We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Britannia Bolton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Bolton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Britannia Bolton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 425: English reviews
westmidlands
Reviewed 25 April 2015

I stayed here on a business trip in March, as I was working in the area for a month, I only stayed for the first week, the room was adequate, I had booked the full board option, this proved to be a bit pointless as I regularly didn't return to the hotel until after 20:00 hours by which time the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blackcountry
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you stayed with us at Bolton and we do cater for all types of guests both business and coach parties. Entertainment is for all to enjoy so please feel free next time you are with us to join in and enjoy yourself. look forward...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed twice this month and it has become my hotel of choice each time I have a very been upgraded. Staff great rooms clean and well equipped. No WiFi in rooms and it's a little shabby in parts but it's worth a try excellent value for money

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robb F
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review. we are glad you have stayed with us now several times, we are slowly re furbishing the hotel to bring it into line so please bear with us. we look forward to welcoming you back and if there is anything further we can do to...

Eccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015

checked in @ 1400 and checked out @1645 complained to the very ignorant member of staff who's customer service skill have to be the worst I have ever come across walked away from me whilst I was complaining. I do understand that loss of water due to united utilities is not there fault but after asking 3-4 times and being...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tom S
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor and I am sorry to read your comments. I would however like to address some points you raise. When you checked in the water in the hotel was working fine however due to a burst water main on the road just outside the hotel the water...

Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

Average sort of hotel but looks a bit dated. For the price I'd rather stay in premiere inn. The food is great though & the staff at reception/at food & at the bar were brilliant 😊👍🏽 I don't think it's worth the money they charge for a room compared with premier inn which is cheaper & modern & cleaner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shez1987
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review. I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful as customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on here. The hotel is currently going through refurbishments, but as you can imagine this takes time and must be tackled one room at a time, I hope that when you return you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Stayed here several times in the past. The hotel is about average but ideal for a one or two night stay. The location is good and is fairly close to the town. Rooms are clean and fresh restaurant serving decent food. And of course a decent bar. I will stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asitis100
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There thank you for your review of our hotel on trip advisor, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind Regards Your Britannia Hotel Team

Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

I am in the room now. Small. Shabby. Poor bed. Basic run down. It cost £75 - so not a fortune but not worth it either. A really bad nights sleep. Wouldn't recommend recommend. There are some more expensive room so they may be better but beware of you get the standard one

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DQuigg
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry that you found our hotel did not meet your expectations. However in your room there is a hotel information sheet which does state should you not be happy with your room to then contact reception, I am sure that had you of spoken to them...

Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

We booked the function room for a joint family christening and were promised a dedicated member of staff and a buffet for the guests. On the day the function room was not set up and there was no one to help. Only half buffet was ever served, there was no chef and only one member of staff doing the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Matthew H
BoltonBoltonian, General Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and a very good Afternoon, I am a little confused with your review as it was 26th May 2013 and not 14 as you have mentioned, and why would you wait 23 months to write a review ?? Your Christening was served exactly as you had planned and signed the contract as confirmation. At no point did the management...

Reviewed 23 March 2015

Having had a plumbing nightmare at home with our soil pipe splitting we were told by the insurance company to book into a hotel. We arrived unannounced and the lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We were given a room on the first floor which was perfectly adequate for our stay. Wifi is free but seems confined to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen S
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, thank you very much for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff, I will pass these on to the relevant departments. I am pleased to hear you were accommodated so easily and found our staff so helpful. I would like to wish you all the best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back to...

Abergele, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

I stayed here on business for one night only thank goodness! It looks like an old Holiday Inn that's been left to decay. On arrival people were smoking outside which had drifted inside the reception area and no action taken by the receptionist. The corridor carpets are filthy and grubby, not seen a carpet shampoo for years. The carpets are...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MazzaH2013
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Were sorry to here your stay didn't match our standards. We are currently having areas of our hotel renovated so that our services are at its best. Britannia Hotel Bolton is a friendly value hotel, and as you pointed out our customers range from contractors to families , to...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Excellent service, food and room, could not wish for more, the hotel has many plus points but for me the most important is the ability to park my car and have a peaceful nights sleep, well this hotel certainly tick the boxes with a plus, being set in it's own grounds with a huge car park, with no dreaded traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b16emu
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your positive review. We are happy that your happy with your stay. Thank you for your comments and I will make sure they are all passed onto our staff. Thanks Your Britannia Team

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolton hotels
4.2 km away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,109 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
4.0 km away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.7 km away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A former Holiday Inn, the Britannia Hotel Bolton is in a fantastic location for exploring the North West. Situated close to the M61 motorway, Bolton's Macron Stadium is only a 10 minute drive, or for the shoppers, The Trafford Centre and Manchester City Centre are just a 15 minute drive. All the family will enjoy the highly rated Go Ape at nearby Rivington Pike and Bolton Town Centre is just 2 miles away with its great range of bars, clubs and nightlife, as well as several golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Price Range: $66 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Bolton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm just so glad to have stayed in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jroberts394, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and cheerful, rooms at the back are very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Adekama, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I saw a lift but we did not use it as our room was easily accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosemarie000, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just stay away from room 126 it was a nightmare”
 of 5 bubbles keithbU5235LN, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms next to the car park have the evening sun!”
  • Car Park area.
  • Nice colour combination!
  • Check the dispenser!
  • Spacious
  • Plush bed toppers!
 of 5 bubbles DinkyJenny, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay