We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Abbott Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbott Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbott Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This is a really terrible guest house! Two guests room had dirty sheets when they checked in. It is a health and safety hazard with bare wires and dirty rooms. It is on a busy street which is a problem as none of the windows close. Some rooms are smelly, and, although this is advertised as a B & B,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
Palm City, Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My lodging experience was more pleasant than prior reviews would have indicated. The help upon check in was wonderful. The room for me as a solo traveler was a little small but fine for me and it was clean. I would definitely stay there again as it is within short walking distance to pubs, restaurants and O'Connell Street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
India
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It was a sad experience. We were given a tiny room n the topmost floor -- the attic. There were 67 steps to climb up. No elevators, no porters. No phone connected to the reception. The showers didn;t work properly. the room itself was -- oh, my God! -- no place to put down your luggage, no cupboard, barely any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manju2013
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Abbott Lodge for five Nights and we really enjoyed it. Everyone was really friendly, the rooms were clean and everything else was perfect. The towels had a weird smell but that doesn't matter. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Piacenza, Italy
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I don't have nothing good to say about the Abbott Lodge. My boyfriend and me stayed there in August and our room had many problems: very small with not much place left around the bed for our luggages; the moquette was completely consumed; no air conditioning which forced us to keep the window open all the time. Unfortunately the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiara_machi
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 170tonik
Kingwood, Texas
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We booked this hotel because it was a featured hotel on Expedia, the photos of the place looked good and the location was within walking distance to O'Connell Street. First the plus: it is within walking distance of the southern end of O'Connell. It has nice high ceilings and is in a Georgian style building. However, the building isn't as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pma03
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear pma03, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We have since changed the location of our luggage area beside our office to...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend staying here. My room had very bad wifi, windows so thin I could hear the street noises as if it was open and the smallest shower I've ever seen. The room itself was tiny too and wasn't cleaned during the day either. I wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eggermont
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mila, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We are working on updating all rooms and en-suites but obviously we cannot do...

Brisbane
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Just no: if you book this place then it can only be because there is nothing left in Dublin. It isn't just because it is bad; it's the almost certain knowledge that the owners are just after a quick buck and really couldn't care less if you complainws or not. We didn't complain of course as there is probably no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClashBrisbane
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ClashBrisbane, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us in Abbott Lodge. As there is a change in management we are currently in the process of a refurbishment...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I was in town for a conference with a colleague. This was the only place work could find to put us that wasnt miles out of town. The rooms were fine but nothing special. The bathroom could do with a refurb but was functional. Service at reception wasnt super. I wouldnt choose to stay here but I hadnt been expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randal C
AdminAbbott, Front Office Manager at Abbott Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Randal C, Thank you staying with us at Abbot Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our establishment and we take all feedback on board. As there is a change in management we are starting a refurbishment of the entire premise. We are working on updating all rooms and en-suites but obviously we cannot...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 153 in Dublin
584 reviews
Durban Residence
#98 of 160 in Dublin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Glen Guesthouse
#102 of 160 in Dublin
339 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 160 in Dublin
611 reviews
Hazelbrook House B&B
#125 of 160 in Dublin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbott Lodge is an excellent example of Georgian craftsmanship and it has been tastefully updated to cater for the needs of the modern traveller. Abbott Lodge's budget accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms, tea and coffee making facilities WiFi, flat screen TVs, personal service and 24/7 reception for your convenience. While we do not provide breakfast a variety of restaurants in the vicinity offer a wide choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbott Lodge

Address: 88 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $87 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbott Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Abbott Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott Lodge Guest House Hotel Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbott Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this whole place”
 of 5 bubbles MissDB, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JerryH123, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles manju2013, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not face the street!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles pma03, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't book any room... just don't... sleep on a bench at the bus station.”
 of 5 bubbles ClashBrisbane, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5