We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Detling Coachhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Detling Coachhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detling Coachhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Tucked away off the main roads so extremely quiet. Made to feel very welcome and breakfast was lovely. There was a variety of cereals, juice followed by a cooked breakfast. Will be returning regularly as very close to spires Alexandra. Prefer this to the big hotels

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie P
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you fab review. Nice to know we can help you feel comfortable.

Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay near Maidstone for a night before visiting friends and the usual chain hotels that we normally use were all full or described as noisey, which we did not want having just had a stressful day at a funeral. Searching Trip Advisor I came across this place which was highly recommended. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We shall take on board your suggestions. Unfortunately as the nights are drawing in, it is harder to see, but we do have a sign which is lit up facing the main road as the majority of people come in from that direction but if you drive past us we do not have a...

Skelton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Lovely peaceful b&b, tucked away, but just off a main road. Clean comfortable rooms. Decent breakfast. Pleasant gardens. Ideal for maidstone & surrounding areas. Dont follow your sat nav, its not reliable for this location !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lisieux, France
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Good location , but Rooms very small and was exceptionally hot when we were there. Only had a fan and windows didn't open very wide. Ensuite very small, but shower was ok. Rooms cooler downstairs . Breakfast was average/poor. Not a lot of choice of cereals, and the cooked breakfast wasn't very nice . The owner I believe was away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that you was disappointed. We were away on our annual holiday,however we do have a very good manager to look after the business whilst we are on our annual holiday. Unfortunately we were experiencing an unusual heat wave so it was extra hot! Windows Do open wider depending on which...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Wonderful welcome to a beautiful building. We had an upstairs room and therefore had wonderful beams from the building. Room was comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was very good especially the sausages. We will use this again if we are down that way again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review.

S W London
Reviewed 20 September 2016

'This is a lovely house in a quiet place a little off \'the beaten track\' in the Kent countryside.. The room was very comfortable, the host welcoming and despite the heavy rain I slept very well.' I had a very good dinner in a nearby pub restaurant as they recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suevinales
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Welcomed with hot drinks and friendly smile. Room lovely with high ceilings and beans and even old fireplace. Nice garden with seats round pond. Breakfast excellent. A very welcoming friendly place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm c
EmmaT_8, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Despite arriving early, the lady got our room ready so we could go in before we left for the festival which was much appreciated. She found out details of the route there too so we didn't make the mistake of walking into Maidstone which was uphill on the way back! The room was beautiful with a beamed ceiling, very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you had a nice time.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

'Although it's a little out of the way - and you probably will drive past it the first time - Detling Coachhouse has everything you need, from the warm and friendly welcome to comfortable, clean rooms, full of character, with excellent tea and coffee making facilities. We were a party of 5, staying 2 nights for a family wedding and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally G
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review. Its always welcome to receive great feedback.

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is a very good B & B, located on a quiet lane just off the main dual carriageway. It has a beautiful garden. Our room was well furnished, very clean and comfortable. We were given a warm welcome and a greatly appreciated cup of tea on arrival. We had an excellent night's sleep and breakfast the next morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review. Its always nice to receive great feedback.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidstone
1.4 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
520 reviews
4.0 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.8 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,444 reviews
5.1 km away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
1,437 reviews
24.7 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully beamed Coachhouse set in stunning North Downs Way, Kent, convenient to M20 & M2 between London & Dover. 35 mins from Gatwick Airport. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Excellent traditional pubs and restaurants nearby. 10 mins from Leeds Castle, directly opposite Kent County Showground. Free Parking & WIFI ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detling Coachhouse

Address: Scragged Oak Road | Detling, Maidstone ME14 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Price Range: $100 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Detling Coachhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Detling Coachhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detling Coachhouse Maidstone
Detling Coachhouse Hotel Maidstone
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Maidstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Detling Coachhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would say any room would be as good as any other.Used a ground floor room which had a bath,and,this year,an upstairs room with a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoff1953, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it sitting in the garden next to the pond.”
 of 5 bubbles J4022WTdavidm, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 4 and room 1 both nice and big”
 of 5 bubbles johnybob1, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you need a good nights would recommend .As just off main road with no noise . Well worth a visit”
 of 5 bubbles KenH302, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had the ground floor room which was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Minicooperdogs, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5