We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Show Prices
#50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,192: English reviews
Start your review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
 Click to rate
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and booked a Junior Suite. The initial impressions were not great and while the room was comfortable and well equipped it was very stark and lacking in atmosphere and looked out over the back of the hotel. The bedroom was like an office with a bed in it.....bare walls without any prints or paintings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek C, Thank you for your feedback.I am glad that the room was comfortable and that it was fully equipped to your liking. On reading the rest of your review I was disappointed that you encountered issues during your stay to which I am sincerely sorry to hear. We strive to ensure that each and every one of our...

A TripAdvisor Member
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Samela at the bar is an amazing guy. Lovely experience. Good selection of regular and craft beers on tap, looks heavy on whiskey and gin too. Personally wouldn't know but looks well stocked Main attraction is Samela, great server, thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for your kind review.I was delighted to read that one of our team members gave you great service at our bar. I must agree that we have many types of craft beers and fully stocked bar to ensure our guests enjoy the atmosphere here at our magic glasses bar. Hope to see you on your...

County Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel in a great location. Rooms are adequate and I do don't eat there, do can't comment. Surprised that the front desk personnel did not know landmark places on the other side of St Stephens green and other that advise one to use google maps they could not add any local colour. Great location makes up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meryl_like
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meryl_like, Thank you for your kind review.It is great to recieve feedback to ensure we keep our standards high at all times. I can agree that our hotel is in a great location and just minutes walk to all major attractions.I was disappointed to read that you felt that our front desk team seemed unsure about local landmarks when...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here beginning of March. Check in was smooth and we were given a king room. The room was big and spacious, plenty of wardrobe/cupboard space, comfy big bed, lovely bathroom with a powerful shower. Tea/coffee making facilities and a safe. The reason I am writing this review though is because of the fantastic staff. I was unfortunate enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonChills
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LondonChilld, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.I was absolutely delighted to read that we were able to look after you during your stay at O'Callaghan Stephens green and hope that you are feeling much better now. We strive to ensure we personally look after each and every one of our guests during their...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I stayed for only one night, I was treated like a queen from the start! My room was clean, spacious and with all mod cons. Dinner was superb. I had the seafood option which was OUT OF THIS WORLD. Breakfast the next morning was just as good. Apart from the buffet - with loads of fresh products - they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petra499
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Petra499, Thank you for your wonderful review.It is always great to receive such amazing feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the food was to your liking.I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our chef. We always aim to ensure our guests are looked after very well and on...

Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bar staff excellent. 8 of us arrived back after midnight but opened the bar for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Had problem with shower one morning so phoned reception and within 10 minutes somebody came up and fixed it, and next day he asked us was everything still ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorkies1234
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorkies1234, Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us at O'Callaghan Stephens green for your visit to Dublin. I am delighted that everything was to your liking and that you had such an enjoyable time. I am pleased to know that our front office team responded quickly to all of your requests. looking forward...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Meet a friend for lunch today and had my two year old toddler with me decided to have lunch in here. Menu choice to start with was awful I should have left then but gave it the benefit of doubt. Asked for a baby bowl and then baby back ribs and fries for my friend and I. Waiter came back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindah26
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindah26, Thank you for letting us know about your experience. I regret to see that you were let down with your overall experience and all the inconvenience you have encountered. We do strive to provide the best possible experience to our internal and external guests. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make your experience better....

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was busy as there was a six nations rugby match that weekend, which may have also pushed the prices up. Our room in this pleasant hotel was in the rear extension of the property, whilst there wasn't a view from the widow (except onto other rooms), it was very quiet as it was away from the main roads...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia K
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tricia, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at O'Callaghan Stephens green, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. i have to agree that our hotel is located right in the heart of Dublin city and walking distance to all attractions. i will take your feedback about lighting in the room and speak to our maintenance team to...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for two nights recently for a business trip, which I actually had in the hotel. I loved the library room and the abbey room, very specious and I liked the fact there was natural daylight which you don't get too often in Dublin City hotels. My booking was very last minute due to an over booking in another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveB2019
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daveB2019, Thank you for your glowing review, it is fantastic to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that our team were able to help make this business trip memorable. Thank you for also mentioning Andre and Ashling,i will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Looking forward to welcoming you back to O'Callaghan...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good points. Great front desk staff. Excellent breakfast with attentive service Sixth floor room decent size. Great location. Bad points. Hotel maintenance is an issue. The room had broken light fitting, poorly repaired towel rail and mirror wall fixings in the bathroom, chipped paint/ veneer on woodwork. Tap on sink would only deliver scolding hot water. Issues reported to front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sean m
damiendaly, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean m, Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us at O'Callaghan Stephens green for your visit to Dublin. I am delighted to read that the front office team looked after you and delighted that you enjoyed our freshly made breakfast. i was disappointed to read that you had a few maintenance issues during...

825 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (585)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Classic King Room Accessible (67)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (70)
Viewed
Classic Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1500 (85)
Viewed
Junior Suite #1526 (58)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
2,198 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,357 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: $182 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for the breakfast well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles yorkies1234, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Six floor quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 573seanm, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid street facing as it's noisy outside”
 of 5 bubbles 833neilt, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel have a great view across Dublin”
 of 5 bubbles 244vickyo, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for floors higher up as there is quite a lot of noise from outside at a busy weekend”
 of 5 bubbles Acciano, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5