We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Detling Coachhouse

Hotels.comUS$86*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$93*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Detling Coachhouse
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Detling Coachhouse offers the best of everything; a great location, easy access to main roads but very quiet, a very warm welcome, beautifully clean rooms and a very good choice of breakfasts. An all round great package!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizw625
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked easily over the internet and found the Coach House easily from the directions given. We were warmly welcomed, without undue fuss, and enjoyed a good and quiet night's sleep, followed by a wonderful breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to book two nights at Detling Coach house following the reviews on Trip Advisor, and have not been disappointed. Perfect base to explore the local area. Very clean, and has all you need in the room. We arrived un-prepared - no bottle opener and no device charger. Emma was most helpful, and more than happy to supply both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsParrington
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We always appreciate great feedback.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The detling coachouse is a good place to stay, the breakfast is very good and will fill you up. However, I was in a downstairs room and it was a bit noisy because you could hear everyone outside the door. This was a big problem if people came in when you were trying to sleep. There was also loud noises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on business and will definitely book again next time. Fantastic location, comfy beds. The owners couldn't be more helpful and the breakfast was great. The only problem I had was a moron Guest complaining about anything. Stuart

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shawy96
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. Agreed on the rare occasion you always get one who is never happy regardless how much you do.

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I booked on the basis of positive reviews, sadly my experience wasn't positive at all. On arrival at 8.10pm, hardly late. I was checked in by a lady who looked like I'd women her and wasn't happy about it. The noise from a shower pump above kept me awake and my own shower was a pathetic dribble (I was later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarketingRobert
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry your expectations were not met but we feel that sometimes we know when we are beaten as nothing would of been good enough. As soon as you walked in, you was negative and rude. Thankfully we don t always have to experience this type of attitude as all our other guests...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Were greeted after long motorcycle ride and offers a hot beverage much appreciated . Room were clean with all you expect tea coffee biscuits and in morning a good selection of breakfast items .You can get food delivered to you in evening if you don't want to go out to any local pub/restaurants and details are provided . Hosts were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcp1961
Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This was my first experience at a Bed and breakfast and I'm glad it was here. The room was amazingly pristine and cleaned everyday. Coffee and tea including in the room. The breakfast option was also delicious and very well tended to. The staff there are genuine kind people and I'm very happy with the way they treated myself and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We always try our best to ensure we get it right.

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We booked this house again due to its quiet location and excellent accomodation.This time,we were in room 1 upstairs which has a 6 foot double bed,shower, toilet and a vaulted ceiling.With outside temperatures around minus 5c,the heating was adequate with an extra heater supplied.The room does have enough room to move around and plenty of clothes space.The decoration and furnishings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff1953
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Nice seeing you again. Thank you for your fab review.

Mexborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic room with rustic decor, good sized TV, extremely nice bed. Wash facilities were top notch. Location is incredibly quiet yet close enough to Maidstone for it to be convenient. The hosts are lovely and very much let you do your own thing. Breakfast was good, with a wide range to choose from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timothyfenner
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are always under threat from larger chains and a small business like ours always appreciate your support.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.4 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
534 reviews
4.0 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,468 reviews
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
24.7 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say any room would be as good as any other.Used a ground floor room which had a bath,and,this year,an upstairs room with a shower.”
Geoff1953, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
J4022WTdavidm, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
johnybob1, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
KenH302, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
Minicooperdogs, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$93
Expedia.com
TripAdvisorUS$86
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates