We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barnacles Hostel Galway

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barnacles Hostel Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Start your review of Barnacles Hostel Galway
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staying here could not have been better. Location, cleanliness, staff, value, rooms, and kitchen were all perfect. I really enjoyed my stay here and will be back for sure. I've stayed in many hostels and this one definitely stood out!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

12 bed dorm was fine! Plenty of space! Brekkie was toast, pancakes and coffee, a lot better than other hostels! The staff were great, Séan and Shane I had great craic chatting to, seemed to know them all my life haha! One staff member (New Zealand guy) really made my trip special which I didn't realise at the time. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kierantinyh10
Weggis
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is amazing. Staff is funny, very good organized and helpful! The housekeeping was in the room both mornings, but didn't fill up toilet paper. All in all we had a really good stay. Definitely recommend it! :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 156ilona
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location, in the heart of the city, near to many restaurants and pubs (gets a bit noisier becuase of that, but nothing major). Very helpful staff and big and comfortable rooms with separated toilets and bathrooms. Breakfast is very simple but it's free. Good wifi.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucasF8172NX
28411
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were great and the staff was greater! I liked that the rooms were en-suite. The guy with the music tattoo was amazing and super helpful during check-in, and he told us the best things to do while in Galway. Shane was also very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 607heathera
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best-located hostel in beautiful Galway. Yes, rooms could be bigger. Yes, breakfast could have more variety. But this is a hostel in the end. Staff members are incredibly kind and helpful. We were travelling in a group aged 9 to 65 and we all felt so well staying there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exitidiomes
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good location, comfortable and clean, it's quiet even if we are in the main street to party. Maybe not enough showers and toilets we you are traveling with a group. The breakfast is a bit too light.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clastier
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The night security guard called to our room once, at 1am and asked us to turn off the music, at which stage we did. We thought this would be fine but didn't receive our 180 deposit back because of this singular incident. Absolute joke. For anyone under the age of 30 planning a trip with friends definitely try avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kieran C
Lidija R, Guest Relations Manager at Barnacles Hostel Galway, responded to this review

Dear Kieran C Barnacles receives 62% of its business from guests ages 18 – 24. To say anyone who’s under 30 should avoid this hostel is unfair. I see from your other Tripadvisor review, that you experienced a similar situation in the Mardi Gras Hotel, where you were charged a fee on checkout. You seem to misunderstand why you were...

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Anyone can manage a football team when they're winning - or so the saying goes, it’s when the results go against you that you are truly tested. It's equally true in business - everyone is a great manager, until things go wrong. Only when the proverbial hits the fan do your systems and your staff get tested, only after sailing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the heart of Quay Street where you could literally spit and hit a pub or restaurant. The stay was clean and staff very friendly. Great walking distance to Salthill (highly recommend) and to all of the Galway historical attractions too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y2243LAbrianw

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,700 reviews
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,647 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
836 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Address: Quay Street House 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $36 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barnacles Hostel Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street facing room was a bit noisy but I'm sure they have non street view.”
holidaymae, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The top floor is a lot quieter than the others”
FeistyOFlahula, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i stayed at the back which is away from street”
katemA5672OI, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All floors are very cramped and creaky - Plan on spending most of your time outside!!”
729marissag, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book the apartment behind the hostel. Expect nightlife noise on the weekends.”
angelabZ8599XQ, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5