We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor House Dublin

Expedia.comUS$168*
View Deal
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$168*
US$168*
US$168*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchor House Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 455: English reviews
Start your review of Anchor House Dublin
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are small,hallways dirty,luggage rack broken,view of dirty alley,no amenities.have to pay to use computer to print boarding pass. Was sorely disappointed after reading reviews. It was less than most hotels,but next time will pay a little more. The nighttime staff on Friday and Saturday was very helpful and pleasant. Would not recommend or stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanhelen145
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff work hard to maintain a standard of cleanliness. You didn't report the broken luggage rack , it is now fixed following this report. Dublin city council are responsible for the streets , this is out of our control. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the building. Most...

Torrance, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is more like a small hotel, it does not have the personal touch of a typical B&B but nevertheless the location is great, 5 minute walk to Busaras Station and also bus stop to the airport. It is also 10 -25 min walk to several attraction. Room was average size, somewhat comfy bed and clean bathroom/shower. Breakfast was ok,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea F
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Lea, Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will return again some day. Best regards, Joan

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly I must say that this guesthouse is perfectly located, just a quick walk and you are right in the hub of Dublin, easy access to all modes of transport. The room we were allocated was rather dissapointing, dark and noisy. The room faces a loading zone and from early in the morning the noise level is rather high. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helliebelly
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. The owner apologies if she appeared rude to you but it was not her intention, she was merely trying to explaining our hot /cold water tap system to you. As you stayed for 3 nights and didn't mention it to us again during your stay we assumed all was...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Anchor House BnB. We had a twin room that was very clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast was good traditional Irish fare and they provided a few options as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. The location was really great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poodlegurl
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you will return again some day. Best regards, Joan

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 nights B & B over bank holiday weekend in May with my mum and auntie and could not have asked for more. The staff were lovely, the lady who served us breakfast the first morning was very busy but very friendly, the other staff were very accommodating for getting an extra towel for our room, storing our luggage before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koll18
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return again in the near future. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Best regards, Joan

brentwood essex
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

nice and friendly bed and breakfast very clean and comfortable nice sized rooms with large wardrobe's. nice breakfast, friendly staff very close to the city centre and the train station with links to northern Ireland, with the 747 bus from Dublin airport stopping within 200 metres from the guest house and only €10 return what a bargain. can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm m
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Malcolm, Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us . We look forward to your return . Best Regards, Joan

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Warm welcome and helpful staff. Excellent location Room small but clean and adequate for needs. Back rooms quieter-rooms at front noisier (main road and rail line). Breakfast good Wi Fi signal good Poor TV reception-some channels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tizzi1015
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will return again some day. Best Regards, Anna

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Stayed in Anchor House recently. Found the location for exploring the city centre to be perfect. The room was clean and warm and the breakfast was very nice. The biggest +'s were 1. Location (4 minute walk to O Connell street) 2. Friendly staff.... (they could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was enjoyable) We also found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevyBaby16
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Kev, Thank you so much for your kind review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you both here again before long. Best Regards, Anna

Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is a great BnB. Our room was massive! The beds are really comfortable, nice furnishing and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was nice and they make a grand cup of tea! I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine W
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Josephine, Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you will return again soon . Best Regards, Joan

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I recently arrived back to Dublin after a business trip to Asia. Now, Asian hotels are gorgeous, as you have probably read on this hallowed service for travellers. Dublin was cold and foreboding but I needed to stay in its centre, so I opted to stay at The Anchor. I had stayed there earlier in the year, following an earlier...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank eoin g
joan c, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review

Hi Eoin, Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay here with us . We look forward to seeing you back soon again. Best Regards, Joan

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#84 of 151 in Dublin
608 reviews
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 150 in Dublin
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egans House
#24 of 150 in Dublin
439 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: $177 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor House Dublin staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wadsworth, Ohio
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor House Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was on alley and dirty and noisy”
susanhelen145, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask them not to place you in the rooms near the loading zone.”
Helliebelly, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“10 minute walk to Grafton Street, 5 minutes to DART or O'Connell Street - er... central!”
eoing104, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower Gardiner Street is quite busy, but in our case we were not disturbed at all. The rooms seem well isolated.”
suz507, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“GEt the large family room if you can.”
gcbnapa, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$168* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$168
TripAdvisorUS$168
Hotwire.comUS$168
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates