We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Connacht Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,277: English reviews
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Went here for a girlie weekend, location, food and staff were all great. Spent Saturday in the pool, jacuzzi and having reflexology. Great facilities! The hotel also offers a Childrens club with a room that has a pool and air hocket tables, movies etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina m
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Team at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank for giving us your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to us...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 30 January 2016

I have stayed in the Connacht hotel many times over the past few years. The location is perfect for my needs when I need to stay in Galway. Their rates are very reasonable, the rooms are always very clean and comfortable. The food is always very nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HeritageRocks
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aileen, On behalf of the Team here we wish to thank you for your lovely feedback. We very much appreciate your very positive comments and are always delighted that you come and stay with us and that you always enjoy your visits. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and we very much look forward to having the...

County Offaly, Ireland
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and i always stay in this hotel and we're never dissapointed , everyone is nice rooms are lovely, we stayed in one of the apartments 16th of january we loved it, so well layed out. didnt have food in the hotel this time but we usually do and always nice, we're returning again for valentines cant wait! 😊...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aleavy
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a lovely title to your review, it is very kind of you to say this and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience by posting your review and for your very positive comments. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you both back to us again for...

Co. Kildare
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We've been coming to The Connacht Hotel for a couple of years now and it remains our favourite Galway hotel. Its modern, comfortable and the staff are very friendly. Its also just a short 5 minute drive into the city center which is perfect for us. We used the leisure centre once and found it dirty so that would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen O
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the Team here we wish to thank you for your feedback. We very much appreciate your very positive comments but we were very sorry to read that you have only visited our Leisure Club once due to the reason you described in your review. I wish to assure you that this would certainly not be...

clearwater florida
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The hotel was in a great location just outside the city. They also have a good restaurant & bar with live music. They were playing country music that night but were so nice & dedicated the song Galway Girls to me & my daughter. If you need public transportation you are close to two bus stops & of course taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jcandgc
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your visit to our Hotel and we very much appreciate that you took the time to post your review/ It is always great to hear from our Guests and especially when you read about the little things that make a visit so special, like the band playing " Galway...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Held a family event in the Connacht Hotel and it was a success. The food, presentation, service, table arrangements, etc were all great. This hotel is very family friendly.The Conferencing Co-ordinator was very obliging throughout the organisation of this event. All other relevant staff were hospitable. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the day. Would highly recommend and hold another family event here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CPAT33
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was our great pleasure to look after you and your family for your special occasion and we are delighted that everyone enjoyed the night. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience by posting your review and for your very positive feedback on so many aspects of the hotel. We hope that we...

Redcross Village
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend Have to say looks a little bit dated Corridors stunk of damp and if you did not take the old lift the smell of cigarettes was shocking on stair way Some staff were lovely some could do with a bit of training Rooms were adequate clean bed comfortable Food was excellent Had advertising up showing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. It was very disappointing to read that you would not return to us for the reasons you have outlined in your review. We have been more that happy to speak with you in person prior to your departure, regarding your dissatisfaction, as we...

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Hotel was lovely ideally located with free parking ,very modern rooms except for bathrooms within the room but ud get over that as it was clean and well kept ,food was good except for vegetable soup we got was tasteless but everything else was lovely staff around hotel and restaurant lovely and welcoming would definately stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and in particular that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. I am very sorry to read that you found our Vegetable...

westmeath
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Went to the Connacht Hotel with my hubby and two children.we have stayed in nearly all of Galway hotels at this stage.this hotel is a brilliant hotel for families. We visited over the Christmas period.the room we had family room which was two double beds in room. Now we were offered a room with two single fold up beds plus...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank blondiechanel
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting your review. We were delighted that you and your family enjoyed your last visit to us over Christmas. So glad to read that the room with the Two Double beds met your families accommodation needs. We really appreciate your very kind words regarding the friendliness of our Team here at the Connacht...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We are a young couple and spent three nights here for New Years. The facilities were the highlight - excellent gym & pool. Other than that, it was a fairly average hotel. The hotel is a bit awkward to get around and lacks character. The staff were okay. The breakfast dishes were dirty each morning, but the breakfast selction itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liam B
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. It was disappointing to read that you found that our Hotel did not suit your particular needs as a couple during your stay over New Year. We are very lucky to attractive a very wide variety of Guests to our Hotel, from Active...

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,649 reviews
2.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
818 reviews
5.7 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
224 reviews
1.8 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $109 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“B-wing room 3079 faces the soccer field out back and is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SmokeyBlueTulle, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked a back garden grassy area that was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Frozenrose, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Block D near the pool if you intend to use the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Bawn00, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Simply ask reception staff for type of room, as they aim to please.”
 of 5 bubbles idehussey, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“jsut book at the connacht and they will do the rest”
 of 5 bubbles stevewalker2017, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5