We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,469: English reviews
Start your review of Kilkenny River Court Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we went down, there was a problem with the booking (my end!) - the dates that were booked were not the dates we went down for! But, the receptionist could not have been more helpful in getting us sorted. She found a room for us for the 2 nights (wed & thurs) & boy, did she find us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen151273
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a two night midweek stay including dinner on one night. Our first room had a balcony which was next to an industrial extractor fan which was really smelly. Thankfully we were moved. The girls on reception were very helpful. Our new room was lovely and all the communal areas were of a high standard but the bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid F
Dublin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in a lovely, clean, well proportioned room overlooking the river. Great weather helped too ! Lovely 3 night stay. So central. Good parking. On the doorstep of the city. So convenient. Lovely afternoon tea enjoyed also. Looking forward to our next visit !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggiemare
cork
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Again the River Court Hotel is our favourite hotel in kilkenny. We have been coming here for the last few years and love it. This year we had our elderly parents with us who also loved the hotel but unfortunately my father isn't very mobile and we had to get a taxi from the taxi rank outside the Left Bank(...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria2cork
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Checking in was quick and easy and reception staff were lovely. Booked into the restaurant for dinner but the menu was very basic so we went to bar for food. The food was delightful. We were served by two lovely young men Troy and Aaron they were very helpful and efficient....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1487
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L1487, Thank you for your lovely review and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Troy and Aaron are delighted to get a special mention and would like to pass on their Thanks also. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Catherine McKnight General Manager gm@rivercourthotel.com

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable three night stay here in this very central hotel in Kilkeny. We had requested a room overlooking the castle but alas received one overlooking the carpark. The room was spacious and clean. WIFi was slow and TV could do with updating. There were very few channels available. We enjoyed breakfast, service was very prompt. Latecomers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmartina
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear madmartina, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry that we couldn’t accommodate your request this time round for one of our castle view rooms hopefully on your next visit. We are currently looking into upgrading our TV system and hope to be able to offer more selection of channels in the future. We are also...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. There was no signs for the hotel we actually drove passes it. The car park is chaotic. Check it was fine. Receptionist were lovely. We went to the bar and all 4 staff members were leaning on the bar having a chat. It was 10mins before we got served. Food was only ok. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dbcork
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dbcork, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will be adding additional signage for both the hotel and the additional carparking that we have at the rear of the hotel in the coming weeks. I am delighted that you enjoyed both breakfast and your dinner in the restaurant but am dissappointed to read of your experience in...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely two day stay at this hotel. Rooms and beds very comfortable and we overlooked the castle which was beautiful especially at night. Food excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Bar area is spacious and comfortable with very friendly staff. Central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joyce B, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with stunning views, excellent food and friendly, helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Catherine McKnight General Manager gm@rivercourthotel.com

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best view of the castle and extremely easy walking distance to everything. The room was cozy and just what we needed for a quick nights stay. The hotel is a bit pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria H, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on tripadvisor. We are fortunate to have such a great location in the heart of the city with wonderful view of Kilkenny castle. We look foward to welcoming to back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Catherine McKnight General Manager gm@rivercourthotel.com

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Book this as a birthday treat for my husband. Included in bed and breakfast deal was dinner in Rinuccinis. Great deal and exactly what I was looking for. Hotel has a wonderful location and rooms are good size with fresh decor. However the signage both inside and out of the hotel is not just poor - it is non-existent!. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nuala H
Catherine M, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nuala H, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I take on board your comments on our signage here at the hotel and in the coming weeks we will be adding additional signage both inside and out, in partiular to the additional carparking that we have to the rear of the hotel. I am glad to read that...

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $122 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilkenny River Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Derry, United Kingdom
Dublin, Ireland
20 days ago
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Kilkenny River Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 141 is adequate but not a great view.”
madmartina, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the castle- others look at car park which is awful”
NualaH_12, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As for riverside - facing castle and morning sunshine!”
752TomH, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a view of the castle mention it when booking”
Greedypiggy, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 129 Facing castle”
mkm1947, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5