We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Booking.comUS$109*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,154: English reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Spent a night here on a recent trip to Ireland. Well priced and located hotel in Galway. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean and in good order with everything that was required. Overall pleased and would recommend for future visits.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nzstephanie
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, It is always nice to hear feedback from our guests. I was delighted to read that your experience of our staff was so positive and i have passed on your comments to our team. We look forward to seeing you at the Pillo again soon

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Close to Galway City and has a shopping centre on the doorstep with everything you need. Friendly, helpful staff both at reception and in the bar. Good selection of bar food and it was reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine S
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us, it is always nice to hear positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you at the Pillo again soon

Belfast
Reviewed 26 October 2014

i had a really warm welcome to this hotel from the friendly staff on reception which kicked the stay off nicely. The rooms are large and comfortable with reasonable showers and bathrooms. Living up to its name the beds are super comfortable so a good nights sleep was had. The two things that didn't live up to my expectations were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline M
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always nice to hear positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities. i was delighted to read that you had a good nights sleep despite the noise issue you mentioned. We have taken on board the issue regarding our toasting options in the dining room and i assure...

toronto
Reviewed 22 October 2014

we booked 3 nights and as we were cycling, had to cancel 1 night because my wife was sick and needed to rest. We tried to simply cancel a night but were 2 hours late (22 hours before, not 24) and were told simply we could not. as we had just booked the day before, and there were still rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teliguy
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was not worth staying in. Overall, the reviews and feedback that we receive are complimentary for the way that we look after our guests and the friendly service which they receive. We will always do our best to ensure that any issues which may arise are dealt with as...

Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Good hotel - basically what you would expect of a normal business hotel. Location is good and so was the price. The best thing here though was the restaurant downstairs - the service from the barman was superb - it's a shame I did not catch his name.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gabopr
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were happy with your time with us and that you especially enjoyed the restaurant food and the service which you received in the bar. I have shared your feedback with the team. We hope that you will choose to...

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2014

I stayed here for the first time this week on business and won't be back. My room was near the busy road and you could here the traffic all the time which meant I didn't get a good nights sleep! The walls must be thin as well because I was woken at 4 in the morning by people talking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Lance, It was disappointing to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep on your recent stay with us. It was also very disappointing that you were not happy with the person whom you dealt with at reception and also the breakfast service that we provide. We always strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests, and...

Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 15 October 2014

The reception staff, especially Louise are welcoming and professionally friendly. The bar area has a intimate atmosphere with two TV screens a gas fire and great bar food. Tommy is the most professional and efficient barman we deal with on our many travels. The room was upgraded to a junior suite which was very welcome as our visit was for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian H
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were so happy with the food, atmosphere and service which you received, in particular from Louise and Tommy who were very happy to see your review. We always aim to make our guests...

Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

After an absolute rental car disaster we ended up unexpectadly having to stay at the Pillo hotel. Front desk staff (David) was insanely helpful, and ungrudgingly dealt with me using his phone a multitude of times. Restaurant was delicious (a little slow), rooms were clean, gorgeous, and wifi worked great. Hotel was our savior. Would highly reccommend to business travelers....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Techiekat
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very happy to read that you were looked after so well by David during your recent stay with us and your unfortunate rental car issue. It is always lovely to hear when someone goes the extra mile and David certainly rose to this and your thanks has been shared with him. I have also shared your...

Cork
Reviewed 13 October 2014

I was booking a weekend in Galway and decided to go with this hotel as I liked the idea of the spa on site. We opted for the 'couples retreat' which has an option of 3 treatments but they never gave us a choice, that was ok until we got the towels. The towels, especially lining the treatment bed, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodFashionFunSun
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please be assured that your review on your recent Spa experience has been shared with the team. It is disappointing that the cleanliness of the Spa was not to the standard that it should be and that is expected and this has been addressed. However, I am glad that you both enjoyed the treatments and the service you...

Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

This is quite a busy city hotel. Not the type of place I'd go for a relaxing holiday but it did the trick for an overnight business trip with my other half. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast was very good, however the room in parts didn't seem to be up to four star standard. The base of the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hiba123
PilloHotel, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. We have addressed the issues you raised regarding the bed and the vending machine. We hope to see you in Galway again soon Siobhan Burke General Manager

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
8.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,032 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,705 reviews
2.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,816 reviews
4.0 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,876 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated a short walking distance from Galway city centre, Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway is the perfect base for both leisure and business visitors to city. The focus is on customer service. Guests return time and time again.With a range of double, twin, triple and family rooms available, it is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms are non-smoking with wireless internet access & free underground parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway

Address: Sandy Road, Galway Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Price Range: $114 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Galway
Courtyard Galway
Galway Marriott
Galway Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Business Hotel in Galway
#13 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from the garage!”
adybaby2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“not sure there is a good room both mine had noise from outside that sounded like a generator running all the time”
jenniferd649, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent. Very clean and comfortable.”
nuls2017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We ordered a twin room and received two double beds in a very spacious room 112”
177carmelf, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No views as this is just on a main road so doesn't matter what room you have same view. Try get a King room if possible.”
427stephenk, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$109
AMOMAUS$143
Hotels.comUS$109
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates