellenl, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$153* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$153
HotelQuicklyUS$183
Agoda.comUS$153
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates