We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pembroke Kilkenny

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pembroke Kilkenny
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pembroke Kilkenny
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,526: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in an excellent location. Room was spacious and comfortable (though one might question the sheer amount of mirrors in the room). Staff helpful and friendly. Dinner and breakfast both recommended there although there are also a wealth of spots nearby too. Only a few issues and probably sorted by the time you visit - hotel is undergoing refurbishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalyn87
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear dalyn87, Thank you for your review. Pembroke Kilkenny as you mentioned is great for couples, there is so much to see and do in our City that there is something for everyone. Our refurbishment works to our reception area are nearing completion and should be done within the week. We cannot wait to see our new offices! We hope...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

We stayed for night at this hotel and our room was very comfortable and had a nice modren design. We got an excellent rate by paying up front and included free parking and a lovely cocktail. The hotel is also in a fantastic city centre location

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shane D
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Shane D, Thank you for your great review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your complimentary cocktail for booking directly with ourselves - a nice little bonus! Our Cucumber and Mint Daiquiri is one of my favourites it is so refreshing. You will have to come back and sample some of our new Spring offerings Many thanks, Courtney...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed at the Pembroke for one night on Valentines day. The hotel is under construction right now, so I'm trying to take that into account, and realize in a few months it might be better here. Our room was large, but reminded us of a hospital room or dorm room. Zero aesthetic, dirty, and our king mattress was two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie S
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Katie S, My sincerest apologies you were disturbed during our refurbishment works, we had hoped to minimise noise and disruption to our guests and unfortunately we have let you down on this aspect. This is not what Pembroke Kilkenny is about - one of our key focuses is on our guests and enhancing the guests' stay. The works are...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in the Pembroke Kilkenny and won't to say thank you to sinead for the phone call to make sure everything is OK. Hopefully we will be back in the next few months all going to plan :). Thanks for the lovely room and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Marco P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, Sinead is chuffed she got a mention. She is happy she was there to help. Give us a call directly the next time you are planning on coming, we would love to have you back. Kind Regards, Courtney Cass, Guest Relations

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Pembroke hotel excellent hotel freindy and helpfull staff great town people are freindly great value on their winter blues break only thing on arrival desk staff were not aware of the own deals but it was sorted straight away well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john f
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for a great review and for mentioning our great staff. We are very lucky with the team of people we have working here - they are great ambassadors for the hotel as well as our beautiful City. I have informed our Front Office Manager of your mix up and she is working with staff on...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We requested a quiet room as part of our reservation but found ourselves with a street side room and next to what must have been a hen party. Loud evening. We talked with staff about the hen party, I do think Mgt tried to accommodate the situation but evening was tough on sleeping. Staff seemed genuinely aware and concerned about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda R
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Linda R, Thank you for leaving us your review and first of all let me apologise on behalf of the team that your request for a quiet room was not noted on your reservation. This as a result resulted in a disturbed nights' sleep for you both. Thank you for highlighting our excellent customer service as this is a...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2017

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel, the room was spacious, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The hotel is just around the corner from Kilkenny Castle and the Medieval Mile. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again the next time I'm in Kilkenny.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bazcam
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear bazcam, Thank you for such a positive review, I am delighted you both had a great stay with us and are looking forward to coming back. Do book directly for the best rates. Our location as you mentioned is key and speaking of the Medieval Mile our new Medieval Mile Museum opened up just last week with 100's of...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Just back from a stay in the Pembroke. It's located central to all amenities.Its a very modern hotel,very nice rooms which are a nice size and the hotel in general was spotless.Staff where all very friendly.Will definitely be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cannon83
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Cannon83, Thank you for your perfect review. I will be sure to let our Housekeeping team know their hard work is not going un-noticed. They take great pride in the hotel. Give us a call if you are coming back to Kilkenny, we would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Courtney Cass, Guest Relations

CO MONAGHAN
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Having read all the positive reviews of this hotel we were really looking forward to our weekend away boy were we disappointed. First the room we were allocated 301 was very grubby dirty carpet we found a spider in the bed when we pulled sheets back.Breakfast on Saturday morning was a disaster when we arrived down there was just about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PATRICKCoMonaghan
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear PATRICKCoMonaghan, I do apologise for the length of time it has taken for me to respond to your review but first of all thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as it is from guest feedback we can improve. I appreciate your view on your second mornings breakfast as this is what we strive for - a...

Reviewed 4 February 2017

I stayed here in January and was highly impressed with this hotel. The location is ideal, near the shops and the bars. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were lovely & comfortable. Most importantly, the staff were fantastic. They were friendly, helpful & nothing was too much trouble. The hotel provides gated parking and free wifi. Overall, a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie90
Courtney C, Guest Relations Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review

Dear Jeanie90, What a great review, you have mentioned everything! From our parking, wifi, rooms, location and staff. Our location is perfect for a trip away, you can leave the car and head off walking to explore. Shops, pubs, restaurants and sites, everything is on our doorstep. I hope we see you again, Kind Regards, Courtney Cass, Guest Relations

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (60)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with City View (74)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,800 reviews
1.7 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,777 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
726 reviews
3.1 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Statham's Bar & Restaurant
Statham's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Healthy, International, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Pembroke Kilkenny is situated on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of a city that is rich with medieval heritage and alive with a vibrant culture. With spacious rooms and a peaceful charm, this is a welcoming place that excels at stylish comfort. We offer a wide range of rooms all with air-conditioning and the modern conveniences that you expect from a team that puts your comfort first. Surrounded by Kilkenny’s most famous landmarks including Kilkenny Castle, Butler House and the Kilkenny Design Centre, fashionable, funky boutiques and walking distance to the city’s pubs, clubs and numerous other amenities, it makes it the ideal location for your getaway. Statham's Bar & Restaurant with its traditional hospitality and relaxed atmosphere is a great place to meet, drink, dine and party in Kilkenny city centre. From brunch to Sunday lunch, from afternoon tea to all day dining with daily specials, we have something for everyone throughout the day and evening. With live bands entertaining guests four nights a week and a sensational selection of wine, spirits and fresh, vibrant cocktails, you're sure to have a great night in Statham's. Whether a quick file and polish or a deluxe spa experience, Mint Beauty, Laser & Skincare Centre has the perfect treatment for you. Mint offers a full complement of services including facials, massages, body treatments, make up application and lessons, threading, waxing, nail treatments, signature packages and our Clinic department offers Candela Max Pro Laser treatments, Microneedling and Skin Peels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Price Range: $133 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pembroke Kilkenny staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Pembroke Kilkenny staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the third floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking the carpark - really quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 299MaryK, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nice spacious bright room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles 0deirdreo, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have someone guide you into rear car park, very tight when full.”
 of 5 bubbles moser1, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get top floor”
 of 5 bubbles scottmicrolights, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The castle view is obstructed, so might not be worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles bazcam, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5