We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 492: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We needed to stay overnight on our way to the NEC and Tewkesbury just off the M5 fitted the bill perfectly. We found the hotel easily and made use of the adjacent car parking . Check in was easy and we headed for our room which was outside the main building. Our room was a decent size, clean, comfy bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our facilities and location to your benefit. A shame that you didn't have the opportunity to dine with us in the evening, but hopefully you can do that if you come and stay again. Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

we have used Old english inns for accommodation and food before and as our friends had eaten here 2-3 weeks previously we agreed to it. We ordered our food, 3 beef carvery's and one risotto at 13:34 we asked at 13:45 how long and was told coming soon, new people who had a starter then a carvery behind us had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
Pensarn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

My brother in law and myself were touring in his Motorhome and stayed for a couple of nights at the Caravan Club site in Tewksbury Gloucestershire. We had visited the Cathedral and saw the Bell Hotel offering reasonably priced meals. We decided to have lunch there and ordered two lunches and drinks. The price was just over £13 GBP for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

A lovely place to stay, right in the centre of the town with parking. The food is good as is the service. I would certainly stay there again. Convenient for all the amenities and very easy to find. A good place for a short break or a centre to do some exploring

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith w
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The bell. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your visit to us and to Tewkesbury, and I hope that you will re-visit us again. Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager

Devon
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last year for one night in a reasonable room with large showeroom opposite the Abbey - beautiful view! However, this time we had a different room, again opposite the Abbey, and what a disappointment. We understand that renovations are taking place, but that's no excuse for the state of our so called double room, which was long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandPC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Bell I am sorry that on this visit we had not met some standards and your own expectations. I have spoken to the departments concerned and actions have been taken to rectify the items that were of concern. ( The light was replaced when housekeeping serviced the room). I am sorry...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This lovely, old hotel is located just opposite the Abbey and is typical of many Cotswold buildings of this age. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we arrived and during the whole of our short break here. Parking was free and conveniently close to the hotel. Two of us had rooms in the older part and two in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strykalite
essex
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Our Bedroom was very vert tired and could do with extensive refurbishment not only the bedroom also the bathroom. The toilet seat was not secure and the shower was not fitted properly, the shower curtain had hooks missing and the water was very slow to drain. Also the bedroom shades were odd with one not working the curtain frill was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhunt2
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, whilst it is challenging to re-arrange the layout of the room, I have had all the items addressed that could be. A bathroom refurbishment will be taking place in the future, meanwhile, we are doing what we can to keep standards together. Kind regards, Emma...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and on first impressions the hotel area is tired and in need of a spruce up - however it was clear to see that these wheels are slowly in progress.The rooms were clean and of a good size, the bathrooms were clean if not in need of a little TLC and the shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

As we were meeting friends on the Sun we decided to come down on Sat & stop overnight in Tewksbury & choose The Bell. The lady at Reception was very friendly & efficient & we were allocated Room 1. The room was smaller than we had hoped but clean & comfortable with a lovely view of the Abbey & the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to us. Sadly the view of the Abbey comes with the main road, and I fully understand that on a warm night with the window open, there is some traffic noise. We have provided a fan in the room, to help reduce this issue....

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Fish and chips on a chopping board is not my idea of a meal in a restaurant ! This is a very old building with lots of oldy worldy features. Sadly the company who owns it have ruined it by taking away it's roaring winter fire and comfy sofa's. They've tried to modernise an old charm building and it doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThisIsMyOpinion2
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you feel we have modernised The Bell, the sofa's have just been re-positioned, and that was 2 years ago. Sadly we made the decision to no longer use the open fire due to the age of the building and recommendation of the fire officer. Menus and presentation of our...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.2 km away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
777 reviews
0.7 km away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
462 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
393 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
18.5 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Price Range: $95 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Found the rooms we has been in all ok”
 of 5 bubbles catherinew764, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid room 7”
 of 5 bubbles Pejaye, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Bryan044, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is right across from the abbey. The clock chimes every fifteen minutes, didn't disturb us but we aren't light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles KarenK331, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles ThisIsMyOpinion2, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay