We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Show Prices
#15 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,487: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner and had a brilliant time. The hotel is lovely, staff are very friendly, is in a good location and has free parking (got stung in Dublin extra £20 per night). Went to the thermal suite both days and it was absolutely amazing. I have never felt as chilled out as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JourneyBhoy
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were so pleased to read that you had a brilliant time with us in the g. Our team were delighted to be mentioned in your review and we were all pleased to read that you found time to visit our thermal suite in ESPA at the g. Your wonderful comments about our bedrooms, creative menu offerings and...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a girlie weekend away and it was very enjoyable. I loved the design of the hotel and unlike some of the other reviewers I thought it has a nice atmosphere. I couldn't get over how quiet it is at night and early morning which makes for a great sleep quality. The room was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LunanGirl
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to spend a weekend at the g with your friends. We were delighted to read that you loved the design of the hotel as well as its unique atmosphere. We have shared your kind comments about our bedrooms, menu offerings in Restaurant Gigi’s and our Spa with all. We hope that you will stay...

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a stay at the g hotel with friends. Positives were the design, the rooms and the spa. Negatives were the poor atmosphere in the bar, the very very slow service at dinner and the overall feel of a well designed 4 star hotel rather than a true 5 star hotel. The hotel definitely has potential. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank W_TMV
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel as well as our beautifully appointed bedrooms and Espa at the g. Naturally, we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience in our Signature Lounges. We have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, David, for him to look...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Back for another wonderful stay in the G. Staff welcoming but unobtrusive and added a lovely personal touch of sending up personalised desert plates for my children. Without a doubt the classiest and most luxurious place to stay in Galway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frances579
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for returning to stay with us at the g. We were so pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and that the team made your stay extra special and personable. We are all looking forward to your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it as...

Waimea, Hawaii
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lake view room that was spacious, modern and clean. Beds comfy, crisp clean linens and soft pillows. In room bar fridge, lots of storage, deep bath tub and walk in shower, turndown service at night. The modern air conditioning was a treat, many of the older hotels do not have AC and June was warm and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StacyFromHawaii
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were pleased to read you enjoyed our modern and spacious bedrooms. We have shared your kind words about our linens, amazing bathrooms and of course our arrival cupcakes with the entire team. Our breakfast offering in Restaurant Gigi’s is a great way to start the day. We have just added some new specials to our ESPA packages...

Sinsheim, Germany
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fodors writes: "G" is for glamour—or good grief (depending on your taste)— after our stay at this gem of a hotel we will join the glamour side and add great and gorgious to the list of words that start with g when we describe this hotel. If you are looking for a truly unique hotel, lovingly designed this is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirkesgaard
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us at the g. We were delighted to read you had such a fantastic stay and that you got to experience the true meaning of the g. Our Philip Treacy designed hotel is so special to us all and it was very rewarding to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Out of all the hotels I have stayed in Galway, this is the worst for service and definitely the most unfriendly. The ONLY person who walked around with a smile on his face was the Irish restaurant manager at breakfast. We arrived and only stayed on a Saturday night and the place was full of 'hens' so perhaps our experience...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma W
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were genuinely upset to read that you were disappointed with the level of service you received in the hotel. From reading other reviews on Trip Advisor you will see that our team receive enormous praise for their warmth and friendliness. We really wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention whilst you were staying with...

Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the G hotel on Saturday and Sunday night past. We arrived at the hotel by car and we were told to go to the front of the hotel to avail of the valet parking which was included in our deal, it all went very smoothly and our bags were taken to our room. Check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eileen C
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the g. We were delighted to read how well our team looked after you and how they ensured that everything was perfect right from the beginning. We are constantly updating the special offers section of our website so please keep an eye out as we will have an autumn...

Jamison
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is really modern and unique. The food is very good and the bed is heavenly. The location is a little tough because it's in a mall setting but you can certainly enter from the rear of the hotel to avoid the traffic. It's a very convenient location, there's a nice restaurant across the way if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our unique hotel. We have shared your lovely feedback regarding our beds, location and design with all. The hotel is situated in the Wellpark Retail complex and we are a five minute drive to the city centre. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to...

Navan, Ireland
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in The G for 3 nights in late May. I cannot fault this hotel in any way. We payed €300 for 3 nights with breakfast each morning for the two of us, which was such a great deal. I know sometimes the rooms are abit on the expensive side but they do have special offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara T
The g Hotel G, Manager at the g Hotel & Spa Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us for three nights in May. We were delighted to read that you could not fault the hotel and that our team took such good care of you. Our breakfast offering, arrival cupcakes and our dedicated Concierge team receive constant praise and we have shared your kind words with all. Please accept our...

989 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (679)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (310)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,601 reviews
8.7 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
2,809 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
1,330 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $232 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#7 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#14 Family Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from the g Hotel & Spa Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facin Lough Atalia are the best”
 of 5 bubbles DaraK_12, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise when there is an event going on.”
 of 5 bubbles amcb1973, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front on 2nd floor and up for views over Galway bay”
  • Good size room on 1st floor
  • In room seating area
  • Well fitted bathroom
 of 5 bubbles mikebO4938WK, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking Galway Bay have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles linmartin, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the food in particular was very good for the price , we didnt stay in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dylanman58, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5