We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Waterford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Waterford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hitels and the odd travelodge, and we feel this one is not upto standard. Check staff were so lovly and helpfull and knowledgeable. However the hotel was noisy, smelly, moldy, and just generally grubby. We booked bed and breakfast, and was directed to the diner over the road. To be honest the beakfast that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamtartHart
GM_Waterford, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear jamtartHart, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to see that you were happy with the level of service that you received from our staff. We are in the midst of refurbishment at present and this will address the issues that you mentioned. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Do not stay in this lodge on a Saturday Night. We were kept awake until gone 4 in the morning by lots of other guest walking about, laughing and shouting loudly, going outside for cigarettes at regular intervals and rhythmic thumping.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean E
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Jean E, Thank you for your review however I was disappointed to read your comments. It was an extremely busy weekend in Waterford City when you stayed with ourselves but i do apologise if you found it too vivacious for your liking. I can assure you that we take all reasonable steps to ensure that disruption is kept to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Waterford hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I have just spent a night in the Travelodge. I normally stay in town, but the hotel was full, so I thought I would try this hotel. On arrival, I received my key, room 7. My room stank of stale smoke and the telly did not work properly. I requested to change rooms, which Brian happily did. WHilst the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
GM_Waterford, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Marcus B, Thank you for your review. I must apologise for the condition of the first room that you were allocated and i shall certainly follow this matter up with our housekeeping department. It is unfortunate that you checked out early as I would have liked to have had the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes. We are... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Very good pleasant & helpfull staff. The room was basic but with a odour of staleness in the room that ki amount of cleaning could mask. The room itself had only 2 sockets one of which was cracked and broken. It was a choice of either charging a phone or watching TV. The bed itself had clean linen, but the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 950anei
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear 950anei, Thank you for your review. We are currently engaged in an extensive refurbishment programme for the hotel. This programme will entail every bedroom receiving brand new beds, chairs, curtains/ net curtains, throws, carpets, tea / coffee stations, bathroom flooring and fixtures and many other exciting new features so i do hope that you will come back and visit... More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015

As it was my first time staying in a Travelodge I did not know what to expect, Overall I was happy with the room and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable my bed was, perhaps the mattress was new or else just in good condition? I had a very enjoyable nights sleep in the hotel, it was so comfortable i... More 

Helpful?
Thank brianmoore2015
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear brianmoore2015, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. I can confirm that the bed in your room was only recently put in place and i'm glad to see that you had a very comfortable nights sleep. The new beds we are currently rolling out in all... More 

Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Positives:Location excellent for our visit, receptionist friendly. Room good size. Bathroom in need of a good clean- grouting filthy with accumulated grime, both around bath and mirror. Plughole areas in need of good clean- all built up grime and stains. Base of shower curtain filthy. Part of bath tap fixture missing. Mattresses past best by date. Disappointed. Also- dinosaur age... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank maryhQ5741OG
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear maryhQ5741OG, Thank you for your review. We are currently addressing the issue you mentioned regarding the beds and every bedroom will have a brand new set of beds in the next 4 - 6 weeks. We are engaged in deep cleaning at the moment but i will certainly make sure that the room you stayed in is attended to... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2015

V clean, quiet, close to city centre. Joes diner great food. Near to seaside town,Tramore. Pity not free wifi but €5 per 24hr gives fast access Hyggfvvf ggtfgg bgfdcvfgvvv gvgbb Mj Nhh mjmjmnhgbvfvv vfvcfvvvvdvv nuygbnhh vbbggfgg gffdvgygb bb ti oiut gtred ftredf vfddr gtrre trying to find 5 gig not v the same time as the market leaders in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank D1957INpeterm
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear D1957INpeterm, Thank you for your kind words. We were all pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come back and stay with us again sometime in the near future. Regards, Conor M More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

I have just spent 8 nights in Ireland and Travelodge Waterford has the dubious honour of having the most uncomfortable bed of the trip. In fact it is one of the worst beds I have EVER slept in. Lumpy mattress with springs sticking into me. Other trip advisor reviewers mention the same problem - if only I had read them... More 

Helpful?
Thank EUSMAS
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear EUSMAS, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I certainly take your points on board and we are currently addressing the issue by replacing every bed in the hotel. This is due to be completed in the next 4 - 6 weeks. On a more positive note i was delighted to see that you were able... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Recently stay here with my family, rooms are clean and well presented. Staff on reception were welcoming and helpful. Hotel is in a good location for onward travel Other good points are parking is free, very nice dinner next door (Rocking Joe's = great food). Located very near some supermarkets

Helpful?
Thank jamieoconnor
Conor M, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear jamieoconnor, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We were all delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you and your family will come back and visit us again sometime in the near future. Regards, Conor M More 

County Offaly, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Hotel was in a good location but as soon as we entered our family room I knew I wasn't going to enjoy the stay. When we walked by the bathroom we could smell the dirty shower curtain, it looked and smelt like it was never washed. The first thing I noticed when I sat on the bed was a hair... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 5554102
GM_Waterford, General Manager at Travelodge Waterford, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. i would be grateful if you could please make contact with myself directly at waterford@travelodge.ie so that we may discuss the matter in greater detail. many thanks Conor M More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.8 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,046 reviews
1.7 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
986 reviews
1.7 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.0 km away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#11 of 12 in Waterford
444 reviews
1.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterford Travelodge Hotel is ideally located just outside the main city centre. Travelodge Waterford is located on the main Cork to Rosslare Road (N25) our hotel is the ideal gateway to all that the sunny South East has to offer. Local beaches and golf courses are all on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Waterford

Address: N25 Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $68 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Travel Lodge
Waterford Travelodge
Travel Lodge Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Waterford staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
wales

I too would like the opportunity to respond to " general manager Connor "

I would further ask how the disgusting smell in the upstairs corridor would be attributed to another property having sewerage problems when other parts of the travel lodge and external areas had no smell at all ?

I cannot understand how just a certain area on the first floor would be affected as pipework would run throughout the building and any build up would come upwards from the ground floor?

Further to this ,reading through all the reviews ,the responses are inconsistent , they tell us that a refurbishment has been taking place anytime over the last 12-18 months , that beds have " all been renewed " .. are " in the process of bring renewed" or " will all be renewed shortly" .

Some reviews posted in August 2015 have only had responses updated by " The manager" in mid 2016 .. so problems have been ongoing for some time then ?

I would reiterate despite the claims that I am wrong , that people are actually being housed there .

I have looked at the reviews in detail , on several occasions where very good reviews have been written the reviewers are all " first time reviewers" ? ....mmm?

Perhaps there should be a way of contacting these " reviewers" to check the validity of the entries .

Why , after constant complaints , about groups congregating outside the front door being loud etc etc would you encourage them with a smoking area ?

Move it further away !

Shame on Travelodge head office for not looking after their brand / property / reputation . The word Hostel has been used in many of the reviews I have read .. I think that could even be a bit derogatory of some hostels. Thorough cleaning , ongoing maintenance , staffing , new bedding .. the list is endless ...no , for me this last visit was enough .. never ever will I recommend a visit here and hell would freeze over before I would stay or let my family stay there .

1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only lasts 24 hours”
 of 5 bubbles newyorkfan1, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“anywhere away from the stag party”
 of 5 bubbles 0terryt, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from McDonalds!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Malabracha, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book as far in advance as possible for the best price.”
 of 5 bubbles LostinWales84, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“room 53 was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles beebee_blackpool2011, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay