We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dooley\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dooley's Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,088: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

One of the worst places we have stayed on our trip I'm afraid. The location was good and there was nearby parking so it gets two stars, but apart from that not a lot else to say. Double bed was awful- sagged in the middle, carpet was covered in stains and we were obviously given a smokers room as evidenced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lalan06
Lewisville, TX
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Perfect place. This hotel was within walking distance of Waterford Crystal Factory. Also it was within walking distance of very good Italian Restaurant. The room was very clean. It was nice to have available parking across the street from the hotel at a very minimal fee discounted by the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kilgore_kathryn
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear kilgore_kathryn, Thank you for your review and for saying we are the perfect place. We are fortunate to be in walking distance of attractions, shops and restaurants so you can park up for a minimal fee for as long as you want and walk every where. We hope you get a chance to visit again. Kind regards Tina Darrer

Portland, Or
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Great location across from the water. Excellent service by the entire staff. Great breakfast every morning. Spend four nights at Dooley's and enjoyed each evening in the pub listening to local Irish music. My two daughters even got up to dance with some local folks. Fantastic!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERMSRM46
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear ERMSRM46, Thank you for staying four nights with us here in Dooley's Hotel Waterford. We are delighted you found our service excellent by all our team. A great breakfast helps you start the day. I hope you got to taste the traditional Flahavan's Oat porridge... We hope you get to return at some point in the near future and...

Reviewed 24 September 2015

Stayed here for the harvest festival weekend in Waterford. This hotel is in a great central location on the quayside with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Clean and comfortable with good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amcc100
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Amcc100, Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Dooley's Hotel. We are fortunate to be central located within walking distance to the city centre. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and a good breakfast is always important to start the day off... We hope you will get time to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Comfortable hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. Excellent buffet breakfasts and good bar meals in the Dry Dock Bar. No hotel parking on site but long stay parking available on the quay opposite with discounted rates - ask at reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Graham B, We are delighted that you you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your favourable comments to our team and they are delighted as staff friendliness is very important to us. We hope we have the opportunity to look after you in the future. Kind regards Tina Darrer

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed just 1night but wished it was more. Really nice room. Great breakfast buffet included and try dinner in their pub. We had heard that there wasn't much to do in Waterford but there seemed a lot of interesting sites Also it is directly across the street from the bus station so transportation is easy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Diane J, Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. A good breakfast is so important to start off the day. I hope you got to taste our famous Flahavan''s Irish oat porridge with cream and honey. Yes there is lots to see and do in Waterford City and if you would like...

gosford
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Stayed a night bed not to bad pillows terrible. Shower not the best very low water pressure and not very hot. But water in sink cold very slow hot very hot. Need your key card to access doors or lifts. Breakfast ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannienette
WaterfordDot, Manager at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Grannienette, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Dooley's Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your issues regarding the pillows and your water. If we had known about this we would have made every effort to rectify. I have past on your comments to our housekeeping team regarding above. The Key Card system for the lift...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We had some time to kill and decided to try out the Dock bar at Dooleys hotel. While the bar is decorated beautifully the food certainly matches, we really enjoyed our food and the staff are really friendly. The menu is not massive but has some nice options, I would have liked to see more gluten free options available. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
WaterfordDot, Manager at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Peter G, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us in The Dry Dock Bar at Dooley's Hotel. We are delighted you found our food to be good and our staff to be friendly. We will take your comments on board regarding gluten free options. We will be updating our menus in October and I...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Everything is regular in this hotel. Things don't work well,antiquated bathrooms, bad flush, bad internet connections, badly organized breakfast, bad food, even the scrambled eggs! The location is good, walk to the right and the area is beautiful; center is very close.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anton F
WaterfordDot, Manager at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Anton F, We are very disappointed to hear how you felt about your stay with us at Dooley's Hotel. It is unfortunate that we were not aware of your issues during your stay. We always try our level best to make every guests stay a pleasant one at Dooley's Hotel. I am disappointed to find that you did not...

Inverloch
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

After a long drive and a string of very average hotels and B&Bs, Dooleys was a very welcome discovery. The location is ideal, the facilities were excellent and the staff well trained and respectful. The town of Waterford is charming and interesting - don't miss it, and make sure you stay at Dooleys.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don460
WaterfordDot, Owner at Dooley's Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Don460, We are delighted that you found Dooley's Hotel a very welcome discovery with excellent facilities and staff that were trained and respectful. Thank you so much for your recommendation to stay at Dooley's Hotel. I have to agree with you that Waterford is truly charming and interesting. I do hope that you get to come back and explore...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.1 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,085 reviews
0.3 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
0.8 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,302 reviews
0.2 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dooley's City Centre Hotel, Waterford is a family run hotel in the heart of the Sunny South East. Dooley's Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main shopping, business & cultural centres in Waterford. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dooley's Hotel Waterford

Address: Merchants Quay, Waterford 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $85 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooley's Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dooley's Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dooleys Hotel Waterford
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waterford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#5 Family Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dooley's Hotel Waterford staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
County Dublin, Ireland
10 months ago
Dayton, OH / Marco Island, FL
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago
Leawood, Kansas
over a year ago
Longwood

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Dooley's Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the rear of the hotel on the first floor are quiet with easy access by stars or lift”
 of 5 bubbles mel221057, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room good but looks out on thr road as well as the quay.”
 of 5 bubbles elainecA9250RZ, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles clancytheresa, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles greenlens, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“307 particularly quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieg2oneill, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5