We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Ardawn House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ardawn House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in Ireland. Our hosts were extremely cordial and they will go out of their way to help out with travel plans or anything else that makes your stay more comfortable. The house was as neat and clean as can be and well located.. It was an easy walk to town. The breakfasts... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Excellent accommodations with generous hosts and a very good Irish Breakfast. Very convenient to City Center. Comfortable room with plenty of space. They were able to accommodate us last minute and were the only place the Tourist Center downtown would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Tim, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have pointed out the fact that we are indeed one of the few ,if not, the only premises on College Road that the Tourist Center recommend. Thank you for staying with us. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The location is a bit out on edge of town and not as convenient as we would have liked. The B&B is great with nice rooms and breakfasts and parking. The town is great for sightseeing and for driving to just about all great destinations in the area. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Owen E
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Delighted you found our place so good as a base for touring the area. Thank you again for selecting our place to stay. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed with Breda and Mike for 3 nights and we just felt home. We booked two family rooms, each one with double bed for the parents and two single beds (we were 4 adults and 4 children). Breda and Mike immediately make you feel at home. Everything is lovely and the rooms are spacious, clean and with great matresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank elka132
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. If you are ever back in Galway you would be very welcome. Thank you for staying with us. You were a pleasure to have in our house. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Galway and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ardawn House. The rooms were impeccably clean and nicely updated. The hosts were gracious and gave outstanding recommendations for dinner spots and good walks. I enjoyed discussing the upcoming hurling championships with the host Mike (Go Tipp!)

Helpful?
Thank ablackwell22
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Adam and Jessie, Thank you for your kind review. I know you enjoyed the game.The best team won. I hope the rest of your trip went according to plan. Thank you for staying with us. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The place is very clean the staff and owners are very friendly we were in room number 4 and I'm a bigger man and we had a lot of luggage we told them we found the room small and they changed us when they could. Something I found disappointing is that with booking.com your breakfast is not included so it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michel P
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Booking directly with us will always get you a better deal. We were delighted to change your room when you brought your concerns to our attention. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We booked a night a month before and arrived a little after 2pm, their advertised checkin time is from 2pm and later. The front door was locked, so rang the bell and knocked. Tried calling- no answer. Tried texting- no reply. Frustrating! Waited for 20 minutes in car. Rang the bell again- Finally a woman, the housekeeper? let us in.... More 

Helpful?
Thank vengie
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not hearing you ringing the doorbell. This I assure you was a one off. We apologized at the time. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

At all costs avoid room3! We booked a double room and were disappointed to find a cramped space and a 3/4 bed! No doubt an anorexic honeymoon couple would have been delighted, but as a middle-aged couple ( with middle-age spread) we found every night a major shunting exercise!! However, the breakfast was lovely, the staff friendly, and the location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a pity you did not highlight your concern about the bed while you were here. We would probably have been able to offer you an alternative room. It is always better to highlight problems immediately, we have a chance to do something about it when you are with us. We are glad you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

No service. Intrusive landlady. Common household. Stayed the night for the pretentious stars advertized. Very disappointing. Not worth more than 2star standards. If you want a very ordinary b&b experience with nothing special and high price, go ahead.

Helpful?
1 Thank LotM33
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Sorry you feel this way. We have no idea who you are, when you stayed or in fact if you stayed. We have no context for your attack. If you did in fact stay and brought any of the issues you experienced to our attention we would have been able to deal with it. Your feedback is not specific and... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We traveled all around Ireland and stayed at the Ardawn House in Galway for 2 nights. We had a great stay and the main reason was because of the people. The owners were by far the nicest people we met in Ireland (and that's saying a lot because all the people we met in Ireland were amazing!). They were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey H
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that we played a part in your enjoyment of our house, our town and our country. Thank you for noticing our attention to detail. Your feedback is important to us. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,513 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,480 reviews
0.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 197 in Galway
500 reviews
0.1 km away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#9 of 197 in Galway
433 reviews
1.9 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#6 of 197 in Galway
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Address: Ardawn 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $166 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardawn House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardawn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice B&B and good breakfasts”
 of 5 bubbles 849owene, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to see the track, stay on the second floor. The third floor had that option.”
 of 5 bubbles siblingtravelers2016, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the back side of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Candace5, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I believe all are great1”
 of 5 bubbles katherines114, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Try a downtown hotel”
 of 5 bubbles johnwL2764HS, 17 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay