We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clarence

Show Prices
#42 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clarence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clarence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,349: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The hotel itself is located in an excellent location in the heart of the city. Easy access to airport, restaurants, pubs, bars, shopping and the sights. Clean rooms and friendly staff. I found the breakfast very average for what the price was. Overall, a reasonable hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dukan14
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4* review of The Clarence following your recent stay. I'm happy to read that our location suited you and that you found the team here to be friendly. I will pass your breakfast comments on to Cleaver East. We hope you have the opportunity to return to The Clarence again in the future and we look forward...

Broomfield
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Great location! right in the heart of Temple Bar district, great people, very helpful, very nice. Would highly recommend! They have a restaurant that has an excellent breakfast. Bar could use updating, otherwise - great place!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 33lanab
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your stay with us this month. I'm delighted to read you would recommend staying here and that during your stay you enjoyed the service of the team here. I note your comment regarding The Octagon Bar and I will also pass your breakfast compliments on to the management of Cleaver...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We stayed at The Clarence for only two nights. Honestly, it was the novelty of the connection to U2 that influenced our decision. I wish we have spent more time checking the reviews. I'm never one to complain and try to see the positive in things, but there's not much positive to report. We found the staff to be disinterested...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Qandmoo
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed to read the negative elements of your review of The Clarence. It is indeed unfortunate that we cannot control the noise from the neighbouring nightlife businesses and in particular on nights when we are fully occupied we cannot avoid that some guests will be impacted on by this noise, despite our best efforts to minimise this. It's...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Simply the best hotel in Dublin. Big, clean, spruce modern scandinavian styled rooms. Very comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant (Cleavers) at the back downstairs. No hassles, no noise, everything works. Can't be faulted

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us here at The Clarence and for giving us 5 stars on Tripadvisor. It certainly sounds like you had the kind of experience we aim for all our guests to have and it's a pleasure to read a review such as yours. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for another enjoyable...

Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Just go there and you are in the middle of Temple Bar! so the location is just perfect! the hotel is kind of strange if you compare to modern looking hotels, it's quite "new" but oldfashioned and it looks nice to me. from the bathroom with oldfashioned basin to the doors it's very unique! as I said th elocation is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwissUndertaker
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence and I'm glad to read that our location suited you perfectly. Your kind comments, and in particular regarding the some of the team here are greatly appreciated ans we hope you return to The Clarence in the future.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Very friendly helpful staff welcomed us to this wonderfully located, charming hotel. We stayed in a double room which was furnished & finished to a high quality with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in clever east was very tasty. Couldn't have picked a better hotel in Dublin.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your 5* review of The Clarence following your recent stay, and I'm delighted to read such positive comments, in particular that you couldn't have picked a better hotel. We hope to see you back in the future for a return stay and look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

Rota, Spain
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Right in the heart of Temple Bar and the many sites in south Dublin. Perfect location to walk or take city/tour buses all around. Room (211) was small but clean. Hotel bar (Paragon) was very cool and as Bono and The Edge once owned the hotel and partied there also very cool. Staff was very friendly and answered all of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Scott, thanks for choosing to stay at The Clarence on your recent visit to Dublin and for you review afterwards. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your time here and that you found the team to be friendly. We hope this is just the first of many times you'll visit The Clarence.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This has the potential to be a special hotel and was for a while but it seems to have slipped which is a big disappointment. The building is still beautiful and the staff were nice and attentive but there were a number of issues such as the poorly functioning shower, noisy (Riverview) room and rather dreary (subjective I'll admit) Octagon...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnK3961LR
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing The Clarence and for choosing to stay here again recently. I'm disappointed to read that it fell short of you expectations and previous stays, and thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we may try to address these issues where possible and ensure that we improve in these matters. It's a pity to read that...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I had a wonderful stay at The Clarence while in Dublin for work recently. The hotel is well located in Templebar and within walking distance of all Dublin has to offer. Clean, comfortable with great staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Stephen, thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence having stayed with us earlier this month. Your positive comments are very much appreciated and we hope to see you back if business or pleasure brings you to Dublin again.

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Nice clean rooms, excellent food and breakfast, staff are very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, location perfection close enough to the action but just far enough away to get a good nights sleep, only moan was the room we had got pretty hot at night opening the windows we got traffic noise, but this paled into insignificance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clarence following your recent. I'm happy to read the overall positive content and it's a pity that you found your room a little too warm and as a result of trying to alleviate this you were impacted on by noise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (360)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (141)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (48)
Viewed
Garden Suite with Terrace (55)
Viewed
Penthouse (166)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#32 of 150 in Dublin
2,553 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#41 of 150 in Dublin
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarence boasts fifty bedrooms and suites, along with our world famous Penthouse Suite. Our rooms range from Classic through Deluxe and on to our River View and Garden Terrace Suites. Our furnishings are simple: classic Shaker oak, beds dressed in cool white linen, sitting elegantly in contrast to a palate of vibrant cardinal colours, rich drapes and luxe carpets. We aim to provide all the simple needs of our guests and we offer 'round the clock room service and all rooms have complimentary WiFi as standard. Our city centre location means car space is at a premium, but we do have a small underground car park that can be reserved for a small nightly supplement. It is also worth noting that our location does mean that the area can be lively at night, especially at the weekends and while we have taken every effort to reduce noise, it is not possible to block it all out. Please do consider this before booking. Within the hotel complex there are many drinking and dining experiences, from the chilled out bliss of The Study to the super stylish Octagon Bar, the perfect spot for an afternoon cocktail or a laid back nightcap. We also have Michelin star chef Oliver Dunne's Cleaver East restaurant within our walls and we are very proud that Oliver and his team provide all catering at the hotel, so whether it's a late night bite in your room or a Full Irish breakfast the next morning, you know your food will be of the highest standard, made from the freshest produce, closely cared for by Michelin starred hands. In the bowels of our building you will find the luxurious cocktail and food bar The Liquor Rooms, home to Dublin's arts set and the first ROI bar ever to be nominated in the prestigious Tales of the Cocktail Spirited Awards. On our first floor, overlooking the River Liffey lies The Cleaver East Suite at The Clarence, which can be reserved for special occasions, from large weddings to intimate business meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 6-8 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $167 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Hotel Dublin
Clarence Dublin
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Family Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clarence staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Watch out, the chocolate isn't complimentary!”
 of 5 bubbles Aerobaby37, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were happy with our room but it was a bit hot so we slept with the windows open and it was just right. ”
 of 5 bubbles carolynm741, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“To be avoided”
 of 5 bubbles mennol417, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard king room”
 of 5 bubbles Bouboume, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th Floor Suite is very good ”
 of 5 bubbles stephensU940NF, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay