We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Start your review of Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
 Click to rate
Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked the apartments as an overnight stay before an early morning appointment in Temple Street Children's Hospital. Terrfic value,spacious, clean & a minutes walk from the hospital. We were able to leave our car in the private car park at no extra cost! I would book again even if the street was noisy at times during the night but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicoda74
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Central appartments, clean and functional with good private bedrooms. We we're welcomed to st. patricks weekend with a nice gift bag with snacks, guiness, and two bottles of wine, very nice gesture. The appartment was clean with plenty of space, wifi and tv, and full kitchen, and the service in the 24 hour reception was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Subtilicus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room at the Clifden Guesthouse and Apartments for a 1 night stay. Being University students we were looking for a good quality hotel for a small budget - and this hotel did not disappoint! The location is just outside the main areas of Dublin (5 minute walk) and is quiet at night, with no traffic or outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Lorna, Thank you so much for your positive review of Clifden House. It made for some delightful reading!! I am delighted to hear that you didn't experience any noise disturbance when you stayed. I am also delighted to hear that you had the best night sleep in years!! I am so glad that you found your accommodation stunning. Thank...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location only 5 minutes walk to city centre.Extremely friendly staff. Rooms small but clean we didn't have breakfast though it smelt delicious. Car park charge of ten euro per night though the website states free parking. Definitely would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aine G
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Aine, Many thanks for your kind review of Clifden House. I am so happy to hear that you r found the staff extremely helpful. Thank you for mentioning breakfast smelt delicious! You will have to sample it the next you stay! I hope to welcome you back in the future Aine, please ask for me directly the next time...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We rented a ground floor apartment for 4 nights. There was a problem initially with the heating but but was soon sorted, though in very cold weather the one radiator in the sitting room may not be enough. Great welcome and good service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Ian, Thank you for taking the tine to write a review of Clifden House. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue in relation to the heating but I am glad to hear that you reported it and that it was sorted for you straight away. Thank you for mentioning the warm welcome and good service you...

Tulla, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fab just fab location just minutes from O'Connell st but nice and quiet and felt very safe. We stayed in hotel not apartments. Rooms were nice we had no coffee on 2nd night and rang reception and they came straight up with some biscuits too. Shower wasn't great but had a bath too and I used that. Staff were lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Analot
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Analot, Many thanks for your recent review of Clifden House. I am so happy you loved the location of the hotel!! Thanks for mentioning that! I am also happy to hear that you felt safe. My apologies that you had no coffee the second night but I'm delighted to hear that the staff were on hand to supply you...

Selkirk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife decided on Dublin for 2 night Tuesday to Thursday. We arrived at Clifden early about 10.30 and they let us keep our bags there in the garden shed until we could check in. We went back at 3.30 to check in and the room wasn't even ready, I had to pay full price for room even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Norwich
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We booked 2 nights in 2 bed apartment. 2 adults 2 teens. Two double beds. Not spotless but overall not bad. Some areas a bit dated. Shower ok loo clean beds comfy and clean and area seems quiet enough with a good night sleep. Reception friendly and helpful. Would book again and €100 per night with parking at €10 24...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorwichTim1969
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Hi NorwichTim1969, Thank you for your recent review of Clifden House. I am happy to hear that you found the beds comfy, always helps for a good night's sleep! I am however sorry to hear that you found the apartment slightly dated. We are currently working through each of the apartments at present to update anything we feel is warranted....

New Hampshire
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stayed one night while in Dubiln. Booked the room on Booking.com. Checked in a little earlier but the room was ready so the staff was nice to let us in early. They were friendly. The room was right on the bottom floor, windows opened up to a small alley where workers were outside, noisy. Also the head of one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SS-NH-603
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SS-NH-603, Many thanks for taking the time to review Clifden House. I am happy to hear that you able to check-in early to your room. Thank you for mentioning that the staff were nice. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise disturbance during your stay. The bathroom you mentioned is in fact the public bathroom so...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Upon arrival, we were taken across the street to a building...we were forewarned about that part, however, we had NO idea it was on the 4th floor...we were told 2nd floor. The room was adequate but the bathroom had BLACK-MOLD!! After many concerts and as well as the phone not working, no one came to attend to any of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G David K
Anthony R, Manager at Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear G David K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Clifden House. I do sincerely apologise for the negatives you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that this is not how we conduct ourselves. In relation to your comment about the mould in the bathroom, I had the maintenance team deal with that...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#81 of 153 in Dublin
634 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 153 in Dublin
1,272 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 161 in Dublin
325 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 161 in Dublin
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clifden House is a 200 year old 'listed' non smoking Georgian home with 17 ensuite rooms right in the heart of Dublin city centre, with secure car parking for guests even after check-out.Our Guesthouse is within a quick 5 minute walk to O'Connell street which offers convenient transport around the entire city, making it a great place to stay in Dublin.Experience the warm homely feel at Clifden House with it's kind & friendly staff. We cater for single, double, twin, triple and family stays.All 15 rooms are ensuite, with shower in lower rooms and full bath/shower in rooms on 4th floor, no elevator, with direct dial telephone, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.WiFi internet access available.Convenient easy access to ferryport, DART, LUAS, Busarus (bus station) and train stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments

Address: 32 Gardiner Place | Dublin, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $106 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Ushuaia, Argentina
11 months ago
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
nottingham
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are worried about stairs with luggage...this is NOT your place, it has NO elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles gdavidk, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift in the building, so best to request lower floors if you have lots of luggage or any mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles ddd2016, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book Elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles R9928ISmattd, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a back room or another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynJ474, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure of how your bedroom looks”
 of 5 bubbles FernandoRamon, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5