We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avalon House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avalon House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 502: English reviews
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You can expect to get what you pay for at this place. Staff is very friendly and effective. The included breakfast is quite nasty but as breakfast is served in a coffee bar which also caters to non-hostel guests you can buy some very alternatives there. The rooms are very very basic (maybe a little too basic for my taste)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed here (we are between 23-25 years old), there was only 5 of us but we booked a 6 bed dorm with its own bathroom. The room and bathroom were cleaned to a high standard, breakfast was what expected, staff were friendly and it was in a great location! I couldn't really fault it for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGowans
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon the first 2 minutes of arriving at this hostel everything appeared nice and welcoming, but that was short lived. We were greeted by cold impatient reception staff, then to witness same staff rudely talking to a customer who was staying there and not offering any explanation or help for their query, when they asked to speak to a manager...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CrissieWill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location, 5 min walk to temple bar, 5 min walk to 24 hour spar shop, number 16 bus to airport stops right outside. This place has huge potential but is let down by its staff. Not one member of staff I came into contact with was polite or even smiled, just...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca A
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback of your stay in Avalon House. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us however a few things need to be addressed. First you did not book the hostel because we offer late check out the booking was made before this request was made and our staff informed you...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I needed to stay in the hostel for a few days while I was looking for a permanent place, on the 3rd day of my stay my bed was done, which I truly appreciated, however the make took my stuff out of the bed and laid over the window mantelpiece, half of my stuff was on the edge of it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rene B
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although I appreciate you are upset we moved your belongings, this is something we have to do in order to dress your bed with clean sheets, I have noted on your file for future reference if there is something on your bed it will not be dressed unless requested....

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Good Location (closest to the city center among all hostels here) you can buy food at 1Euro shops near by(100m) Good WIFI! well then the rooms are very small and low bunk beds,,, Shower is not hot enough for winter,,,and there is no place to put clothes when we take shower,,, Comparing rooms and beds numbers living space is too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maguder D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in Avalon hostel for five nights. Finding AH is extremely easy. It is situated on Aungier street. Bus 16 from Dublin airport will take one close to AH. Reception is open for 24/7 and they are very helpful. Rooms are cheap compare to other hostels, however weekend nights get crazy so if someone wants to stay on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Islam
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review our property , we are thrilled you enjoyed it !! Happy new year and see you again in 2017 Warm Wishes Management and Team @ Avalon

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

A little context - before visiting I was imagining a pretty weird experience at this hostel based on the other reviews. I really don't understand the complaints! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were adequate in size (we were in a four bed dorm). Beds were comfy and warm, although the radiator really blasted out heat. Better that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callybeanz
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for the lovely review, we do get the odd review where people are perhaps expecting a Hotel and not a Holiday hostel we pride ourselves on friendly service and cleanliness to the best of our ability so thank you again for appreciating :) Hope to see you back in 2017 Management and Team @ Avalon...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

I recommend Avalan House because what you get for the price is quite fair. The dorms were clean and everything worked fine. The location is great, as it is just a 10 minutes walk to the city center. Also, the breakfast included is not bad (toast, cereal, coffee and tea) and keeps you going in a quite expensive city as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinita T
AvalonDublin, General Manager at Avalon House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the lovely review and hope you will return on your next visit to Dublin Warm Wishes Management and Team @ Avalon

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The hostel is in a great location, easy to walk anywhere and the local shops are open late and the streets really busy early evening. We had a twin room and shared bathrooms. The room looked fine until we tried to sleep in it. The heating felt like it was lumping out on full heat all night, had to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaceyr0se

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Standard Four Person Dorm Ensuite (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room Ensuite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Twin Room Ensuite (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,154 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 100 in Dublin
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Avalon House 55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $36 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Avalon House 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Brasov, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 dorm is the best though the rooms are quite small”
 of 5 bubbles 834tinitat, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“just you should ask for a silent room.”
 of 5 bubbles carmenn470, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pack light sleepwear - rooms have limites airflow and tend to be warm”
 of 5 bubbles MirandyG, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Levarttravel1, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“twin room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 283petrap, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay