We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The \\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The staff here are great. Very friendly and helpful. The Rafter Dempseys is in a great location. It was very reasonably priced too. Tracy was very helpful to us in anything we needed. Breakfast was included in out room rate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurab1776
Cork City
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Had an outstanding weekend in Kilkenny for stag party. Highly recommended Rafter Dempsey's ,, great friendly service from the minute we arrived until we departed., Food was top quality,, for breakfast get the full Irish, beats any hotel. Rooms were ideal and clean. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EricFromCork
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Came to Kilkenny with a group of lads to watch Euro2016. Stayed the night at Rafter Dempseys and had an amazing steak on the stone. This is a very central location in Kilkenny just off the main street, comfortable, clean and good value with friendly owner and staff The breakfast was cooked fresh which beats most hotels pre prepared mess

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SwordsPat
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Big Tuna & I were struggling to find somewhere to stay for the Dubs match in Kilkenny, so i chanced my arm and emailed The 'Rafter' Dempseys. Josephine was so nice to deal with, and she confirmed she had a room for us, for the Saturday night. The pub is on Friary Street, less than a minutes walk from The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cozzygrimey
Portland, Texas
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The B&B is located above the pub which can be busy at times but not too loud to interfere with sleep. The rooms are clean and the bedding is comfortable. No lift on site but first flight of stairs is wide with handrail. The food in the pub is very good! We will be staying here regularly. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole78374
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The total sanctuary , for the weary traveller. Excellent pints of J. Arthur , to rival anything served in dear auld dirty Dublin, Steaks SUPREME ! As good as anything you would get in Argentina ! [ Honestly ! ] They source them in a special place in county Kildare ....Despite my most lascivious imprecations , the lovely land-lady would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davidbyrne001
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I checked into The Rafters Dempseys on Saturday 16th April with 3 other people. We went into the bar to check in and paid 50 Euro per person, our room accommodated 5 people, the beds were clean, carpet was filthy, lucky we did not need showers as it was absolutely disgusting. We came back on Sat night at 1.15 to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claireneill06
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this review

I'm sorry to see your comments, as your valid complaint was handled on Saturday, you were fully discounted for Friday's stay and confirmed that you were happy with that. I'm sorry that you didn't express these other issues, as you had ample opportunity and would have been dealt with in a favourable manner. also, its not correct that you were...

London
Reviewed 26 March 2016

This is a great pub with clean accommodation and near to the centre of town. The accommodation and food were very reasonable priced. The pub can be noisy if you are trying to get to sleep early. The food is very good, and I recommend the steak on the hot plate. The entertainment was brilliant on both Friday and Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonBubba
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this review

Thanking you for your comments, and for staying with us !

Ireland
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

I couldn't recommend Rafter 's enough! The location, the cocktails, accommodation, breakfast - but mostly the staff. They were so helpful, accommodating, thoughtful and welcoming before and during our visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gkeane
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. It was a PLEASURE to deal with your party.

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Excellent service from start to finish Gerry and Josephine are a pleasure to deal with the food was lovely and the beer reasonably priced. There staff go out of there way to make u feel welcome. Will definitely be going bk in the near future. Very good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart1386
michael1960Ireland, Owner at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this review

Thank you Stuart......it was indeed a Pleasure to look after your group......All very welcome back to us Anytime !....Gerry.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 km away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
656 reviews
0.1 km away
Imperial Guesthouse
Imperial Guesthouse
#67 of 77 in Kilkenny
12 reviews
0.3 km away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 77 in Kilkenny
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 km away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
250 reviews
0.2 km away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#43 of 77 in Kilkenny
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
a great city centre hotel/guesthouse for anyone who wants to stay in the centre of all the shopping and nitelife attraction's that Kilkenny has to offer. A warm welcome and friendly staff await all guests, whether they want to wine or dine, or just unwind.Has won many awards for it's fantastic shopfront flower display's. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Address: 4 Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $116 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 'Rafter' Dempsey's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The 'Rafter' Dempsey's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The 'Rafter' Dempsey's staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles AlayneS, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor, due to wooden floors transmitting noise below”
 of 5 bubbles megawatt56, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Nicole78374, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“This joint JUMPS That's it.”
 of 5 bubbles davidbyrne001, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Top of house as then you wont have people dancing over your head all night”
 of 5 bubbles claireneill06, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5