We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Connacht Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Hotel room was fairly big, nice bathroom. Its decorate in 1970s so needs an update badly but it is clean and reasonable. Not too far from city center but you need a taxi. Budget hotel. Don't eat the pizza, everyone who ate it was sick the next day.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zsazsazoomzoom
Celbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed in this hotel in June but had a few issues especially with the room allocation. It was near a lift which was a flashpoint from 2am-5am on a Saturday night with hens and stags and got very little sleep. I made a complaint to the duty manager in the morning and within a couple of days, got an...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sweeney c
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience fby writing your review. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your last stay with us and we appreciate your very positive feedback. It is also very positive that you have noticed many improvements in our service since your previous visit. We hope...

Achill Island, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Stayed weekend 16th to 18th October in Family / Self catering apartment . The apartment was clean but is a bit dated . The Television set was faulty and kept turning on and off and in this day and age a flatscreen set in room would be the least you would expect . The shower in bathroom was very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickmurray
County Clare, Ireland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

An excellent hotel,the rooms were very modern and spacious.an extremly comfortable bed with a nice view. staff were very friendly.the bar area was very comfortable and cosy.the breakfast the next morning was fantastic with a wide range on offer.great gym facilities too.one minor complaint was the shower,i think a shower unit instead of a bath with shower curtin would be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 19warrior81
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for writing your review and for such a glowing recommendation of the Hotel. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming...

Reviewed 16 October 2015

The front desk staff were accommodating despite some very busy rushes when tours arrive. The only drawback was that our room was not ready until about an hour and a half after check-in time, which was disappointing after a long trip. The rest of our stay was great, and we enjoyed the lively pub, the nice breakfast buffet and the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AMCTheJetSetter
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review. We were very sorry to read that your room took longer than anticpated to be cleaned. While our check in time is from 3.30pm, we cannot guarantee that all our rooms will be back...

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I recently stayed in this hotel with 2 of my girlfriends. We could not fault the hotel in the slightest, it was our 1st visit to the grand old Galway and it was brilliant special thanks to the hotel. The reception staff were superb and very accommodating throughout the weekend, from plasters to irons (yes iron, my mom would be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Eimer M
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by posting your review. We very much appreciate your very positive feedback and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Connacht Hotel. Kindest...

Reviewed 14 October 2015

This is a large hotel with many rooms and its easy to get lost. It is definitely a kid friendly hotel. Their restaurant is wonderful and you will see families with kids everywhere. My biggest complaint is that the Conacht hotel was very noisy, with poor door insulation. We heard doors slamming very loudly all night and people talking and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyagushka123
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Stayed here last weekend and would return. I was with two young children so the hotel is perfect - spacious lobby to relax in, kids room and great big pool. We were staying in a suite in the C wing which was good value. Your room is also one interior hallway away from the exterior corridor which is good as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank seevee0206
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback. We hope to have...

Donegal
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

WOW....what a great hotel. Stayed here this passed weekend with a large family group of ladies. Had a wonderful time. If you want to have top class customer service then this is the hotel for you, each and every member of staff had a smile on their face and a willingness to fufill every request.(many of our group had allergies)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CaroGgDonegal
mlrite46, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by posting your review. It was wonderful to read that you were all so happy with our service and we were delighted to be part of such an important and special celebration. We very much appreciate your very positive feedback and we were delighted to share...

Eureka, California
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed here two nights in September because we wanted a place close to Galway. We left our rental car at the hotel and took a bus (the stop is very close to the Connacht Hotel) which brought us to Eyre Park (end of line in the city center) in about 15 minutes.The front desk staff @ the Connacht Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil T

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.5 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,812 reviews
5.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,689 reviews
1.8 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
832 reviews
2.0 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $112 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Connacht Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“B-wing room 3079 faces the soccer field out back and is quiet”
SmokeyBlueTulle, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked a back garden grassy area that was nice and quiet”
Frozenrose, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Block D near the pool if you intend to use the facilities.”
Bawn00, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Simply ask reception staff for type of room, as they aim to please.”
idehussey, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“jsut book at the connacht and they will do the rest”
stevewalker2017, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5