We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster House

Save
Share
Green Lane Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline
travelup.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (374)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (160)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Lancaster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
1728Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,058
  • 447
  • 156
  • 39
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Flyinghigh wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
Underwhelming experience, expected more. The hotel, rated four stars did not meet expectations. Decor of the hotel was startlingly drab and dated, especially in the bar and the room seemed dirty. Upon arrival to the room I found the toilet unflushed, Extortionate £12 parking fee with very little alternatives available. Staff were friendly and helpful though.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There is a £12 parking fee if you don’t book your stay directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 4 days ago
Dear flyinghigh0085, Thank you for the review. I am so sorry if you did not have a great stay and please accept my sincere apologise for the shortfall in basis housekeeping standards you experienced here at Lancaster House. I will of course be passing on these comments to the Housekeeping Manager and the team to ensure this does not happen again the the future. With regards to the car parking charges I am sorry you were not made aware of these charges. These charges do apply when you book via a 3rd party website and I do believe it is stated in the terms and conditions section, however if you book direct with ourselves we provide the secure, gated car park complimentary. I am so pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. If you are ever in the local area again, please do get in touch with me personally and I will ensure you ensure you have a more pleasant stay. Kind regards
Read more
merseyblue-1 wrote a review Jul 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom677 contributions400 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night in July 2021 with friends. It's a bit isolated from where we wanted to be but thought it would be a touch of luxury to finish our walking trip. It was absolutely average in many respects and overpriced overall. There was a car park fee of £12 per car, that is unfair as you have no choice in such an isolated area. You get different reasons for this and who charges it, depending on who you ask! It's fair to say that our first impressions were not great and decided to drive to The Plough pub a few miles down the road for a better value evening meal. We returned to Lancaster house to relax. Bar prices and beers were not so bad but again there was a lack of panache for a hotel riding on gushy reviews and ratings. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well stocked but the shower was in a bath with a flimsy curtain. Climbing into a bath and then getting out onto an unavoidably wet floor, was hazardous enough even without mobility issues. Breakfast was £17 and again, we just didn't think it was worth it. The final little issue was that they sneak charity donations onto your bill as you check out. It's not much but I'd like to choose who I give my money to rather than just have it taken. Overall, underwhelming and no plans to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 4 days ago
Dear merseyblue-1 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is always interesting to read the feedback we receive to see if we are maintaining or hopefully increasing the levels of service and hospitality we are offering, I am so very sorry that food offerings were not up to it's usual standards and I will raise this with the Head Chef to ensure this does not happen again. I am also sorry that the car parking charges were not fully explained to you upon check-out and I will ensure I take this up with the Reception Manager to ensure the team are fully trained. When booking through a 3rd party we do charge a fee for the car park and unfortunately we have no control over where any of our 3rd Party booking site communicates details such as the car parking charges, however I do believe it is in there Terms & Conditions. All bookings that are made directly with the hotel either by phone or on our own website receive secure, gated car parking at no extra charge. Once again I do apologise that this was not made clear to you by the 3rd party you booked with, but I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards
Read more
Welshrarebit26 wrote a review Jul 2021
England, United Kingdom251 contributions186 helpful votes
We stayed here on our way back from Scotland for one night. Staff friendly and they had a good Covid policy. Room was average and very hot. There was a fan in the room which helped a bit. Felt the room furnishings were tired and needed updating. We ate in the restaurant and food was okay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Welshrarebit26, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Lancaster House. I am sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us on this occasion and please rest assured we will use your feedback, where practically possible to improve the offering to all our guests. I do hope you will consider staying at Lancaster house again in the future and if I can do anything to help make this happen please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kindest Regards
Read more
Andy and jean R wrote a review Jul 2021
6 contributions
What can I say great hotel ,friendly and helpful staff,foods superb ,nothings too much trouble ,very relaxing stay ,it was our recent dogs 1st stay ,she says thank you for welcoming present ,thank you to all we had a lovely time x
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Enjoy a suite
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear veronicarM6832XU Thank you for taking the time time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you had such an enjoyable time and that all members of your party felt welcomed, I have of course shared your feedback with the team. We all hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards
Read more
Karen798 wrote a review Jul 2021
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom190 contributions71 helpful votes
Just got back from a 2 night stay and have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff are amazing - so helpful, pleasant and just giving fantastic service. Special mention to Josh and sadly a young woman who’s name we didn’t get but who’s doing an NVQ with the hotel. The staff at breakfast superb. We ate all our meals at the hotel and they were fantastic. Food, fresh, locally sourced and cooked to perfection. Our room, a suite, was fab too. Parking easy - always a plus. Quiet and peaceful setting. Room immaculate with excellent facilities including both a bath and huge shower. Elemis complimentary toiletries and free bottles of water. Room had super king size bed with fab bedding and towels. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Lemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Karen798, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Lancaster House. It is fantastic to read that you have enjoyed your stay and to be able to share your feedback with the team here at the hotel especially as they have made such a positive impression on you. I will of course pass on your feedback to both Josh and Leah. We all hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lancaster house hotel lancaster, lancaster hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireLancaster DistrictLancaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lancaster House
Which popular attractions are close to Lancaster House?
Nearby attractions include Williamson Park (4.6 km), Lancaster Castle (4.8 km), and Lancaster Priory Church (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lancaster House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lancaster House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lancaster House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lancaster House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quite Simply French, The Quarterhouse, and The Mad Hunter Lancaster.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lancaster House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lancaster House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lancaster House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lancaster House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lancaster House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lancaster Castle (4.8 km), Lancaster Town Hall (4.5 km), and Roman Bath House and Wery Wall Remains (4.9 km).
Is Lancaster House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.