We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calderfields Golf & Country Club

Save
Share
93 Aldridge Road, Walsall WS4 2JS England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)

About

#2 of 10 Speciality lodging in Walsall
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Fishing
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Shared lounge / TV area
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
261Reviews1Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 47
  • 27
  • 17
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JJEnglandUK wrote a review Sep 2021
Kenilworth, United Kingdom566 contributions489 helpful votes
First visit since 2019. Notes on table saying that price had increased, but not saying how much. Food was OK. Rather mean portion of turkey, gravy a bit sweet, veg a bit mushy. Condiments in short supply. Drinks service very slow. Clearly understaffed. Just felt a bit budget.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JJ England, Thank you for your review. We monitor our meat portions regularly to ensure we still serve the most generous portion around. The gravy is down to personal choice, but, as a whole, the vast majority of our customer love our gravy. We have recently been let down with suppliers on condiments and on occasion, we have been short of staff, but, in general, the entire industry have suffered with staff shortages. I am pleased to confirm that we have now been able to employ more staff and the condiments supply has improved.
Read more
trazetrac wrote a review Sep 2021
Walsall, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
very disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food as it was only luke warm and served on a child's carvery plate a very big difference from last we visited. the price has also increased which wouldn't be so bad it the food quality and quantity had stayed the same.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As per my comments on the previous review, On this date we were experiencing supplier issues which led to the inconsistent service you experienced. I am pleased however, to confirm that normal service has resumed and we would encourage you to return to our quiz and curry nights to experience the improvement from your last visit.
Read more
Pongo1967 wrote a review Aug 2021
Walsall, United Kingdom16 contributions29 helpful votes
First time back for curry and quiz, I dont like rice so normally just have curry poppadom and nan bread. The portion of curry I received was meager that I went back and got some chips disappointed no salad. The plate and chips were cold and the curry was lukewarm but tasty. Didnt appear to have a veggie option. We did mention about the temperature of plate and food and was told he would look into. Didnt return with any feedback. Very disappointing since the price has increased but quantity and quantity has decreased rather than increased.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pongo1967, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. On this date we were experiencing supplier issues which led to the inconsistent service you experienced. I am pleased however, to confirm that normal service has resumed and we would encourage you to return to our quiz and curry nights to experience the improvement from your last visit.
Read more
dazzafoster75 wrote a review Aug 2021
UK46 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights in the cabins end of july on a friends golfing weekend. The cabins are basic with 2 single beds, TV and a kettle but perfectly fine for somewhere to get your head down. The restaurant and its staff were great, breakfast and evening meal were included in our deal and none of the group of 8 I was with had any complaints on the food nor the service. The course itself was in a very good condition, with only a couple of the greens being patchy due to the amount of hot weather we've had no doubt, the tees were good. The course is a bit tight and favours straight hitting, with some feature holes over water. It was the first time we'd played here and everyone said they would like to go back so take that as a good endorsement. Plenty of facilities with buggies, driving range, putting and chipping greens and pro shop on site. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dazza, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic and kind review. We would love to see you and your party back again very soon.
Read more
Josh S wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Went on a golf trip for the second time to Calderfields with a few mates at the start of July. Last visited in 2017 and the golf course hasn’t changed much. What I found most disappointing was the condition of the greens. It didn’t look like much work had gone into them. The course itself isn’t bad for society golf as the rough is generous and the fairways are really nice. With the boom since Covid, the 10 minute tee times aren’t great as there are alot of beginner golfers out on the course and the intervals really slow the rounds down with a back log on the fairways. The biggest positive are the staff and how friendly they are around the facility. They are great and can’t do more for you. Having been twice now, I would recommend a trip where you’re not just going for golf because if I’m honest, it’s not that exciting considering the volume of groups out on course, you’d expect a better standard. Brilliant if it’s a weekend away with your pals and you want friendly, happy environment
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Smudge, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have recently appointed a new head green keeper who has fresh ideas and he and his team are striving to raise the profile of the course. I am delighted to learn that our staff looked after you well and you enjoyed the venue as a whole. We would welcome you back again to experience the change soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsWalsall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Calderfields Golf & Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Walsall Leather Museum (1.9 km), Walsall Arboretum (1.3 km), and Light Cinema Walsall (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Streetly Balti, The Littleton, and Panka Walla.
Does Calderfields Golf & Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Calderfields Golf & Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birmingham Back to Backs (13.2 km), Steelhouse Lane Lock-up (12.2 km), and Winterbourne House and Garden (15.2 km).