We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stauntons on the Green

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Stauntons on the Green
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stauntons on the Green
See the most recent reviews
Showing 628: English reviews
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Dublin. We have been given many different rooms on different floors and different parts of the very articulate building (or series of buildings). All in all our opinion of the place is positive, especially because of the very good location. Some of the rooms could use some TLC. Room 410,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaraeleonora
Management response:

Hi Barbara, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. We are pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor of our hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing the rooms in the hotel so perhaps on your next visit you can request a newly refurbished room to experience the improvements which are being made....

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Check in was fast and efficient. I wouldn't advise booking room 110 unless you get a very good price and don't need to spend any time in the room. It's a tiny claustrophobic room with a very tiny bathroom. Also there was renovation materials at the bottom of the freezing cold stairs leading up to the room. The stairs carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Management response:

Hi Linda, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the disruption you experienced with our refurbishments. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. We have taken action to fix these problems so that...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as my husband was doing the Dublin Marathon. So glad I hadn't taken any notice to negative reviews. We were made very welcome on arrival with our luggage being taken to our room for us. There was tea/coffee facilities in our room with a lovely selection of toiletries.. Extra pillows and blanket in the wardrobe. Great selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
Management response:

Hi Susan, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to welcome you back soon very soon! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Fredericktown
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in October when the weather was getting cooler in Dublin. It was very nice. Great breakfast and nice people. Was a little concerned when I read reviews that were less than favorable. But no worries, all was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfrancis17
Management response:

Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your review. I pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you to back to stay with us in the future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My visit to stauntons this time was disappointing at best. After staying here the previous year and really enjoying my stay I booked again but really wished I hadn't by the end of this stay. The first room I was given had the sink at the end of the bed! Peeling wallpaper and the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reddishboy1968
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. I will look into the issues you had with both the television in the room and the breakfast immediately. Thank you for bringing these problems to our attention. Our hotel will be undergoing refurbishments...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

In fairness, it has a good location next to the green. But the rooms were in bad condition, you can hear everything in surrounding rooms, there was no safe. TV was small. And there was no mini bar or fridge of any kind. Staff at reception were very kind and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fadi S
Management response:

Hi Fadi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. I am sorry the lack of a safe in your room caused you dissatisfaction. We have a hotel safe that we would have been more than happy to store your belongings in. Thank you again for your feedback...

Tulla, Clare,Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My wife and I stayed for one night and had breakfast, which was very good, with fresh fruit. Service at breakfast was very good. Concierge can disappear at times.The room was very spacious with a nice view of the park at the rear.Being on St Stephen's Green it was an ideal location ( we went to an opera at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Management response:

Hi Jim, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have enough drawer space in your room. Our rooms will be undergoing soft refurbishments this winter to amend this problem. Thank you again for your feedback and...

Landenberg
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were booked here by a tour operator. This was a terrible mistake. Most of their property consists of tiny ugly rooms with no amenities, not even ventilation. Our first night room was just like a college freshman dorm room: 10'x10' and no room for anything. 2 twin beds, lousy location, and a cray combination of stairs up and down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances L
Management response:

Hi Frances, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I do sincerely apologise that you did not like your first room. The hotel will be undergoing soft refurbishments this winter to update the interior. As of yet we have not...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The outside of the building is cute and charming. The room is decorated like typical bnbs. The MAJOR problem with this hotel was that the bed was rock hard. This was our first time in Ireland and we toured the country for 8 nights - this place was the ONLY hotel/bnb I couldn't sleep in because the bed was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
Management response:

Hi Melanie, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so sorry to hear that you were so unhappy during your stay. I am very concerned to hear that you found the bed so uncomfortable and also that you were not satisfied with the customer service. I will be investigating these issues immediately and thank...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I've read so many negative reviews on here and I have to disagree. My husband and I found it to be very charming! If you're looking for modern place, with fancy tv's and amenities then I would go stay at a more recent build. The woman at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. The building was old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oatney
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for sharing your experience at Stauntons on the Green. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

514 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Corporate Single Room (27)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (44)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Albany House
Albany House
#68 of 150 in Dublin
721 reviews
0.6 km away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,298 reviews
0.3 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,347 reviews
0.4 km away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#39 of 150 in Dublin
826 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cliff TownHouse
The Cliff TownHouse
#20 of 160 in Dublin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Price Range: $129 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stauntons on the Green staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms offer a view of St Stephens Green-rear rooms overlook a sylvan area and and wonderful park behind the hotel .”
 of 5 bubbles Shayman, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location but it's certainly lacking in so many areas.”
 of 5 bubbles MoMan89, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at rear quieter. Didn't find lift- could be a problem for the elderly. Does breakfast only. Close to restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles JimB443, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancesL982, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“416: my quiet room, which faced the rear of the property, not the busy front road.”
 of 5 bubbles worldly2, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay