We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ashley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ashley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Ashley Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very basic hotel with no frills. The bedroom was fine but on the tiny side, it was a single room. It was very clean and had a TV, tea and coffee making facilities but the bed was very firm and would have been enhanced by a mattress topper. The staff were friendly and helpful. On the plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butlerisobel
Glin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Ashley Hotel is very convenient to Cork City Centre but is a no frills operation. The room was clean and comfortable with coffee & tea making facilities and there is a bar. Breakfast was good but the absence of an elevator could be a problem for some. There's also a number of decent bars and restaurants nearby which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickgstrong
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an absolute kip! Reception area is like walking into a jail. Very old and run down. Glasses in our room were dirty and dust everywhere. Staff aren't at all welcoming and made our check in extremely difficult. Parking area is a joke! Will not be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica T, thank you for the review. We hope you enjoyed your visit in Cork city.

Hewitt, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is small and a little dated. Our room was decent enough with two double beds and an ok bathroom. Thankfully we never had an issue with parking. The parking lot is extremely small, so be prepared to make a few maneuvers if you're trying to get out. The plus side is that the hotel is very close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randi C
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Randi C, thank you for your review and kind comments about the cleanliness of our hotel and fantastic location. We are happy to inform that we will have more renovations taking place this year in our Victorian hotel, celebrating over 180 years in business.

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Good value hotel in central location. Quirky decor, but clean and very adequate for night or 2 in city centre. If you're fussy about decor and finish then choose a more expensive hotel. Everything worked fine and clean, staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesOnTA
CorkAshley, Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasant words in you review. We would like to wish you and your a very Merry Christmas and happy New Year

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Father Ted meets Fawlty Towers. The place has an "eclectic" style and actually started to grow on me by the time we were leaving but I can't say I'd ever recommend it. On the plus side it's centrally located so you can walk everywhere, surprisingly quiet and relatively cheap (though it didn't work out as such for us as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jecond
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jecond, we are glad you had a great Jazz Festival weekend. Thank you for liking our excellent location, a short walk from the main shopping areas, busy bars and restaurants. While we tried to accommodate your request to change your original date of arrival, you were aware of the 2 nights restriction over the Jazz Festival weekend and we...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Very small, very old. In serious need of an update. Floors were slanted in room, bathroom Was very dated the door didn't close properly and was very narrow. Got walked in on twice by housekeeping. Felt very judged by person checking us in

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy S
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, thank you for your review. We appreciate your opinion. It is a shame you did not bring any of the above to our attention while staying at the hotel. We would have gladly offered a different bedroom, more to your liking. We checked if there was any issue with the door and we found no fault with...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Outdated rooms. The photos on their website can be somewhat deceiving as you can be led to believe this is a modern place. Then again, I didn't do much research. I was offered another room, but it was very similar to the room I was put in so I didn't bother moving. I stayed in Room 27 which had spotty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve P, thank you for your review. Our traditional Victorian hotel celebrates over 180 years this year. We are an independent hotel, offering a comfortable accommodation and all mod cons in the centre of Cork city. We are proud to have many happy returning customers, who love the character and the ambience of our hotel, our fantastic staff offering...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel markets itself as pet-friendly. I was traveling for the weekend to Cork city with my small dog, and was initially pleased to see a hotel that was so centrally located allowed pets. I made my booking on October 5th. Several weeks later, days before my arrival, I received a one-sentence email advising me that animals were not allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kate D
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie D, thank you for your opinion. As it was explained to you already by the management at the time of your arrival, we had "No pets" policy in place few weeks before your arrival (please contact the Customer Service of the 3rd party, used for your booking). Mistakenly, you were under the impression that pets were allowed in...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The location is great. Short walk to center of Cork. Full breakfast was included. Eggs come well done. Rooms are good sized and ours had 2 double beds. There are good pubs nearby. Internet was reliable and fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azlarry
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear azlarry, thank you very much for your review and kind words. We appreciate that you shared your positive experience with others and hope to see you again in the future.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#11 of 23 in Cork
834 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#16 of 23 in Cork
413 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
693 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with ensuite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Wifi available throughtout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range: $110 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashley Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ashley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 27 is loud and WiFi is spotty.”
 of 5 bubbles R4037JGstevep, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The twins rooms are very very small.”
 of 5 bubbles Pepperonay, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked back rooms! quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles maris09, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift just stairs and a maze of short corridors with fire doors every few steps. Would advise against if in any physical weakness.”
 of 5 bubbles H9726XUmarym, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't Do it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles KillowenCork, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5