We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel Limerick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Limerick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Limerick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 994: English reviews
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We originally had booked into the Clarion Hotel for only 2 nights so we could explore the city of Limerick a little bit on our visit to Ireland. Well, between loving the city and having a great hotel, we kept extending our stay. We were there a total of 5 nights, and have no real complaints. At first I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canada_Sarah86
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great to read that enjoyed your recent trip to Limerick and loved the city and our hotel. Limerick has much to offer visitors to the city and I am delighted that you decided to extend your stay with us due to the service you were receiving. Our hotel does have superb views over the... More 

Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were on a bus tour of Ireland and stayed one night at the Clarion. A newer property with very nice rooms. The rooms had great views of the river and the city. The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is very industrial. This would be a excellent business meeting location.

Helpful?
1 Thank greenbean5116
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the panoramic views from your room. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around Ireland. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for a stay in Limerick. While you may find better, the location is quite good, albeit there's not much to see/do around the hotel itself and the environs are a little shabby. The staff were excellent, and the upgraded room we stayed in was really superb, with great views of the Shannon river and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIreland
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that your enjoyed your recent stay with us in Limerick. We do receive excellent feedback on our convenient location on the River Shannon and the stunning views from the hotel, I’m glad you had the opportunity to enjoy them. Limerick City Council are currently renovating the area surrounding the hotel,... More 

Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Travelling as a single on a group tour I was given a good sized clean room with King size bed and small seating area. The bathroom was on the small size with a shower over the bath. This s the normal thing in this part of the world. Hotel position is on the river with all rooms having a view,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovetoroam-53
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us while on your tour and found our location convenient, we are very centrally located in the city centre and only a five minute walk from the main shopping area. I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for one night while on business in the area. On check in, I had to wait a few minutes for the guy to finish up his personal telephone conversation arranging his social calendar. Did I mind? not particularly but it wasn't a great first impression He finally ended his call saying "I better go, I've got a check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Punam71
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review. I am very disappointed to read your comments on your check in experience. I would like to assure you that this is not the manner in which we expect our guests to be greeted when arriving to our hotel and I will be bringing your comments to the attention of all of our staff. We... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had to book a hotel at the last minute and got a great deal on a superior room. The thirteenth floor Rm 1313 (a troubling number) had fantastic views up and down the river Shannon. A prepaid breakfast 10.50 Euros was great value with a great range of hot food and decent coffee. Though the room decor was a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank atashas
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you felt you received a great deal and found our city centre location convenient. All of our rooms have panoramic views over the River Shannon and the views from the 13th floor are impressive. With regards to the surrounding area, all of the... More 

tralee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one nite and got a good deal. Staff fine and location great. However, wanted to get a film in room and was told they stopped it a year ago even though it is on guest info. Went for dinner and asked for chips instead of potatoes and was told it was €3.50 extra so I ordered chips with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank spiceytralee
Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of the last options we had and It was great, good price and good service. Had a great rest there. The bad side was that me and my friends couldn't enjoy more the amenities we've had, like pool and gym 'cause we have to keep travelling...

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor V
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we got a fantastic room right on the end of the building so we had a floor to ceiling window hanging over the Shannon. views fantastic. staff were ok. very noisy at night due to sound travelling up the window, someone floors below kept television on all night so we couldn't sleep. very convenient to city centre food very dear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandFailte
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise sincerely for the issues you experienced with noise during your stay, our night team are available throughout the night to deal with any issues which may arise regarding inappropriate noise levels emanating from other guest’s rooms. I am also sorry to read that you found the food options expensive, we... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked in for 1 night, the room and breakfast were fine. The lobby, restaurant and bar all run into one another, which means that people from the bar are overflowing out into the lobby. In the evening we had to side step around people to leave the hotel and the following morning do the same as the lobby was packed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FishDublin_Ireland

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.5 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,767 reviews
0.7 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,188 reviews
0.7 km away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
1,043 reviews
5.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.6 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Price Range: $109 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Limerick staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Limerick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You must have a room with a river view !!”
 of 5 bubbles radioman60, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views in Limerick, or at least the highest views :) ...... Higher floors are better for the view but all offer something to look at.”
 of 5 bubbles troyo320, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go all the way to the top!! Quiet, with spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles VickieF_12, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Beware rooms are not very sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles sean67c, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For the best views try to get an upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanF1983, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay