We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Canal Hotel

Show Prices
#38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Canal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,467: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A nice comfortable Hotel with a good range of facilities and friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet.We chose the location because we were exploring the Dublin canals and docks, so, perfect for that. The proximity of the Aviva stadium would interest Rugby fans and I would love to return early next year to See Ireland play England! I thought the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuncanDobi
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for the posting and hope you will get the opportunity to return for the rugby - the stadium is just a few minutes walk away. Many thanks

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is your average, good hotel... Nothing brilliant but clean comfortable beds,reasonably spacious ... Ok restaurant and buffet breakfast, walking distance for most things....nothing "special" but reasonable value for a large city...been to a lot worse & paid a lot more.... Not a lot of "personality" tho .... Staff are perfunctory and could do with some extra hospitality training.... They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonny51
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments. Our team are normally well known for their friendly and helpful manner and I am sorry that you did not experience this. Thanks again for the comments. Kind regards

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is a good enough hotel although it's pretty much like all the others. We had an executive room and I expected something a bit better than the standard of the Maldrons or Cassidy's. Our room was fine but really nothing special since it was £140 for one night. The room was very quiet and the breakfasts were great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curlykale3
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The location is great being only a 15 minute walk to Grafton Street and less than 10 to the Grand Canal Dock area. Do watch our website www.grandcanalhotel.com for best available rates on a night. Many thanks again and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Canal Hotel with our baby for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The room was nice and quiet thanks to the 2 double glazing windows! However on Saturday night we could hear the music from the bar until 2AM even though we were on the third floor. I don't get why...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elmadav
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for the comments and glad you all enjoyed your stay. We would have to agree The Grand Canal Dock area is lovely during the summer and is only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The Bord Gais Energy theatre is there along with some great restaurants and bars. Well worth checking out. The music in the bar...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights when visited Dublin for a business. It was the best of all 3 stars hotels in Dublin I stayed before but still...Room was generally clean and quiet but the heavy lime scale in the bath was disgusting. That should not happen in 3 stars hotel. Also the curtains were broken, half part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marian244
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the standards in your room were not to our normal standards. These issues will be monitored more closely and thank you again fro taking the time to provide your feedback. Kind regards

UK
Reviewed 27 August 2014

we pick this hotel cuz we need 1 close 2 O2arena and really like it :) Rooms are good size with nice bathroom - we had double bed room. The only thing u maybe dont like here u have to walk about 30-40mins to get into city centre but we were lucky with weather . I would come back we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimi I
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are located about a 15 walk from Grafton Street and Temple Bar. For other areas of the city the Grand Canal Dock DART station is only 2 minutes away or for those who are feeling energetic there is a Dublin bike station beside us, which is a great...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My main complaint with the Grand Canal hotel was the noise level at night. I was booked in for a Saturday night. I had just gotten in from an overnight flight and was exhausted. Unfortunately, I was on the second floor, which is apparently over their 'bar'. I use this term loosely because this, in my opinion was a club,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Audrey K
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by the noise from the bar and that we were not able to resolve the issue for you on the night. It is not normally the case that the bar operations would disrupt the guests in the rooms. Our apologises again. Kind regards

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel during three nights, and I must confess that i was very happy during those days. However there are many things you should consider: 1. If you're looking to be in the downtown, close to temple bar and the thousand of pubs in that area, then this is not the hotel you should look for, 2....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emaxil
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your posting and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get the opportunity to visit again soon. Kind regards Sheila

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful reception’s staff. They have own bus transfer from/to the airport which is great, just look around for a green bus with yellow-orange inscription on: Paddywagon. The hotel is with wonderful location, quite area, maybe a little bit noisy if your room is in front and window is open, but is ok, comfortable beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monicfm
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the posting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in Dublin. Hope you get the chance to return again soon. Kind regards

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for an evening with special rate of €80 room only for twin room. Room was lovely a spacious and the desk was great to work from. Beds were comfy and hotel was very clean & quiet. Maybe I was just lucky that I was at a quiet side. Staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DubSte75
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will get an opportunity to stay again soon. Kind regards

678 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.9 km away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
1,787 reviews
2.7 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4,354 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.8 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
431 reviews
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $158 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Canal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were at the end of the hallway on the 2nd floor and it was perfectly quiet but a lousy view out of the window.”
U3857DUmaryc, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms worth the extra, ask for a balcony”
  • Room/balcony
USAIndytravels, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 3rd floor was quite, warm, windows open for fresh air, has an elevator and private bat; able to charge our iPads and cell phones.”
18272016, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that look at the road were not loud at all and they have a pretty view”
416janap, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room high up and away from the main road. But generally speaking the road noise is not intrusive whichever room you have.”
626philipa, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5