We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#39 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,448: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Canal Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked this hotel for our visit to Dublin for st Patrick's day. We arrived at the hotel at 9 in the morning due to an early flight. Receptionist looked to see if any room was available for an early check in, but there wasn't, which wasn't a problem and they happily put out luggage to one side until later. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla2e
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very kind review and score. It is excellent to read that you enjoyed your stay and St Patrick's Day visit with us. I am delighted that our Reception Team were able to point out some tourist spots for you, I hope that you were able to get to see a good bit of Dublin...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place, friendly staff, excellent rooms. It was a really nice stay. Excellent neighbourhood. The only minus it had - the walls aren't properly soundproof and sometimes i could hear the other guests but it's not a dealbreaker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan R
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you found almost everything to be to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your room as well as finding the staff to be friendly. I am sorry that you did not find the soundproofing to be sufficient, but I am delighted that it didn't...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent hotel in an ideal location for the rugby in Dublin. Great service at reception, very helpful. Great breakfast including cereal, pastries and the traditional full Irish. We've stayed here on a couple of occasions previously and never disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for continuing to choose the Grand Canal Hotel as your base in Dublin when you visit. I am delighted that you find the service and Reception helpful. I very much hope that you continue to visit us and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just perfect, all I would ever want from a hotel! Everything is extra clean, each day they clean rooms and (if you want) change the towels. Staff is very helpful, kind and nice, from receptionists to cleaning staff. Position is perfect and if you have a room that overviews the road you have a nice view too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana P
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Dublin. I am delighted that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to read that you found everyone to be helpful and kind. I very much hope that you are in Dublin again soon and that you return to stay with...

Hangzhou, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think if you have a special reason for choosing the location- e.g. a game or concert- then I guess it is okay, if somewhat overpriced for what it is. The overwhelming impression I had in the corridor was the smell- like a disinfectant in a hospital. I guess others don't notice? For me it was off-putting and I opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitsaysgo
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that the smell in the corridors was not to your personal taste but glad that by opening the window you were able to alleviate the problem. I am delighted that you found the staff to be friendly which is most important when staying away from...

Limerick
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is excellently located for the 3Arena and a pleasant walk when the weather permits. All of the staff that we encountered during our short stay were professional and friendly. Our room was clean and well presented. The Lavazza coffee machine in the room was a great addition as was the complimentary bottled water. Finally, one of the comfiest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LimerickCrazyMama
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Canal Hotel and for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you found all of the staff to be professional and friendly and that you liked our rooms and amenities especially the comfortable bed. I very much hope that you will be back to stay...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in an ideal location for a show in the bord gais theatre. Rooms are clean and tidy, staff are very helpful and also food is great in the hotel and bar. Great selection of different beers in the bar which has a great atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan t
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Grand Canal Hotel for your overnight stay when you went to the theatre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. Gasworks Bar is a craft bar managed by Galway Bay Brewery so most people are bound to find a beer perfect for them. Thank you for...

Flintshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although situated on a busy road, this hotel is surprisingly quiet. It's in an ideal location for the sports stadia as well as being a short distance from the city centre. I did not use the bar so can not comment on that, but the staff are generally happy to help with any needs. I've stayed here twice before and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomgog
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted that you chose to stay with us again when you returned to Dublin. Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be quiet. As you mentioned we are very close to the Aviva Stadium...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ideal place to stay if you are attending a show in the Bord Gais theatre or the Aviva Stadium. I cannot compliment the staff enough in the hotel as they couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay. We ate from Canal Express both nights of our stay and the food was so tasty and very well presented. The next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your very nice review and excellent score. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and that you found the experience to be so good. I hope that you will be back again very soon. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Kind Regards Donna Curry

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, smart, comfortable great for a weekend stay. This hotel is a 2 minute walk from the dart. Didn't have anything to eat as there were many restaurants around. Making it the perfect location. Will say though they charge €5 for room service (including empty wine glasses), but you can just go down and save €5.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alishia E
GCHDublin, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Canal Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the local restaurants that you visited. I hope that you will be back to visit with us again soon. Kind Regards Donna Curry

693 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
1,215 reviews
4.0 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,744 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
1,983 reviews
0.8 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
405 reviews
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $146 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms that look at the road were not loud at all and they have a pretty view”
 of 5 bubbles 416janap, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room high up and away from the main road. But generally speaking the road noise is not intrusive whichever room you have.”
 of 5 bubbles 626philipa, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No noise on third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 948sheilab, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors recommended”
 of 5 bubbles fionnualadolan, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 535alisonb, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5