We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,864 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,284: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went as part of a group of 6 friends aged 19-22 and loved it. The 6 bed dorm was very spacious and had luggage storage under each bed. ATM inside the hostel which was convenient. We booked the city sightseeing tour and there was a stop 30 seconds away from the hostel which was handy but the city centre is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aiveen M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for all your comments. Unfortunately as we have our own bar and licence it is prohibited to bring alcohol not consumed here on the premises. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future. Kind...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value for money if you book online. The best thing about the hostel is the bar as it holds great theme nights if you are stuck for something to do. The bedrooms with bathroom en-suite are generously sized and the bed is comfortable. If I had to find a downside I'd say that because the breakfast is standard fair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and please come back and see us again in the future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms and corridors are really dirty with terrify bad odor. Decoration in hall is nice. Recepction attention is good. There are enough quantity of bathrooms. Bed is confortable. Quite well location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz P
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. All our corridors are cleaning twice daily and their air fresheners at each corner perhaps it was just at check out when there was a lot of guests departing at the same time. Great to hear you liked everything else. We hope to see you back in the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in Dublin for a few days in May, beautiful city, btw. It was a little challenging to find the hostel though, I took the bus from the airport to downtown, and nobody was able to tell me, at what stop to get off. After finally finding it, I got to my room, a shared room with 5 other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina U
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and that you found the staff friendly. I do however apologise for the unwanted guest in your room, glad to hear it was resolved quickly. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ideal location, just a short stroll from Luas Tram to city centre. Would definitely recommend Generator to fellow travellers. Spacious, clean, friendly staff - and a full bar. What more could a weary traveller ask for? It HAS to be one of Dublin's best, if not THE BEST.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank james g
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for your recommendation. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The security woke me up with a kick and was extremely agressive with me only because I was napping sitting on the couch while I was waiting a friend. I did not pay all this money for receive this kind of treatment. I was thinking of stay a few more days but now I am going to other hostel (cheaper!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I do apologise re: the security guard waking you up although as we have over 540 beds we need to be conscious of who is in the building at all times however I will pass this on to head of security for review. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed for one night ,but will be back ,nice relaxed feel ,good facilities ,fair price /shared with four others . toilet upstairs and also showers .good location nice staff .one of the better hostels i have stayed in

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonygallagher29
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for the positive comments. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel itself is really clean & cool looking, but I was a little disappointed without a kitchen - for backpackers its usually valued, especially in an expensive city like Dublin. Other than that, I really liked the hostel & will definitely stay again! :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerryp201
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however we cannot provide a kitchen as we have ample food and beverage options. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

George Town, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception do not able to understand customer need. We need a quite room but the reception arranged the room next to the bar & informed us no noisy issue but it happened to us every night. When hilighted the concern, there is no proper solution. Feel very very disappointed after staying 4 night there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CW Y
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your interest in the Generator Dublin. Unfortunately we cannot always facilitate room moves especially if the hostel is full, I am sure the reception team tried their best to assist but I do apologise that it wasn't possible. Again, thank you for your comments. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel might be cheap at first, but then, you need to pay for everything, the towel, the locker and if you want to leave your bag or luggage as well. The room was not great and the service far from being efficient (they have forgotten to put sheets on my bed). The bar is nice though. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie e
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you hoped. We are working on a solution to solve the problem with the common bathrooms however I do apologise for this. Again, thank you for your comments and we will do our best to improve...

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,195 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#30 of 150 in Dublin
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,181 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 100 in Dublin
1,716 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#7 of 100 in Dublin
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $36 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
7 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
5 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to jacobs inn on talbot instead. Much nicer management and facilities. PLUS free breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles mattdU6670OR, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Disability access is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z7990NKjennys, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“According to your gender, try to pick the good bathroom floor otherwise you need to take your shower to the other floor”
 of 5 bubbles juliee262, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance and get a private room, it's almost the same as paying for a cheaper hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay