We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,251: English reviews
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here with a few friends for a couple of nights. The hostel is easy to find, because it's right next to the old Jameson distillery. We booked an 8 bed room, but they put us in a 5 bed room, which was great (there were 5 of us). The room was clean and the beds were okay. There's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bart S
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Generator simply because I was alone and wanted to meet other people which I did by the way. I stayed at two previous hostels before generator and I must say that Generator was my least favorite. I booked an ensuite and the set up was ok however I had to make the bed when I arrived. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judie D
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. All the bedding for dorm rooms are put together and placed at the end of the bed to make sure that each person is allocated for the correct bed is in the correct bed but I do apologise for the inconvenience. There is a sign in the bathroom... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I arrived to generator it looked really busy and popular! Great bar and cafe. Interior design is lovely. The room was a bit small for the 6 person dorm and without a bathroom in the room I had to go down the the lower floor just to use the toilet and shower as on my level they only had... More 

Helpful?
Thank p3433
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed the bar and café however I apologise that you found dust on your bed railing - I have passed your comment on to the housekeeping team. 80% of our rooms are ensuite, we do have the options of 6 bed dorms with bathrooms. All... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the first generator hostel I've been to but they are all very good, always central and definitely visit again. I always think of them as a cross between a hotel and hostel room are very nice and well furnished, you can also stay in as they have entertainment at night such as a live band or DJ.

Helpful?
Thank Giulio m
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoy staying at Generators and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Paying for an individual room puts the Generator Hostel Dublin into the price range of budget hotels like Ibis, so this is my benchmark for the review: room and bathroom were good: size, cleanliness. There were a number of things thought that reminded me that I was in a hostel after all: The shower head delivered hardly any water and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markus W
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you found the staff friendly however I do apologise that you had problems with the shower and the radiator, I have passed your comments straight to the maintenance department for review. I am also disappointed to read your comments re: breakfast, I presume you are... More 

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last month I stayed in room 133 which was nice, clean, quiet and spacious. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The location is terrific with the Luas practically on the doorstep to other sights around Dublin and I've booked up to stay in the generator for the 12th of this month as I loved it there.

Helpful?
Thank Keith R
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on the 12th. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really great stay, i enjoyed it & so did all the lads. Staff were extremely nice & helpful to us. Location was perfect as we were going to the 3 arena & coming from Hueston station from cork. Only a few stops to O'Connell street! would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GSmurf17
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel like other generator hostels are brilliant. This one tops the cake with heaps of entertainment and brilliant layout. The whole atmosphere of the place is well Irish. Being close to the city centre yet in a quiet area it's brilliant. There's a conviennent car park opposit the hostel that charges the least in the city.. around 15$ a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the best burgers in Dublin. It's epic. It can be a bit disorganised and mental if there's a soccer match on. The drinks are overpriced, considering it's a hostel. It can also have boisterous clientele.

Helpful?
Thank TommySmithfield
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Tommy, Thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your burger, we have worked very hard to perfect this product. We have recently relocated our kitchen and perhaps we are still getting used to the new system, hopefully next time it wont feel disorganised. See you again soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager More 

Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Long story short, I got to the hostile with out any reservations. When trying to check in at the front desk I was told there were not rooms available with out a single effort to wanting to verily the system, even though third party websites showed many vacant rooms. I was told that i was welcomed to book another hostel... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pineda_dres
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am sorry to hear that your interaction the front desk staff wasn't satisfactory and for that I apologise. Here at Generator we strive to do the best we possibly can at making the guests feel comfortable. I can only suggest that we were heavily booked and perhaps... More 

615 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,105 reviews
3.2 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
1.3 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $39 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
5 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
Manchester
3 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms on the 4th floor seemed very quiet considering this was a hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Saintphil23, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book up and try it for yourself”
 of 5 bubbles 536KeithR, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get ground level and avoid the lifts, grocery store across the square with good food and drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles vancity123, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring a towel, or else you have to "rent" one for a couple of euros.”
 of 5 bubbles BlondeWithADog, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice staff, great atmosphere and has a nice bar inside!!”
 of 5 bubbles AgustinLagresta, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay