We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Merchant House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merchant House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of The Merchant House
 Click to rate
Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the W.B Yeats suite for two nights off peak in January. Large room with walk in shower, street facing with double glazing but light sleepers may need to avail of the complimentary ear plugs, noise didn't bother me personally. Steep stairs, not for crutch users or those with bad knees/hips. Lovely for a romantic stay in beautiful Dublin....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Romy F
Nassau, New Providence Island
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 October 2016

In heart of Temple Bar area. We had the James Joyce suite. Windows were excellent for keeping out sound. Comfy bed, good shower, very clean. Checkin is at 2 pm - no earlier - we arrived around 1:00pm, but our luggage was kept until we returned. Did not have the breakfast package. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deb G
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
N.Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location, right in the middle of Temple Bar and yet so quiet. Good security, excellent manager in Chris who went above and beyond to accommodate any request. Room was stunning down to every little last detail, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed and great sized bathroom. Would stay here again and highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jetsetgirl01
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here on many occasions - I booked at 11 this morning only to have to cancel at 1pm due to a family emergency & be told they would not refund me my €160, a €160 that has already been taken from my card although it said on e-mail that it was payable at hotel. I cannot believe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky B
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

As we explained to you as well as the agent you booked with. Your reservation was totally discounted down and the rate you received was excellent but with no refunds. WE DID OFFER you another date without any loss but you abruptly declined with a barrage of abuse. It clearly stated in all your documents that you went for a...

Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We really liked the location a lot. Right in the heard of temple bar area. The room was extremely quiet. No noise at all from outside! Clean and well designed Stoker room. Takes 35 minutes with an air coach or air link for 10-12 euro per return ticket. Walk from busstop is max 10minutes. Improvements: the matras was not really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peteruga
Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

this is a quiet, comfortable historic town house in Dublin's Temple Bar. You are a few minutes from dublin castle, Trinity College and Christchurch Cathedral so very central. It is not a serviced hotel but it has spent a bit of time thinking through everything you might need to ensure a comfortable stay. my room, W.B. Yeats room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizs105
NORTHERN IRELAND
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Arrived at the Merchant House, and to say it was unexpected was an understatement, as I suppose I was expecting the more traditional type service, but can say it was a nice room and served us well, nice and roomy and good blackout blinds, it was quite loud but with a few drinks its not that noticeable, bed was super...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IHATELIBRAHOLIDAYS
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Well-appointed rooms in a super central location, friendly and helpful staff. Low water pressure, no kitchenette (does have a minibar&coffee/tea maker) but for the rest very comfortable and quiet in the middle of Temple Bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stanm0re
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for taking the time to leave a kind review. We are advertised as Guest Suites and therefore do not provide a 'kitchen/cooking' area . Temple Bar is full of food outlets . We prefer to offer our Guests nice furnishings while they can enjoy the quiet atmosphere of their Suites. Thank you again.................

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

What a find! Firstly, don't be concerned about Temple Bar noise as this charming guest house is fully double-glazed. We arrived early but it was not an issue as the gentleman who met us, took our bags & when we returned at the specified time, we were taken up to the Oscar Wilde suite (top floor). Exceptionally clean with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeteEdge1
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this review

It was indeed a pleasure to look after you both. Thank you for such a nice , reasonable and honest review. See you both on your next visit................

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent little B&B with gracious hosts - the Bram Stoker room was the perfect size and the location couldn't have been any better. Within walking distance of a huge amount of things to see, shopping, the ubiquitous pubs, or just plain people watching. Highly recommend this B&B for couples. Access might be a little tight for families but still doable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Bram Stoker Suite (38)
Viewed
James Joyce Suite (42)
Viewed
Oscar Wilde Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
WB Yeats Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Clarence
#43 of 151 in Dublin
1,491 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
951 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 151 in Dublin
526 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,166 reviews
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merchant House is a restored award winning early Georgian building situated in Temple Bar, the cultural capital of Dublin City. The building in Eustace Street started out as a Merchant's house in the early Eighteenth Century. After extensive and lengthy refurbishment, luxury Guest Suites were created. It is our intention to offer our Guests spacious luxury Suites with total privacy in the heart of Dublin City. Our sound proof windows, beautiful furnishings, free Wifi and beautiful decor all help to create a relaxing environment for our Guests at a very affordable price. Breakfast is great value at €12 per Guest and served 1 minutes walk from The Merchant House. Some stairs to climb . All our Suites are called after Irish writers. Check In is by appointment with your personal Housekeeper. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 8 Eustace Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D02 KX31, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Price Range: $241 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merchant House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merchant House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Merchant House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i understand they have a smaller room to the back but it's also the quietest with a room on top with fab views..”
 of 5 bubbles lizs105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to points of interest”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseJ_13, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift, over 4 floors”
 of 5 bubbles H8205DElindak, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you have large luggage, try to get the Bram Stoker room or the one on the second floor - there's no elevator. Yeats was third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsaypindsay, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Take the breakfast option you won't be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles foxesfan1, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5