We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gardens Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gardens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 902: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night at fairly late notice. It was much cheaper than other options in central Manchester - slap bang in the centre, just 5 mins walk from Piccadilly station. It's seen better days - there's a sense of faded grandeur. But I had a nice welcome on arrival and my room was comfortable and clean (albeit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiretraveller1
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WiltshireTraveller1 , Many thanks for the time given in leaving the review. The hotel is in the process of a refurbishment which will fully modernize the hotel. We're glad the you found your stay OK. I will pass on the comments to the staff. Best Regards Shaun Fletcher

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised as had read other reviews and was expecting the worst. I had booked a non-refundable double room with no windows and received a double with 2 windows much to my surprise. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided me with a fan in a very hot room. I did manage to turn the radiator off and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie M , Many thanks in the time given on leaving a review. I am glad that your stay was pleasant. And about the positive feedback regarding staff , This will be passed onto them. The hotel is in the process of a refurbishment which will fully modernize the hotel. Best Regards Shaun Fletcher

Aberdeen
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For a cheap hotel in the middle of Manchester this hotel is the staff are friendly and it is clean but it is in a really noisy part of the town so if you can put up with that then you will get on fine. The trams are literally 3 mins away so is on a good transport hub to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrngames
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wrngames , Many thanks for having the time in leaving the review. The hotel is currently in the process of a refurbishment , which will fully modernize the hotel. Due to being a city center hotel , we do sometimes experience noise from the outside. I will pass on the comments to the staff. Best Regards Shaun Fletcher

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for one night and the hotel was in a good location right on Piccadilly Gardens so easy access to the train station and main shopping / eating / nightlife areas and the staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the rooms were very tired looking and the bathrooms were quite dated but did come with some toiletries and plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11amTourist
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 11amTourist , Many thanks for leaving the review. We are currently in the process of undergoing a full refurbishment which will modernize the hotel. Unfortunately due to being a city center we do experience noise from the outside , but this can be expected. We are sorry that the stay wasn't up to your full expectations. Best Regards Shaun...

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We had 3 rooms booked all together for the hen party group. A quick walk from Piccadilly station. The staff were very friendly when we arrived and got us sorted quickly. My room was a twin room on the first floor. Was perfect for the two of us sharing. The shower was lovely. Plenty of space. My cousins room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie f
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie F , Many thanks for the time taken to leave this review , We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us , and had a fantastic hen party weekend. We are currently in the process of undergoing a refurbishment which will modernize the hotel. We hope that you stay with us again in the future....

Dorgali, Italy
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Good location, in the centre of the city. We chosed this hotel because the price was very convenient, for a night staying is fine. the room was looking clean. The style of the hotel is a bit old. Poor breakfast and I got charged 14£ for an English breakfast which wasn't that good to pay this price. If you're staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redholiday
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RedHoliday , Thanks for the time in leaving the review. Our cleaning is done on a very strict regime and am glad that it was upto your standard. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment which will fully modernize the hotel. The price of breakfast is £8.50 if you feel you were over charged , you can...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel may be cheap and centrally located, however if you are looking to be refreshed after a good nights sleep you may want to look elsewhere. We were in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Piccadilly. This meant there was significant noise until the very early hours (Saturday night). Room was OK but nothing more. Book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHJedi
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PHJedi , Thanks for your time in leaving the review , Unfortunately due to being a city center hotel , we do get noise from the outside at weekends , and there is nothing that we can do about this. We are in the process of starting a refurbishment which will fully modernize the hotel. If you wish to...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel this year, and just as with the first time it was again excellent value for money £21 each for 2 people. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, the beds were really comfy and the staff were very friendly. I was in a twin room this time and perhaps the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lara H , Many thanks for taking the time out in leaving a review , We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay , I will pass on the positive feedback to the staff. We are currently in the process of undergoing a refurbishment , so this will hopefully modernize the hotel as a whole. Best Regards Shaun...

Norwich
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I needed to stay in Manchester overnight on a Sunday to be at a conference by 9am and I wanted to keep costs down.I was only really sleeping in the place and just needed a bed. The Gardens Hotel did the job just fine. I had a single room which was very basic. The advertised 'view' was of the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariocatlin
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mariocatlin , Thanks for taking the time out and leaving us a review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay. If you had requested more bedding we would have happily provided more. The hotel is current at the beginning of a refurbishment , which will modernize the hotel. I will pass on the comments to our...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We arrived off the plane from Australia late in the evening and were greeted by very friendly staff who kindly upgraded us from the room we'd booked on the internet. It was a good, large, clean room with four poster bed. Despite overlooking the main street it was also quite quiet. We had an excellent full breakfast the following morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Gardens_manager, Public Relations Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annie M , I would like to thank you for the time taken to write the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the positive feedback to the staff. Hope you had a safe trip home. Best Regards Shaun Fletcher

662 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (58)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (No Windows) (57)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Single Rooms (No Windows) (49)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (55)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.5 km away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#58 of 118 in Manchester
675 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.8 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $61 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gardens Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Gardens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 101.first floor inside room very quite good nights sleep .”
 of 5 bubbles ricardo77777777, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the second floor room 310 which was single room with a window. There was no noise whatsoever from outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 211LindaD211, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you can get a bus or a tram”
 of 5 bubbles Trucks20, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask if it has windows....”
 of 5 bubbles jolevey, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a window!”
 of 5 bubbles dianepattinson111, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay