We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

TF Royal Hotel and Theatre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for TF Royal Hotel and Theatre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

They are using an independent company to charge for parking now. So if you want to go in for a few pints you have to find the change and go through the hassle of getting a ticket and then taking it in to the bar staff to get your money back. I'm glad they refund the cost of parking up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea L
ConnollyT, Front Office Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is with great regret that we receive your feedback following your recent visit and I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of acknowledging your concerns. You are correct, we do operate a pay and display parking system at the TF Royal Hotel since June 2014, the reason we took the decision to implement...

Atlantic coast
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The TF offers a special offer lunch which is a bowl of home-made soup with delicious home-made brown bread/rolls, your choice of any main course on offer with veg, mash, roast potatoes etc... (but chips cost €3.00 extra even if you want them instead of the other potatoes on offer) and a selection of soft drinks, all for the cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlantic8866
Traceyconnolly, Front Office Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to learn that you consider our lunch offering to be great value and satisfying. Over the past 6 months we have worked tirelessly to ensure that our service standard improves in line with the quality of our food, part of this improvement is an increase in customer interaction, and it...

Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 25 November 2014

On november the 19th The Irish Wheelchair Association staff and service users had our Christmas Party in the TF Royal we all had a fantastic day, the food was outstanding, The service from Carmel Kelly and all the lovely hard working staff made it a really great day for everybody, The place was beautifully decorated, a lot of hard work...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bernie K
Traceyconnolly, Front Office Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Bernie, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience at the TF Royal Hotel, it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback and rest assured your kind words have been passed onto the entire team. We are fully aware of the excellent work you and your co-workers are involved in and as a local community business we fully...

County Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We visited the carvery in TF Royal hotel recently and we were very surprised at the quality and value of our lunch. There was a very good variety of food available and an excellent special on offer for less than €10 which consisted of soup, main course and a soft drink, now you cannot beat that for value! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martina F
Traceyconnolly, Front Office Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent Cafe Bar experience and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meal and found our lunch offer to be great value. Over the last few months we have been trying to vastly improve the quality of the asset and have spent considerable sums renovation...

Co Mayo
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Excellent theatre and we visited for the Byran Adams concert. Only complaint that in the bar area in the venue there should be some seating. There was none. Excellent venue for concerts. However afterwards we went upstairs to the hotel bar. Bar service was chaotic and while there was a crowd it certainely was not packed. Also all drinks were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MagsCoMayo
Traceyconnolly, Front Office Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I thank you for your review after the Bryan Adams Concert. We had nearly 2,000 people in the theatre that evening and we have a house policy that all drinks are served in plastic glasses from 6pm. The reason for this is the hotel bar leads directly to the 1st floor theatre area and should a glass be...

Illinois
Reviewed 12 September 2014

It's like we stayed in different hotels, judging from the other reviews. Our experience was entirely a positive one. Our daughter was studying in Carlow for a semester, so we (self, wife, son) went over to visit. We hired a car & drove around Ireland for a week. I really liked the TF Royal. True, it's a fading beauty, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cowboydan123
Sandra O, General Manager at TF Royal Hotel and Theatre, responded to this review

On behalf of the team here at The Royal Theatre and Hotel I thank you most kindly for your review. It is so uplifting to the team here when we get some good comment. The hotel has been under receivership management for over 2 years and it is only since late May 2014 has the situation changed. The property is...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
1.0 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
831 reviews
1.8 km away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
152 reviews
11.9 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
1,941 reviews
15.7 km away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
173 reviews
0.4 km away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about TF Royal Hotel and Theatre

Address: Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TF Royal Hotel and Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your TF Royal Hotel and Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tf Royal Castlebar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from TF Royal Hotel and Theatre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sligo, Ireland

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from TF Royal Hotel and Theatre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont ask for any food before 12”
margretc190, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are well worth choosing”
Halloweentourist, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get one of far end as you can hear people in the hall”
48noelled, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the front”
aislinns403, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“no plastic glasses”
manirish, 12 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5