We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Dublin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,337: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Dublin has always been famous for the Craic but in this case it was about the Crack. On first appearances it seemed nice for a Hostel but a choice of shower cubicle between one where the control nozzle doesn't work and one with a roll of tinfoil, 2 crack wraps & straws, a burned out lighter & ash all over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Markaroo
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am very surprised to read your comments about your findings in the bathroom as they are cleaned three times daily and we have around the clock highly skilled security in place. I do however apologise that your stay wasn't as pleasant as we would have hoped. We...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Very loud music from the lobby can be heard up on the fourth floor (room 413) let alone our first floor room (room 107) which had black mold on the ceiling. Management decision was to come spray some bleach on it which does nothing except cosmetically make it look better. Definitely not for any type of family though the location...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath_jockey
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I would to apologise re: the mould in your bathroom, the maintenance team are aware and have put a plan into place to combat this. However great to hear you found the staff friendly and the location ideal. Again thank you for all your comments. Kind regards Maureen...

Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Dublin hotels are quite expensive, and we wanted to skip the unnecessarities to save some money. After all, we just wanted the room for a sleep and a shower. Compared to a hotel, this is excluded: small bottles of body lotion and conditioner, mini bar, tea/coffe/water heater, loads of pillows, room service, new sheets and towels every day. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ifsm
Paris, France
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night in the dormitory 6 beds with bathroom in the room.. The hostel was very clean and at the reception the lady very welcoming even if late in the evening.. The room and sheets were very clean and probably I was lucky enough to also get great room-mates.. The breakfast at the cafe was great! It s a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vannaround
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Love the hostel location and ambience. Very convenient and value for money. I loved the Cobblestone bar around the corner for genuine Irish music. Being my first stop on my trip, I had a very warm reception and the hostel created a good ambience to meet new people. Also the tickets for hop on and hop off bus to see...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank devina_gupta
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you had a warm reception and enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin in the near future. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Flanders, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Staying at this hostel felt like I was staying at a hotel. Everything was new and clean. Staff was super helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was perfect for a solo traveler, as everyone was super friendly. Definitely would recommend again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandrasG6180ZI
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. We hope to see you back in Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a social atmosphere with like minded travellers avoid this place. Sure it's clean and modern but it is for sure a hostel that puts profit before people. Persuading guests to drink at the mediocre bar when you can find cheaper pints elsewhere. Fine for friend groups but not solo backpackers. And 2€ for 2 slices off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny543
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We don't persuade guests to drink at our bar, they are welcome to go where they wish so I don't fully understand your comment. We provide free entertainment nightly for our guests with many drink promotions at the bar which you would definitely not find at another city...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Good location, dirty bathrooms, uncomfortable mattress, too expensive for what you get, better value exists elsewhere, bar area is good but disappointed overall. A continental breakfast is available to buy which is a bit mean considering cost of rooms. Dublin overall is over rated, there are better options out there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank podge507
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am not sure whether you were in a shared room or were using the public bathrooms but if its shared there are signs in each bathroom if you require extra cleaning as its a dorm there are many people coming and going, however I do apologise that...

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner booked a private room and paid the extra for late checkout. At 10 am a man from housekeeping let himself into our room to tell us it was checkout time, I told him we had late checkout. An hour later he let himself into our room again to tell us that reception said we didn't not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsBossangel
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Firstly, I would like to apologise re: the housekeeping staff entering your room even though you had a late check out, this was completely a lack of communication on our part. As we have over 540 beds our security team needs to seriously concentrate on their job in...

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

We booked the hostel based off reviews and unfortunately it didn't meet those standards. The staff was rude and not helpful. We booked a female only room but ended up in a mixed room. The bar area was cool and had good atmosphere but the bar service wasn't great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alicia A
GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. I am surprised to hear that you didn't get your room type that you booked - would you mind sending your booking details to my email Maureen.meegan@generatorhostels.com. I do apologise that you felt the staff were rude, I will pass your comments to the front of house team...

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (386)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:12
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (164)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Single Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,749 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
1,818 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
1,810 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 105 in Dublin
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $43 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
9 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago
19 days ago
Manchester

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early.”
 of 5 bubbles tomekh745, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a towel, UK electrical convertor, a padlock/combination lock for your storage box under your bed, and a few euro for the lockers.”
  • My bed with my metal box open. My carry-on suitcase fit well inside it.
  • Shower/sink side of the ensuite bathroom.
  • Toilet side of the ensuite bathroom.
  • 6 bed dorm room with ensuite.
 of 5 bubbles LilPiggyQT, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They all seem good to be fair!”
 of 5 bubbles LeeBuzz, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go to jacobs inn on talbot instead. Much nicer management and facilities. PLUS free breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles mattdU6670OR, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Disability access is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z7990NKjennys, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5