We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Viking Hotel Waterford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Hotel Waterford
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel Waterford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Spent a 3 day break there first weekend of september. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well prepared with everything you would expect from a nice hotel. The bar, while a little spartan was priced reasonably, the staff were excellent and helpful, even giving us some glasses so we could have some drinks in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us . Thank you for your kind comments about the staff in the hotel its always nice to hear their hard work paying off.We look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Passing through waterford and stayed here for one night. Lovely clean hotel very friendly staff. Very reasonable price. Beautiful breakfast. Only fault was quilt on bed was too warm for time of year and there was no top sheet so when I threw back quilt then I was cold. Bedroom was very nice and spotlessly clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Susan H Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with and that you found our breakfast beautiful, i will pass on your kind comments on to our kitchen team.I'm sorry that you found it too warm, next time you stay please ring down to our 24 hr reception and they...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Clean nice room bar food grand Plenty parking Staff friendly Bathroom very clean good tea coffee making facility in room On bypass so handy if you don't want to go into city centre No restaurants bars within walking distance so need to drive to anything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Brain G, Thank you for taking the time to review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The rooms were a nice size clean and tidy. We had a problem with our shower the first morning mentioned it at the desk on the way to breakfast and it was fixed before we had finished. The staff were very helpful. The negative points it was a fair way out of Waterford...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnelg
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Lynnelg , Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Viking Hotel ,We are pleased that we exceeded your expectation of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Viking Hotel is situated close to the ring road with easy access to the motorway and the city centre. A car is essential here (car parking is free of charge) as their are very few amenities within walking distance. Reception staff very efficient and friendly as were all the staff. The room was large with a king bed, single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larnel
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Lamel, Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass on your kind comments about the staff, i'm sorry that you experience some noise on your stay from outside concert going on nearby. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived at hotel we were looked after straight away by very helpful receptionist I think her name was Aisling we checked in to room it was a very bright and spacious room and had a good sized bathroom and the bed was super comfortable we then had dinner in the Asgard bar the food was really good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will M
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Will M, Thank you for the great review of our hotel!I'm glad that you found our new beds to be super comfortable and that you enjoyed your meal in the Asgard Bar.We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Dublin
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and we didn't get a wink of sleep. Constant late night revellers going to bed and shouting in corridors at 3am and 4.30am - really awful. Not the hotels fault as not much can be done about poor guests. It's a stopover place situated near a load of garages. Feels like it is in an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlaith b
Darren B, Operation Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Orlaith B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I'm sorry that you experienced noise late at night the night team work hard to keep the noise to minimum.Thank you for your comments about receptionist...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My family stayed here last week and really enjoyed the lovely staff and the location was excellent for the city and the beaches. Enjoyed the breakfast, and the rooms were clean and big. It was unfortunate that we were kept awake until 3am each night with people getting their bottles of water before bed - a bottle dropping is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Anne M, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you were kept away by the vending machines, i have talked to the company that supplies the machines and we can't move them but they are coming back to me about putting some padding which will lower the...

Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed her for 4 nights on our annual trio to Waterford. My first impression was the cleanliness of the reception. We were dealt with very promptly. Our room was on the ground floor very close to receptions and dining. Our room was spacious and perfect temperature. The beds were very comfortable and cosy. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colmk_12
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Dear Colmk_12 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our Buffet Breakfast, ill be sure to past on your comments to your kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next stay in Waterford. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here and it's was great because wasn't in the town and we where going on to dunmore and passage east to get ferry across so it's was great where it was gud value for money too and the beds where really bed and the most comfortable beds I have ever stayed in a best night sleep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
Darren B, Operations Manager at Viking Hotel Waterford, responded to this review

Hi Stephen F Thank you for taking the time to send such a nice review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you got a good nights sleep.Hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Darren Byrne Operations Manager Viking Hotel

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
4.6 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,074 reviews
4.2 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,199 reviews
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,018 reviews
3.8 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,291 reviews
4.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3* Waterford Viking Hotel is the perfect base in the South East of Ireland just outside Waterford City. The hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the junction of both the M9 and N25. The Viking Hotel offers space, comfort and style, and capitalises on its strategic location on the outskirts of the historic Viking City. Close to Waterford City Centre to capture the night life and culture that Waterford has to offer, but sufficiently outside to avoid the hustle and bustle, and congestion, and offers Free Parking. This hotel is truly the gateway to Dublin (2 hours), Cork (80 mins), and just minutes from the Waterford Train Station, and several shopping centres. This Hotel is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or immersed in traffic.Offering great value rates, in comfortable surroundings and with a warmwelcome guaranteed – making it the ideal choice for Waterford City Hotels.Best Rate Guaranteed on our Waterford Accommodation.The hotel offers modern, comfortable rooms with lots of added benefits.Rooms are designed with guests’ comfort in mind. Unwind in spacious,bright rooms and enjoy a heavenly sleep in the sensational beds. There is free WiFi throughout the entire hotel. The menu offers a Mediterranean twist on traditional Irish ingredientsand dishes with a superb wine list of recognisable wines from the newworld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Hotel Waterford

Address: Cork Road, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Viking Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Viking Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Waterford
Waterford Ramada
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viking Hotel Waterford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer rooms overlooking the Car Park.”
 of 5 bubbles brendanst, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just Specify What Kind of Room you require and the Staff will help you out, But Every Room in the Hotel is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ad038, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the vending machines which are near the lift”
 of 5 bubbles AnneM124, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free Parking is a plus”
 of 5 bubbles MaryMunster, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to executive room!”
 of 5 bubbles WonderfulB, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5