We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St George Hotel

Hotels.comUS$102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Start your review of The St George Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant for dinner - lived in Harrogate 20 years and haven't been before. Lovely food and fantastic staff! The customer service was excellent! Great job keep it up! Eniko and Rob stood out as the fab team members!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smae95
Management response:

Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your Dinner and took the time to write a review; Thank you. I will pass your comments on to the Restaurant Team and we looking forward to welcoming you back - hopefully sooner than 20 years!

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A listed building I suspect that badly needs some investment.Sleepless nights from traffic and night revellers due to poor window glazing. Friendly welcome from staff and good food,otherwise not much to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
Management response:

I'm pleased to be able to write that we are giving back some love and investing in our beautiful hotel. Unfortunately because of our enviable location several rooms are overlooking the main road, on your next visit please feel free to request a room at the back of the hotel which is much quieter.

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location and value. Do not believe poor reviews. Staff cannot do enough to help. Good hot food with a varied menu each night. Tea/coffee included with dinner. Shearings holidays 5 day package. Clean room with plenty of space and fluffy towels. Tea and coffee facilities in room with new supplies provided every day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annacollings21
Management response:

We have an excellent team of hotel staff and thank you for your recognition, I will pass your comments on and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and glad I did ,I was in a standard room , I was very surprised to see how nice it was as I usually upgrade , the hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and excellent at their jobs . Although it's a walk uphill to the town it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
Management response:

Couldn't agree more, whilst we are slightly biased we love our Afternoon Tea! Thank you for your wonderful review we look forward to welcoming you back and I will pass your comments on to my team, See you soon.

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a prime position in the centre of Harrogate, the staff are charming, helpful and efficient. The lovely dining room overlooking a flower filled English garden is miserably failed by the presence of an electric cable laid across the doorway. My room had a very old and worn extension leading from the socket on the dressing table,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cec L
Management response:

We are investigating your comments with our Maintenance Engineer, I can assure you that this is not acceptable and will be addressed immediately.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1st time I've wrote a review on here. This hotel needs a major revamp, it's outdated, tired and old fashioned. Good location is the only thing going in its favour, the spar is very, very outdated and in many areas has mould ! Lots of coach holiday trippers there. Pillows awful, were like house bricks and did our necks in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill B
Management response:

It's saddening to read your review, however we do take on board all guest comments to improve where we can. I can confirm that the revamp is happening soon, and we have recently increased our Breakfast opening times until 9.30am, however breakfast is available in the bar after this time, I'm sorry you weren't offered this option. We are investigating...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Again my main gripe with trip advisor ,if there was a good rating i would use it .st. George is not very good but better than average ,just .so where is the rating GOOD.great old building with areas that need a little tlc .however still not bad value and walking distance of main area for shops ,bars ect . Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peter f
Management response:

We hear you! Our plan for some TLC will be happening soon and I really hope you will come back to visit again after it's complete. Make sure you call the hotel direct for best prices and current updates.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you value sleep, I would avoid this place like the plague ! Booked the family room & was located at the front on the main road, which was being used as a racetrack till gone 3:30am, stopped just in time for the bass music to start from 3:30 till 5am ! Travelling with a young son it would make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kellylou S
Management response:

Such a shame to read your review, as a parent I value my sleep too and I'm genuinely sorry that we failed on this. We have fantastic family rooms and the swimming pool is always a good choice for families, unfortunately because of our enviable location quite a few of our rooms are overlooking the main road. Please feel free...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have scored this a 3 based on the price i have paid, 56 pounds for 2 including breakfast. The place is very dated, the room had a musty smell and there was paint flaking fron the walls. The mattress had no life in it very flat and past its sell by date. You have to pay extra for parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazza147
Management response:

Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased to be able to let you know that we will be starting refurbishment very soon and we are planning on all the TLC that this amazing hotel deserves. We look forward to welcoming you back, please call my reservations team for progress updates and the best prices available.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay in this hotel, room was large clean and comfortable what more could we ask for and would certainly stay here again. It was close to the shops and bars and Harrogate is close to a lot of lovely Yorkshire towns and villages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath G
Management response:

Fabulous to read your review, what more could we ask for! We look forward to welcoming you back again, please call my reservations team for the best prices available.

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,647 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $114 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
Skegness

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the garden, it is on the opposite side to the noisy pub”
cecl2015, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Request rear bedroom.”
j0j00605, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room as hotel is opposite a night club and can be noisy”
834janines, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just ask rooms at back are quieter”
jainex, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floors were quieter. Corner rooms had more views”
713ritab, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$108
Expedia.comUS$102
TripAdvisorUS$102
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates