We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Booking.com
Travelocity
HurbUS$141
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (319)
360
Panoramas (2)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Yorkshire Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 24 hotels in Harrogate
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With an elegant Victorian exterior, the Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate overlooks The Stray and offers a range of bedrooms just minutes from Bettys Tea Rooms & Harrogate Convention Centre. It has a Bar, Restaurant & Free WiFi. Many of our rooms feature a town-view and all benefit from complimentary toiletries supplied by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and room service. Scran offers an a la carte menu of contemporary and imaginatively cooked British dishes and the bar serves a range of ales, spirits, wine and soft drinks. The vast majority of local attractions in the town are less than a 5 minutes' walk, Harrogate Bus & Rail Stations are closeby and Leeds Bradford Airport is just a 25 minute drive.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Street parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
925Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 543
  • 214
  • 88
  • 53
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JohnandAudrey wrote a review 25 Nov
Sunderland, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
Excellent 3 night stay at this hotel. Excellent breakfast .lovely spacious modern room. Car park not easy to manouver. Internet free but very slow however we would definitely recommend this hotel. We can't comment on evening meals as we were only bed and breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Sagar, Guest Services / Front Office at The Yorkshire Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Yorkshire Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent 3 night stay with us! Hopefully our Hearty Yorkshire Breakfast set you up for your busy days exploring. Due to our central location, we do have very limited spaces this is first come first serve, I am sorry that you found this difficult to maneuver your vehicle. Thank you for recommending us! We hope to see you again in the near future. Best Wishes, The Yorkshire Hotel
Read more
Sparkling20 wrote a review Aug 2020
England, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Just got back from a bank holiday weekend away. Never stayed here before so was really looking forward to trying a different hotel, we wasn’t disappointed, it’s a beautiful building. Check in was so quick and easy, the reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was overlooking the front with lovely views and one of them being Bettys tea rooms, bedroom was very well maintained and clean, bed was very very comfortable, bathroom was very modern and spotless. Had a delicious full English breakfast that was served by very good looking suited and booted gents. Communal areas very well kept with plenty of hand sanitiser throughout. Excellent choice of hotel and is a must if you’re staying in Harrogate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Clemence Roux, Guest Services / Front Office at The Yorkshire Hotel
Responded 1 Sep 2020
Dear Sparkling20! Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your bank holiday stay with us! I could not agree more, our building is one impressive and gorgeous one, having been standing for over 200 years at the center of Harrogate. We purchased the hotel at the back end of 2017 and our aim is to give it back its former glory! Happy to hear that our lovely suited and booted gents helped you enjoy your breakfast ;) We shall hope to see you again at The Yorkshire Hotel - do make sure to call us directly on your next visit so we can get you the best rate. Best wishes from all of us at The Yorkshire!
Read more
michael b wrote a review 23 Nov
9 contributions5 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Yorkshire. First impressions were brilliant with the location and the beautiful Christmas lights. Check in was effortless and speedy with a very pleasant young gentleman Or room 415 was huge with a fabulous view of the cenotaph and Betty's. Comfy huge bed, big bathroom, and lovely and warm. Breakfast was great, I can't understand bad reviews on it. Fruits, cereals, yoghurts plus the usual fill cooked option. The views from the sky bar are fabulous. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We ate at the pickled sprout both nights, the Sunday lunch was the best we have had for a long time. Parking, yes you have to pay but it's city centre and it's exactly what we expected. We had a fab stay and I hope to return before Christmas with a friend for some Christmas shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Sagar, Guest Services / Front Office at The Yorkshire Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Yorkshire Hotel. We are very lucky with our central location overlooking picturesque views of Harrogate’s stray. We have recently put up our lovely Christmas lights. Our rooms vary in size and décor depending on room type booked. Our Deluxe Double Rooms are large and front facing and are beautiful. Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast! We hope to see you again in the near future. Best Wishes, The Yorkshire Hotel
Read more
David W wrote a review 23 Nov
4 contributions2 helpful votes
A thorough modernisation of this hotel has been carried out without any consideration whatsoever for disabled guests. Tiny lifts (2), only one can accommodate a wheelchair & then without luggage. Breakfast on 5th floor all bedrooms need lift. Long waits at breakfast & other busy periods. Disabled access only at rear of hotel, but parking, even to unload, impossible. No powered doors & 3 sets of heavy double doors between rear access & reception. No room modifications for disabled. No disabled seating in bar area. Only lounge seating for disabled guests next to busy & noisy reception. In short this hotel is not suitable for disabled guests, they don’t want you, don’t come here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Sagar, Guest Services / Front Office at The Yorkshire Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
David, Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that you feel we are not suitable for disabled guests and that we do not want disabled guests at our property as this is incorrect. We have one large lift and one smaller lift; the larger lift is more then suitable for a wheelchair user. We have disabled seating the in restaurant not at the high-top tables in the bar. We do not a have any accessible bedrooms however we do not advertise this. Best Wishes, The Yorkshire Hotel
Read more
Aleem M wrote a review 23 Nov
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Yorkshire Hotel Summary 3.9 Good 811 reviews Rooms 3.1 Location 4.2 Service 4.2 What guests are saying "Lovely place, great room service, friendly staff" "The bathroom was small and smelt of urine but the shower was ok." "A buffet affair, with freshly cooked food every morning." More Couples 4.0 Families 4.2 Solo 3.8 Business 3.8 Trip.com 4.1/5 · 15 reviews Reviews Search reviews People often mention Aleem Mahmood 1/5 13 hours ago on Google I'll start by saying this, the hotel is lovely. The rooms are well decorated and everything is nice and clean. The staff are also very nice. However, I didn't enjoy my stay for the simple reason that the water temperature was ridiculously hot - it was scalding hot. Despite my best efforts, I could do nothing to lower the water temperature. Turning the tap and shower to cold seemed to have no effect. This ruined my entire stay as my partner and I were unable to shower and my 1 year old daughter had to make do without having her night time shower/bath. I raised the issue with the night staff and they told me that another customer had also reported the same issue. The best thing they could do was to offer me the key to another room in the morning so we could shower. This wasn't ideal as it meant the family and I had to lug our stuff to the other side of the hotel to another room just to shower, but we had no other choice. I made a formal complaint to the management in writing and the response I received was basically "no one else complained and we gave you another room to go and shower in". It was a poor response, really poor. There was no offer of a refund or an extra stay or anything like that, nothing. The wort part is, I would have refused anything that might have been offered, all I wanted was for someone to say that they were sincerely sorry and would make every effort to investigate the issue, especially as a second customer had also complained about the issue (they refused to even acknowledge that another customer had reported the same issue). My advice is that whilst the hotel is lovely, for the same price, you can stay at other hotels just as nice where you won't have the issues I had. That's what I would advise you to do. FYI - having already had a taste of the management's responses, I suspect that they'll respond to this review and somehow try to rubbish it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Sagar, Guest Services / Front Office at The Yorkshire Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you Mr Mahmood for yet another review. We are so sorry that you encountered issues with us with Hot Water; we can only appologise. Best Wishes The Yorkshire Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yorkshire hotel harrogate
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireHarrogate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Yorkshire Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Yorkshire Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - Harrogate (0.07 km), Spirit of Harrogate Ltd (0.1 km), and The Little Ale House (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Yorkshire Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Yorkshire Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at The Yorkshire Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Yorkshire Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Yorkshire Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Culture, Saranda, and Vivido Bar & Restaurant.
Is The Yorkshire Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Harrogate.
Does The Yorkshire Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Yorkshire Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mother Shipton's Cave (4.7 km) and Saint Wilfrid's Church (0.8 km).
Does The Yorkshire Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Yorkshire Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.