We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Generator Hostel Dublin

    28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Savings alert: 54% below average rate

    The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$204
    US$25
    SAVE US$179
    US$198
    US$198
    Traveller (462)
    Room & Suite (191)
    Dining (65)
    Overview
    • Excellent45%
    • Very good36%
    • Average12%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “bunk beds” (53 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$25
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$198
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$198
      View Deal
    View all 39 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (2,135)
    There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Dublin
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    281 - 285 of 1,475 reviews

    Reviewed 17 September 2016

    Very fine hostel, very friendly staff and best burgers in town. The bar is very cosy and a lot of trips can be booked from the hostel. Nice to have a continental breakfast, but the last morning we upgraded to an Irish breakfast. I really...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank O742VEbrunov
    Response from GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel DublinResponded 18 September 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you found the staff friendly and thanks for the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to Dublin very soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations...More

    Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

    My sister and I came across from London for a couple of days in Dublin and were pleasantly surprised how good this hostel was. It was very clean and tidy and offered many activities downstairs as well as giving you the opportunity to book tours...More

    Thank Anna G
    Response from GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel DublinResponded 18 September 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope you do get to stay with us again. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

    Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

    Stayed here for one night for a hen party in Dublin. Very clean and modern hostel and good value for money. Only complaint was with the shower because the water ran all over the bathroom and everything got wet. Overall a good experience though and...More

    Thank Lucie D
    Response from GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel DublinResponded 18 September 2016

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however I do apologise re: the shower. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations...More

    Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

    My friend and I stayed in an air b&b close to the hostel, but in the end we wished we had stayed at the hostel! We didn't see the rooms or the bathrooms, but the staff received our bag from the airline company and provided...More

    Thank Carol_Betioli
    Response from GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel DublinResponded 18 September 2016

    Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear our staff were helpful during your stay close by. We hope to welcome you to Generator next time. Kind regards Maureen Meegan Operations Manager

    Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

    Currently staying in the generator hostel. The hostel itself is fine, good bar and the food is OK but over priced. I'm staying here for a number of weeks but so far I feel as if the staff couldn't give a toss about me and...More

    Thank Gar W
    Response from GeneratorDublin1, Manager at Generator Hostel DublinResponded 14 September 2016

    Dear Gar, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your current stay. Would you be able to ask for the Duty Manager next time your are passing the Front Desk as we would like to discuss your concerns in person. Kind...More

    Park Inn Dublin
    137 reviews
    #111 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    Maldron Hotel Smithfield
    1,875 reviews
    #53 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    Ashling Hotel
    4,612 reviews
    #13 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    Handels Hotel Temple Bar
    1,229 reviews
    #59 of 150 hotels in Dublin
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Restaurant
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$19 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 106
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Ireland >
    • Province of Leinster >
    • County Dublin >
    • Dublin
    • Also Known As
    • Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (462)
    Room & Suite (191)
    Dining (65)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (416)
    Bathroom (17)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (16)
    Family and Play Areas (10)
    Nearby
    Maldron Hotel Smithfield
    1,875 reviews
    .11 km away
     
    Handels Hotel Temple Bar
    1,229 reviews
    .72 km away
     
    Park Inn Dublin
    137 reviews
    .05 km away
     
    Ashling Hotel
    4,612 reviews
    .85 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    PHX Bistro
    553 reviews
    .28 km away
    The Old Jameson Distillery
    254 reviews
    .07 km away
    Oscars Cafe Bar
    678 reviews
    .05 km away
    My Meat Wagon
    273 reviews
    .06 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Jameson Distillery Bow St
    6,669 reviews
    .06 km away
    St. Michan's Church
    1,085 reviews
    .20 km away
    Smithfield Square
    41 reviews
    .19 km away
    Smithfield Chimney
    9 reviews
    .14 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Navera H
    6 September 2017|
    Answer
    Response from N9247VAkimberlyw | Reviewed this property |
    Not in the room that I stayed in ... I'd double check with the front desk .. there is also a store nearby that may sell a blow dryer .
    0
    Votes
    ellkat54
    1 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Jessika R | Reviewed this property |
    I paid about $50 per night so I would imagine the $141 is for all 3 of you. Try adjusting you settings for 1 person to see what the cost is per person.
    0
    Votes
    14 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Morena L | Reviewed this property |
    i don't know
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    Room Tips
    "Draft from window, ask for a bed not at the window"
    Read review
    "Request a room high up to avoid lobby party noise"
    Read review
    "Higher level floors may be quieter, but further away from communal facilities."
    Read review
    "The room on the ground floor was quieter (unexpectedly, considering the events)"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing