We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Metropole Hotel

Expedia.comUS$112*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,629: English reviews
Start your review of The Metropole Hotel
 Click to rate
LaPorte, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great Staff with a beautiful view of the river! Within walking distance to everything you would need, including city center. There are only 2 small elevators and no stairs to be found though. The breakfast seemed to be a decent deal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krysta S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think the hotel was once a lovely place to stay. But antiquated rooms and facilities shows what once was and currently isn't. A good location and close to parking, there isn't much else positive to say about the Metropole. The shared pool facilities are poor and is open to the public.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tjou
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Metropole Hotel is in a prime location in Cork Center, a quick walk to the train station, the bus station, as well as all the attractions like the English Market. My room was very nicely decorated, light, airy, and comfortable. The hotel staff are friendly and welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N5087CQelizabeths
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

got married 21 years ago in this hotel , we go back every year for our anniversary and the experience is fantastic, due back again t his year, staff are so friendly , went last year for our 20th anniversary and we were upgraded in fairness to the staff they did not have to do that for us, cant wait...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vancs
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vancs, Many thanks for your wonderful review. I’m thrilled to hear you come back to the Metropole to celebrate your anniversary, we are currently looking for guests’ with memories of the hotel for our 120th Birthday Celebrations so we would be delighted to see some photos etc., of your special day 21 years ago. I look forward to your...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went there for one night. There is a nice ambiance with friendly staff. Rooms are a bit small. Breakfast is pretty nice. Sport room and pool is nice as well. A place to recommend if you look for a nice hotel in city center for a fair budget

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 46samirh
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 46samirh, Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. It seems we have ticked all the boxes during your stay which is of course, our main priority for all of our guests’. I’m thrilled to hear you would happily recommend The Metropole Hotel to others and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I can give you an excellent if you refunded my deposit as your promise. Please refund us our deposit of 50 Euro as soon as possible. It's already more than 10 days since we left the hotel (May 10th 2017)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thuyanhv2017
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thuyanhv2017, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear of this inconvenience. If you could email me Marie, our Front Office Manager at mfeeney@themetropolehotel.ie she will investigate why this is taking so long. Please accept my sincere apologies and I can assure you that we will everything we can to resolve this as quickly as possible. Warm Regards,...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Metropole, Cork is a comfortable, hotel in very good location - close to shopping, entertainment venues and tourist attractions. Old--world décor, but modern comforts. The friendly, helpful staff are very welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acaomh_438245
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear acaomh_438245, Many thanks for your review. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our team here to be helpful, kind and courteous. It’s always fantastic to let them know they have contributed to each guests’ stay, be it big or small. I hope you found Cork to be as beautiful as we do...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Classic older hotel on convenient location. Room was basic and on street side which is a bit noisy when pubs close at 02:30 at least on weekends. Nice large bathroom with tub shower combination. Good pub/bar with full beer selection. Great restaurant with new menu that was superb. Wife had grilled sea bass and I had braised lamb both top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bocajohn
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bocajohn, Thank you for taking the time to send in this kind review. I’m delighted to read you enjoyed your visit in the Metropole Hotel, and that you found the time to try our newly launched Bistro Menu. I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to Shane, our Head Chef, and make sure the girls on the...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel in the heart of Cork city. Loved the old world ambience. Friendly and professional staff. Got to mention Tereza! If your interest is the theatre, Everman Theatre is almost next door, Cork Arts Theatre a short walk and the Opera House across the bridge. You won't be disappointed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelkU5285YO
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michaelkU5285YO, Thank you very much for giving us a five star review! We are very lucky to be so central, and all guests’ that do stay with us, find plenty ways to use it to their advantage. I hope you found the time to see a show and that you enjoyed it, both the Everyman and the Opera are...

Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great hotel in Cork! Super clean and classy. Nice Bar on site that we enjoyed. Beautiful restaurant that we did not try, but it looked great. The service staff went out of their way to make our visit special. Anna at the front desk is a gem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomassS6490NT
Roger R, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thomassS6490NT, Thank you for your fantastic review, I'm delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you for your kind words regarding Anna. She will be delighted that you mentioned her in your review. I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Roger Russell General Manager rrussell@themetropolehotel.ie

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,366 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,478 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range: $132 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 month ago
11 months ago
Cork, Ireland
Cork, Ireland
2 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River View rooms are a little quieter, but most are good, at the moment a high class refurbishment is in hand, but doesn't affect your stay.”
Aragorn54, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a standard triple room - very small.”
KazzR64, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 4th floor and had no noise issues.”
Saz241986, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“View of the river”
Gordon1860, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are less affected by the street noise,which can be loud on weekends.”
Padjo2014, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$112
AMOMAUS$238
Hotels.comUS$112
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates