We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Ardawn House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ardawn House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardawn House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Mike and Breda were the best hosts and after a 2 night stay I felt like family. The rooms were very comfortable and clean.. Cooked to order breakfasts were delicious. Mike and Breda spent time with the guests, gave great advise and suggestions and were simply fantastic hosts. I'd stay with them again..

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn728
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Your review means a lot to us. We really appreciate that you enjoyed our place. Thank you for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Great location, 10 minute walk to everything. Family-friendly room with 3 beds and ensuite bathroom. Clean and comfortable. What really made it stand out were the hosts. Mike and Breda were friendly, helpful, and wonderful cooks. My daughter was thrilled when she ordered a boiled egg and got this! (see photo)

Helpful?
Thank AllisonQC
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Allison Thank you for your very kind review. You and your family were a pleasure to have inour home. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

This is the first B & B I've stayed at that charges for breakfast. They should have been more up front about this charge, such as by putting the per person price (I think it was about $12) on the menu. We were surprised at the extra expense upon checkout and wouldn't have felt obligated to eat there had we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Jennifer You booked through Bookings.com. Our offering on bookings.com is a room only rate with the option of breakfast at a cost of Euro 9.50. Reflecting your oversight in our review is unfair. The other issue you have highlighted was not brought to our attention so we were unable to address it. Regards Mike and Breda More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2016

our hosts Mike and Breda really made our stay memorable. Breda gave great ideas for walks in area that I wouldn't have know on my own with history of area as well. The breakfasts are large and made to order. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Ardawn House is an easy walk to town so we were able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SpringChickenNot
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Folks, Thank you or your very kind review. We were glad to help make your stay in Galway both enjoyable and memorable. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed in a triple, and the room was comfortable and clean. The location was within walking distance of downtown Galway but not too close to traffic. Breda and Mike were very friendly and offered ideas of things to do and see while in Galway. The breakfast was wonderful. We'd definitely stay here if we came back again.

Helpful?
Thank goonholiday2016
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Location was everything here, and this B&B puts you right there, yet far away enough to not be an issue. Traffic (at times) could make it difficult to turn left out of the parking lot, and parking, well. Challenge accepted the second day. The first day, I just handed Mike the rental car keys and he parked it. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank shawnsusanbrown
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Shaun Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted you, Susan and Jordan enjoyed our hospitality. You were all a pleasure to have in our place. Thank you for staying with us. Keep safe. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Mike and Breda are wonder hosts at their B&B. My husband, three kids (12,10,8) and mother stayed there for two nights. We stayed in two rooms. Both were very clean. The breakfast was wonderful and the hosts make you feel right at home. They are very helpful with local recommendations also.

Helpful?
Thank laurie k
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We remember you and your family with fondness. Hopefully the rest of your holiday went well. Regards Mike and Breda More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The Ardawn House is cozy, clean, and perfectly located! The breakfast was great. Breda and Mike are wonderful hosts. Our group (6 adults and 2 kids) had 3 rooms on the top floor. I would definitely stay there again!!

Helpful?
Thank alisonbob
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You would definitely be very welcome back. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

My Mom, Sister and I stayed here two nights, and couldn't ask for anything better. Clean, safe room. Short walk to all of the action. What I really like about this B&B compared to others I have stayed in, is they don't have paper-thin walls, you can't hear everything going on around the house. Mike was very friendly and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank petiteoiseau88
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. You were all a pleasure to have in our house. Regards to your Mum and sister. Mike and Breda More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Ardawn house is a gorgeous bnb run by truly lovely people, with a welcoming, happy atmosphere. If you are looking for a homely, friendly place to stay, with brilliant service and great facilities, this is the place! The beds are soft and luxurious- the comfiest i've ever slept in, and the complimentary breakfast is delicious. The Bnb is about a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rubyrad
Guilfoyles H, Owner at Ardawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It means a lot to us when people go to the trouble of giving us a review. Your eloquent review is greatly appreciated. Kindest regards Mike and Breda More 

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,513 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,480 reviews
0.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 47 in Galway
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 197 in Galway
500 reviews
0.1 km away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#9 of 197 in Galway
433 reviews
1.9 km away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#6 of 197 in Galway
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Address: Ardawn 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $166 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardawn House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardawn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice B&B and good breakfasts”
 of 5 bubbles 849owene, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to see the track, stay on the second floor. The third floor had that option.”
 of 5 bubbles siblingtravelers2016, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the back side of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Candace5, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I believe all are great1”
 of 5 bubbles katherines114, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Try a downtown hotel”
 of 5 bubbles johnwL2764HS, 17 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay